We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service in a dream surrounding.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palau Plantation Resort
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Koror
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service in a dream surrounding.”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Palau Plantation resort has been excellent to me all the way, in normal times and challenging times.

First the warm greeting at the airport with fresh water, a shell necklace and refeshing towel is a little extra but it goes a long way and is only one of the little attentions the staff will give you along the way.

Although the room I rserved was a standard cabin, it was very large, well equipped and decorated with taste and simplicity. Everything is made of local wood, and you have a little balcony even. All the room are oriented so that you have a direct view of the rock islands and no vis a vis with your neighbours.

The hotel was very helpful helping me get my diving package with Sams tours sorted out and every morning they give you a clean towel to take with you.

The shuttle service if you wish to take it is timely and the drivers are nice to chat with.

The food at the hotel is good but not great, but there are so many good options in downtown Koror that it is really not a huge issue at all.

Where the hotel really shone in their service is when my fligt back to Guam got cancelled at the very last minute. They helped me sort things out withthe airline and made sure I could still stay with them for 2 extra nights. They spent quite a good amount of time on the phone helping me resolve the situation, and that is really exceptional service in my opinion.

If there was one minor thing I would fix if I was them would be to offer wifi in the rooms and get rid of the TV altogether.

I had a great stay, got a view of some of the other hotels in Palau and I would definitely choose Plantation again if I returned there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PierreF242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    57
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
58
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed at the Plantation for three nights in between two dive liveaboards. This was a lovely resort and the room rates were much more reasonable than some others we investigated. We were travelling with another couple and had initially booked a two bedroom suite. The hotel informed us that room had been double booked and instead offered us two individual suites for the same price. Our room was huge with a separate bedroom, living area, kitchenette and big bathroom with a washing machine (the best I have ever used once the staff translated the Japanese characters on the buttons).

We only ate one breakfast at the hotel restsurant which was good.

This is a small quiet place. It is an easy walk to downtown Koror during the day and the hotel has a shuttle service in the evening. It is a 5-10 minute drive to most of the bigger dive shops.

The hotel caters primarily to Japanese tourists but the staff all spoke english.

I woukd recommend Palau Plantation to anyone travelling to Koror unless you want to be right on the beach. The suites like the ones we stayed in would be perfect for longer stays as you could make a few of your own meals.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I travel quite a bit around the world but alway seek out places kind of off the grid. We have traveled to Vietnam, Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, Jamacia, South America, Australia and we have to say that our stay at the Plantation Resort Palau ranks up near the top of our travels. The Cabin was great, never ran out of hot water and the staff was wonderful. They made us feel like honored guests from start to finish. Clean, confortable, all the amenities needed,no bugs in or out. Wonderful!

Room Tip: The jungle outside our balcony was a great place to spend alone time and togetherness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoeandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This resort was beautifully landscaped with views out to the rock islands. It had a pool and jacuzzi, although these seemed infrequently used (possibly because people had already spent all day in the water on diving/snorkeling trips . . .) There are minimal areas with any air conditioning. There is a bar which was not heavily used (we were staying above it and had no problems at all with noise).

All the rooms are made of wood, and our room had very heavy fragrance from a diffuser--apparently used to block the smell of the wood. We were much happier after turning the diffuser off and did not notice any unpleasant smells from the wood. Our room was one of the smaller "cabin" rooms and was perfectly adequate for two people. Space was provided on the balcony for hanging items up to dry. Water pressure in the shower was excellent. Tea and coffee were provided in the room.

The hotel primarily caters to Japanese tourists, and is consequently extremely clean. Also, the restaurant offers extensive Japanese food items for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The restaurant was not very good for dinner (although some of the Japanese offerings might have been better than what we offered, particularly a Teppanyaki dinner that must be ordered a day in advance). Breakfast was good by Palau standards, but expensive ($12/person/day). I recommend trying the taro bread with coconut jam, available a la carte, or as part of the "traditional breakfast".

I originally thought that we would walk from the hotel to downtown Koror, but this turned out not to be so easy because of the heat, and the dark and confusingly windy roads without sidewalks. We instead took the free shuttle to downtown for two hours each night, which permitted dinner at the Taj or Suriyothai restaurants, followed by some souvenir shopping. One tip is that there is a snack hut across the street from the shuttle shop at the WCTC shopping center that has excellent cold drinks. The shuttle is hourly from 4pm to 9pm.

The hotel is within walking distance of the national museum, but we did not have time to visit.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. In particular, Sheen, one of the managers, was helpful in planning our trip and allowed us a late check out on the day of our departure. She made several calls to our tour agency (Sam's) in order to verify pickup and dropoff times.

The only glitch with our stay is that we were halfway to the airport when our driver was called back to pick up additional people. We were worried about missing our flight, and eventually the driver agreed to continue driving us to the airport, while other arrangements were made for the stragglers.

Room Tip: A few cabins are advertised as windowless--probably a good idea to avoid those. Our "premium c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sftraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Palau Plantation Resort was the best place we have ever stayed in!!!
Great location, great service, great staff. Thank you SHEEN! Thanks to everybody who made our holiday unforgetable...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalyaDimitrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matsumoto, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have traveled a lot in the Pacific Islands and know what to expect. The Plantation Resort was a destination that exceeded our expectations on almost every point. Not being a beach front resort turned out to be a non issue. The EXCEPTIONAL attention and service from the entire staff was second to none. The front desk delt with any and every request and question we had. Three days into our stay we were asked if we would allow them to upgrade our room for the remaining five days as they could use our room for someone else. We did not eat at the restaurant but the Jungle Bar had WONDERFUL creative food as well as a comfortable feel and can take care of both your dinner and drink needs. Two small local convenience stores next door can supply you with snacks and beer etc. Their ability to book thru their tour desk can keep you in diving, snorkeling, ocean kayak activities thru your entire stay if necessary. They have a pool two jacuzzi hot tubs and a sauna to relax in. HIGHLY recomended

Room Tip: Some rooms are jungle view, a few are Rock Island view, request your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank desertrose53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC Candaa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Hidden Gem! Palau Plantation was a wonderful hotel. The rooms were quiet individual huts that quite different from your regular hotel room. The walls were all a dark wood, with a high A frame ceiling with a thatched roof. There is a nice patio overlooking the jungle and taro field. The air condition was efficient and quiet. Beds were made up every morning in a design that was very unique and different every day.
The bathroom is great design with a full glass window looking out on to a little garden that is walled off for privacy, with lights on the garden in the evening. The electric toilet even had a heated seat with a bidet option.
Palau Plantation caters more to the Japanese tourist but anybody from North America was made to feel very welcome. There is a funky little Jungle bar with great appetizers. I cannot say enough about the staff. They were always friendly and helpful. We mentioned that the cot that our son was sleeping on was very “creaky” and it was replaced by the next morning. The restaurant was the only negative. A little over priced for breakfast and with some great restaurants nearby, we did not have dinner there. This hotel is within walking distance from town. They provide a free shuttle that leaves every hour in the late afternoon and evening. They had a large drying room for your own towels or dive gear that was very effective. They have internet access for a small fee but it was not very fast. Overall, a great small resort.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RayRuffell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koror hotels
1.3 mi away
Palau Royal Resort
Palau Royal Resort
#3 of 29 in Koror
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Palace Downtown Koror
0.6 mi away
Palasia Hotel Palau
Palasia Hotel Palau
#9 of 29 in Koror
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palau Paradise Hotel
Palau Paradise Hotel
#4 of 29 in Koror
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.4 mi away
Airai Water Paradise Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Palau Vacation Hotel
Palau Vacation Hotel
#15 of 29 in Koror
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palau Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Plantation Resort

Property: Palau Plantation Resort
Address: Koror, Koror Island 96940-0856, Palau
Location: Palau > Koror Island > Koror
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Koror
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koror
#4 Romantic Hotel in Koror
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palau Plantation Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palau Plantation Resort is a South Pacific hideaway offering travelers a wide selection of traditional styled cabins, cottages and villas surrounded by the natural beauty of a tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Palau Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Plantation Hotel Koror
Palau Plantation Resort South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing