We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The second best hotel in NIUE”
Review of Coral Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alofi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Gardens
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“The second best hotel in NIUE”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The 5 units are not targeting mass tourism but they are of high quality and in excellent garden.
They are equiped for self catering and they have everything. Nice (partly) view to the ocean.
There is a bar in the compound .the town is 5 km away . You need transportation . From 3-5 pm is hot in the rooms because face west. No aircondition . Only fan. At night is ok.
Many mosquitoes . Have spray for the room and repewlent for you. The bar is also full of mosquitos. The owner must spray from time to time the area.
During my stay the WI FI did not work . The owner called repeatedly the technician but we were often disconected. ONLY CASH NO CREDIT CARDS. NO ATM in the island

Room Tip: If you plan to use internet chevck if it works
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had a wonderful time on Niue and the Coral Gardens Motel was the perfect place to stay.

Sunset drinks with the locals in Sails bar was really enjoyable and Stafford and Salome were great hosts.

The snorkeling on Niue is the best I have experienced ever and climbing down into the cave in front of Coral Gardens was well worth it.

Will be back.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Coral Gardens was the perfect choice for our Niue holiday. OK, it's not new, but more importantly clean, spacious, peaceful and really friendly, including the two sweet cats!
We like to be self-sufficient, and this is a great island for it. We made all our own breakfasts, with a rental car and packed lunches we could just head off for the day. So much to explore on this island, with only one week we hardly had time to return to our favourite reef pools or caves. Next year!
Snorkeling in the cave on the property is really cool and well worth the effort, even though crashing waves and sharp rocks can be a bit intimidating if you're not a confident swimmer.
At the end of the day it was fun to hang out in "our" Sail's bar, have a drink, gaze the views (dolphins), amazing sunsets, chat with Stafford who is a great character, or other guests or any of the many locals who had Sail's as their bar of choice. Everyone was really friendly.

In Alofi Uga Bar was a favourite, nice iced coffees. The sushi at Kai Ika was probably the best I've ever had, so fresh.

ps. Rating on Restaurant below is really not applicable, clicked it by mistake and now not possible to remove?!?
Sail's is only a bar, even though Stafford had a sausage sizzle Wednesday night. No quiz night though, we were there in off-season

Room Tip: Fale 4 and 5 have the best views. Fale 1 has internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SuMaLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Have just come back from a week in Niue.We stayed at the Coral Garden Motel which we found to be a great spot.We were the only quest staying there that week and were made very welcome by Stafford. Had some good chats at the sails bar with Stafford and some of the locals Our room had everything we needed and was clean and tidy. We loved Niue and we hope to come back at some stage in the future Also did the orientation tour with Keith the commodore.Great tour and highly recomend it.Thanks Stafford and Keith and to the Niue people for making our stay so enjoyable
Chers
Clive and Sue

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Niue is an unspoilt island with so many wonderful sights to see! I stayed at Coral Gardens Motel for 2 weeks. What a fantastic place - perched on top of a cliff with spectacular views. The hosts were so... friendly and made sure I had enough information about the island to make sure I missed nothing! The service was over and above what would be expected and many locals and other tourists frequented the bar so if you want to be social that was an option. The rooms were spacious and comfortable - everything you needed to make your holiday a relaxing one. Thank you so much to the hosts for making my holiday memorable - I have never enjoyed such hospitality anywhere!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My partner and I spent a week at the Coral Gardens. We both believe this is the best place to stay on the island!

Stafford and Salome were so helpful! They gave us great advice and shared their local knowledge with us as well. My partner and I certainly enjoyed drinks at the sails bar in the afternoon and it was great to sit around and look out over the ocean. We also whatched whales from the bar and it was lovely to listen to them at night as well. Thats something you dont get to experience everyday.

The fale was neat and homely. It certainly met all our needs. There was nothing that we were missing the whole the time.

Stafford lent us some bikes to ride to Limu pools. It was great to pedal along past the most lovey little villages. Coral Gardens is located fairly close to everything, so riding a bike can be a good transport alternative.

We stayed for a week but we needed two weeks at the Coral Gardens. We are also hoping to return next year :) HUGE THANKS to Stafford and Salome for making our stay so memorable and relaxing!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dooogong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Coral Gardens is FANTASTIC. Spacious sunny fales (villas) with well equipped kitchen and separate bathroom and toilet. Ideal for the independent traveller, only a few kms from Alofi town and near Limu Pools and the other numerous snorkelling spots.

Stafford and Salome offer a warm welcome and have a wealth of knowledge to share about Niue and the best spots. The bar area has breathtaking panoramic views with regular whale sightings. We even saw whales breaching from the balcony of our fale.

This is the best fale (villa/motel) style accommodation we have ever stayed at, anywhere in the world. I would thoroughly recommend it. Jodine and I will be back. Hopefully next year.

- Steve Sheppard

Room Tip: Fale 4 had amazing views and was very sunny :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SB_Sheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alofi hotels
0.0 mi away
Namukulu Cottages & Spa
0.0 mi away
Scenic Matavai Resort Niue
0.0 mi away
Lau’s Getaway
Lau’s Getaway
#1 of 4 in Alofi
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Gardens

Property: Coral Gardens
Address: Alofi, Niue
Location: Niue > Alofi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alofi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Coral Gardens Hotel Niue
Coral Gardens Niue/Alofi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing