We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Commodore's Orientation Tour Niue”
Review of Niue Tours

Niue Tours
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Alofi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Niue Orientation Tour is a 4 hour minibus journey to a cove, a cave, a chasm, cliff tops, & snorkelling spots. We provide a resource pack to help you plan your holiday so you will be in the "right place at the right time" for you safety and enjoyment;
Nelson New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Commodore's Orientation Tour Niue”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have just returned from Niue. Geoff and Sue the owners of Commodore were just great. Geoff took us on a 3 and a half hour tour of the island the day after we arrived. How generous he was, taking us to spots we may not have found and could explore later . Gardens, graves chasms, blowholes, caves, places to eat and all the best snorkeling spots . It also give you a chance to meet other people who you can link up with later on in the week.
At the end Geoff gives you a disc of the photos that he took of everyone on the bus. Again, very generous.

I think the Commodores Orientation Tour is essential before you hire your rental car. When I go back to Niue which I will, I will do it all over again .. Thanks again G and Sue Susan

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank whatsupdoc471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for such a quick response to your visit to Niue last week. It was our pleasure taking you and the others in our small group to visit some of the "must see" places on Niue. Because sea conditions weren't optimal for safe snorkelling, the emphasis was on "where to go and what to watch out for' last week.

Thank you for the acknowledgement of the contact made with the other guests. Your particular group "gelled" so well and many other occasions followed with lots of laughs and ribaldry. This all adds to your holiday experience here, especially if you are travelling on your own.

From our conversations you mentioned that you had travelled widely and often consulted Trip Advisor before booking and setting out. You have added to the TA forum on Niue for other travellers to read. Best wishes and "do" come back again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    16
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tour should not be missed by any first visitors to Niue.”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

By taking Keith and Sue's orientation tour after arrival it gave me a great insight to the attractions and the background of the history of Niue. By using the reference material supplied as part of the tour it allowed me to organise my week in a manner to make the most of my stay. I thoroughly recommend takinhg the tour to any first visitors to Niue.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
My apologies Jon B for such a tardy response in acknowledging your supportive review. My computer "glitch" is sorted.

We appreciated your support on your recent visit to Niue, especially as you had made the trip from Brisbane. Having a "real" yacht captain with years of sailing experience was a bonus for me As the Niue Yacht Club has a world wide reputation for facilities and hospitality offered to visiting cruisers, but none of us have actually sailed.

Your comment on the additional reference material in the resource pack provided after the tour is a point of difference in our tour operation. Other readers in the Trip Advisor forum have also found this particularly helpful in making the most of their time visiting Niue's attractions.

The background history you mention, was confined to the geology and the origins of the landscape, rather than the "people of the land". Hopefully you were able to tour with Niuean guides who provide this valuable and interesting insight into the local culture and history.

Perhaps, one day you will revisit Niue on your yacht when I will meet you at the wharf on arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This tour is a MUST!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We visited Niue as my surprise birthday gift to my husband for his 70th birthday. If we had never taken this tour on the morning of our first day, we would never have known the real highlights and sights of Niue. We were comfortably transported in a people mover van, and given an wonderful insight into life on Niue. Some of the statistics Keith told us were mind-blowing! And we now well know why travellers should put Niue onto their travel list (don't leave until the Bucket list!) and enjoy this special community in a very special part of the world. If you want high adrenalin adventure, then head to Queenstown, but if you want an unspoiled and natural environment, visit Niue, taking snorkel and reef shoes (or hire from Keith and Sue), your swimsuit and a very open mind to experience something really special in the wonderful South Pacific region. The familiarisation pack from Keith and Sue was an excellent idea and made life a lot easier when planning our days. Because there is no public transport on the island (including taxis) renting a car is a necessity.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nzcaygills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you NZCaygills for your support. We enjoyed your company, and what better place to come for a decade birthday. Niue is unique in many ways. Change, especially demographic change, is the one "constant" here on Niue. Some of the "stats" you mention, are not generally known, especially the plentiful and potable water supply Niue has. Where else in your travels can you drink the tap water that comes from an extensive, and renewable, aquifer ? Best wishes for your travels in 2014. You are seasoned travellers, and will have had many experiences that you could share with other readers. Thank you for adding Niue to your "Must do !" list
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Tour by Great People”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Thank you Keith and Sue for an amazing day taking us around the island showing us a few of the spots on the island. Even though my husband was born in Niue it had been over 25years since he had been back and the tour provided by Keith and Sue reminded him of places he had forgotten about. We got a real insight into many of the attractions and we found it much easier to navigate the island with the help of the maps and recommendations provided by Keith and Sue when we went to explore it ourselves. We all revisited a few of the spots on the tour. A couple of the favourites were Matapa Chasm, Avaiki and Palaha.
We wished we had more time to discover Niue, we know there are plenty more amazing spots to explore that we just didn’t have time to see. I guess that means we will have to come back!

Your knowledge of the Island, plus some amusing anecdotes and the advice on what else we should do and when, was without a doubt an advantage for our group to make the most of the time we had on the island. We had a fantastic time at the Melbourne Cup Day – thank you for recommending this it was nice to mingle with the locals and make some new friends.

We were there for our wedding and Keith and Sue accommodated our group so that we could all go on this tour together. The locations were stunning and the natural beauty of the “ROCK” is just magical. Sue kept us hydrated and provided some snacks (muesli bars and fresh fruit) that were welcomed on a warm day.

Keith and Sue also provided photography for our wedding, so this tour provided a great opportunity from them to get to know the group as well. The wedding photos are just stunning; they took us to some truly magical spots. We were in touch prior to arriving in Niue and they were able to accommodate all our requests and more. Combined with the photos taken while out on the tour and also from our wedding day they have a done a fantastic job and we have amazing photos to treasure. Thank you so much.

I highly recommend contacting Keith and Sue to book this tour at the start of your holiday or if you’re planning on getting married in Niue they are the people to talk to!

Fakaaue.
Ai mavehe, to liu a tautolu ke feleveiz

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you Tracy for your supportive review of our activities.

We are lucky enough to live in a photographers’ paradise where every location is uniquely spectacular. You were well organised and planned a year ahead. Your clear vision of what you would like to see in your wedding photographs, your eye for detail and your creativity helped us to take your photos of a life time. You and Charlie were “O for awesome” subjects and nature provided us with her own wonderful backdrops.

You will find that many people from all over the world will read your TA reviews, and some may make a decision to visit Charlie's birthplace too, because of your recommendations.

Yes, you will have to come back to Niue. To feleveia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic way to learn about the island”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Thanks Keith (& Sue) for a wonderful start to our holiday. Your knowledge of the island and humorous delivery was a great start to an amazing trip. From the stunning views to the advice & photos, I can't recommend this tour highly enough for learning about where you are & what you can do (& when is best to do it) on this fabulous "rock". Thank you so very much, we will be back. Sue & Jo.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you Sue, for your recent review of your morning out with us. Niue has some very special places to visit, and while most are on the maps provided, it can be a matter of timing your visit to such locations, as you did.

Many people come to experience the amazing underwater visibility in warm tropical waters but to get the most out of such visits, there are optimal tide times to plan for. Some are best at completely low tide, while others are safest on an incoming half to full tide.

From our conversations, you have travelled widely, and yet this is one of your first reviews for Trip Advisor. Now that you have passed the "first review" barrier, let other travellers know of your experiences. You will be surprised by the number of potential visitors to Niue who have read your reviews and may act on your advice.

We enjoyed your company and so will certainly look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes to you both for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niue Tours also viewed

 

Been to Niue Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing