We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The malecon”
Review of Malecon Cafe

Malecon Cafe
Ranked #46 of 261 Restaurants in Noumea
Cuisines: Pub, Grill
Description: Café, bar and pub, we're open from 7 am till late, the kitchen is open all day as well. Ideal for a pause in your trip, stop by any time for coffee, breakfast, lunch, burger or sandwiches, tapas, cocktails, cool beer, and why not a game of darts or fuzzball. Or just chill out lookingout one of the most beautiful lagoon in the world!
Restaurant details
Description: Café, bar and pub, we're open from 7 am till late, the kitchen is open all day as well. Ideal for a pause in your trip, stop by any time for coffee, breakfast, lunch, burger or sandwiches, tapas, cocktails, cool beer, and why not a game of darts or fuzzball. Or just chill out lookingout one of the most beautiful lagoon in the world!
Reviewed February 13, 2019 via mobile

Noumea is very expensive, so the prices are the norm.
What you do get here is excellent personel service and top quality meals at the "going rate".

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank garym317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 119 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2018 via mobile

Went in for a beer on a Saturday night, service was average. I ordered the Pinte beer and got a bottle, the Long Island was strong but too much tequila, we sat outside in the smoking area and it was pleasant.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Miike2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Really good snacks, coffee and cocktails, need your french to interact with the very friendly staff. Dart machines great fun!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Malecon is a pretty good place to eat and drink at Lemon Bay, which is not far from downtown Noumea. Food is pretty good and not unreasonably priced in such an expensive area. Service is usually a bit slow so not the best place if you're in a rush which you shouldn't be. Good staff, very friendly here.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JamesA546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

Definitely worth a visit.

We had the beef tartar and tuna tartar and was fabulous.

The Greek salad is definitely their version and dosent reassemble anything I've seen before, it was ok but not a repeat.

Lunch is available any time whilst most restaurants close after the lunch traffic.

Their exchange rate for the Aus $ not very good so use local currency or credit card.

We have eaten there 3 times in 11 days - yes we liked the place.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank PETER K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malecon Cafe also viewed

Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to Malecon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing