We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Commodores Tour”
Review of Niue Tours

Niue Tours
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Alofi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Niue Orientation Tour is a 4 hour minibus journey to a cove, a cave, a chasm, cliff tops, & snorkelling spots. We provide a resource pack to help you plan your holiday so you will be in the "right place at the right time" for you safety and enjoyment;
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have been on a tour the day after my arrival in Niue, with Keith as the guide, commentator, bon vivant and raconteur, 2 french words that say all about him, in the company of a brazilian couple living in Sydney, and I spent a very interesting time, discovering the sea tracks, learning about many liitle tips of the island, from the way of bury the people to the underground huge fresh water reserves of that coral island and so on.
Later on Keith told me he was very happy with us, questioning and sharing our views and experiences. I warmly recommend to all visitors to enjoy that Commodores Tour. The day after the tour, we received all the pixes in a cd-r plus 3 cd-r about Niue island, and a very appreciated little attention from Keith and her lovely wife, Sue, a delicious paw-paw as it was Xmas time.
Not only that, I had a beer with him and friends at the Coral Motel Bar, with the most beautiful view on the ocean, sharing some old stories with a Niuean man ex-coach driver in NZ back in his island. Keith and Sue invited me for dinner the next day, and Sue's pavlova was beyond excellence! Such a beautiful couple from NZ Sth island, they made my day in Niue. Thanks again Sue and Keith. Florian

Thank Revanui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Bon jour mon ami,

Thank you for your review of your visit to Niue at Christmas time. Your English is excellent compared with my ability to speak French. "un petit peu" As you found when you met the other young couple from Brazil on that tour, there are many interesting visitors to Niue who you keep on meeting during your stay. Dave is the man you met, who shared lots of stories about "the days', years ago on Niue.

i also read you other reviews on Trip Advisor. You travel to many places and so you can share your knowledge now that you have become a TA writer. Merci !

Notre Ami, Florian.

Nous allons recontrer avec toi le mois d"Avril cette année .. nous devrions partager un autre bon sippage etpeut-etre une Pavlova Au Revoir (Sue)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Niue Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 217 of 258 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in Niue for a week at the beginning of December. We decided to take the Commodores Island tour on our first full day there, and it was so valuable. The week we stayed was the week Keith was away on holiday in New Zealand, his wife, Sue, stayed in Niue and took us out. As it was a quiet time of the year we were the only two on the tour.
The tour was so valuable, we learnt all the best times of the day to do things, and the best things on the island to do. We heard many stories from Sue, that only a local would know, and these were so interesting as she is very knowledgeable. We found ourselves referring back to Sue many times on our stay when we were traveling around the island and saw something interesting, like "Oh that's what Sue was talking about" etc.
We were given a weekly planner to take with us, along with a selection of DVDs, photos and other information for our trip. This planner was great for finding out what places were open on particular days. The Sunday after the tour Sue had dropped off a disc with personalised photos and even some fresh fruit.
This tour was absolutely wonderful and Sue was so lovely.
Highly recommended to all!

Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you Laura for your review of your morning out with Sue. The focus of this orientation tour was to provide useful information to help you enjoy your week on Niue. As many visitors come to enjoy the warm waters, timing of visits to the various snorkelling locations is important for enjoyment and also for safety reasons.

The fact that you had booked the tour before arriving on Niue, and after reading our visitors reviews on Trip Advisor, was appreciated. I also read the five other reviews on Niue, for TA, that will add interest and recommendations for future visitors. Best wishes for your travels in 2013. We will follow your future reviews with interest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Really good idea to go out with Sue and Keith to get an overview of Niue. You get to know a few fellow travellers, see some key sights, hear some anecdotes and facts that make Niue come alive. But wait there's more! Not only see some great photos but be in them. Receive a DVD or four. Then to make life really easy and relaxed they give you a weekly planner and some great info with map references. Would highly recommend

1  Thank vickib113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you Wendhmagz for your review and apologies for the incorrect logging of my response. As a seasoned traveller and a top contributor to Trip Advisor, you have a wide experience base to make comparisons. As with any visitor destination, there are always guide books and maps to help you "navigate" your way around the various attractions and restaurants. Having that extra component of background knowledge is an advantage in finding those "nooks and crannies".

The number of "Helpful" votes you have accrued on TA is a recognition of your ability as a writer and the value readers place on your insights. Best wishes for your travels in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We recently spent a wonderful week holidaying on Niue Island. While we were there we took the opportunity to go on The Commodore’s Orientation Tour. This was a great experience and provided us with information to enhance our own discoveries. Our guide was Sue, the Commodore’s wife. She is a New Zealander who has lived on Niue for about ten years. She loves the island and knows the ropes well. She took us to all sorts of places that we probably wouldn’t have found on our own. Even though the places of interest are signposted along the road, Sue knew the hidden nooks and crannies as well as historical events that had taken place near them. At the end of this great tour, Sue gave us all a DVD with a selection of stock photos of the island together with photos of ourselves she had taken during the tour. If you’re going to Niue, I would highly recommend you take this tour within the first two days of your visit as it will greatly enhance your experience and help you in making your own discoveries.

Thank wendhmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you vbonnile, for your response . You highlight the features of our tour on your first morning on Niue. Other visitors have also found the week's planner very useful. You also commented on the photos of you and your travel companion, set in some of Niue's surreal locations as a "plus".All part of your holiday memories of your visit here. Thank you for your support, and for your other reviews on Trip Advisor. They all help your fellow travellers. Fakaaue lahi mahaki !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you only do one thing on your trip to this magical island then we suggest you do the Commodores orientation tour. Gives you a visit to some of the many attractions on the island, trip was informative and fun, not only that the people we met on the trip became friends at the Matavai Resort. Keith and Sue were great hosts with fantastic knowledge of the joys of Niue. I had heard Keiths interview on NZ National radio and on the basis of his interview with Jim Moira I booked the trip. Keith and Sue became friends during our stay and we hope to visit again one day, if we do Keith and Sue we will be sure to get in touch.
Lee and Chrissy

Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiknu, Owner at Niue Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thanks, Lee and Chrissy, for your support. Not only did you book to come on tour before you arrived, but you had also read what other had posted on Trip Advisor. Because of the power of Trip Advisor, I am encouraging other tourism providers here to sign up and make the most of what TA offers.Your comments highlight a commonality that appears in previous posts - that of meeting other people on the tour with you that morning. Often our visitors do "their own thing" during the day and then coalesce again about "yard arm time' to watch the sunsets. The New Zealand National radio interview has certainly been heard by many as well who in turn may be convinced, as you were, to visit this "magical place'. To paraphrase the old adage "Our visitors are just friends we haven't meet yet !" Fakaaue lahi mahaki ! A BIG Niuean ' Thank you !"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niue Tours also viewed

 

Been to Niue Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing