We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Lagon Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nouvata(Noumea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveler rating
360
295
51
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
295
51
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanse vata beachstudio roomheated poolnew caledoniasmall hotelmain roadroad noisegreat bakeryshort walkthe hotel is cleancontinental breakfastthree starl'atelier gourmandthe sofa bedfrench bakerycentre of townairport shuttle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 722 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here about 10 years ago and it's great to see the transformation of the hotel with the renovations conducted since then. Hotel Le Lagon provides great value - rooms are large (I stayed in a one bedroom apartment), clean and well laid out with access to a balcony from both the bedroom and living area. Staff are friendly, happy to help and will provide advice if needed. The hotel is located only a couple of doors down from a mini mart or a short 10-15 minute walk from a supermarket where you can get supplies. Although the hotel website states that the apartments have kitchens, the 'kitchen' is actually a microwave, kettle, sink and a fridge. So if you're planning on self-catering at all, keep this in mind. The beach, Baie de l'Anse Vata (where you can catch a water taxi out to Ilot Canard) is only a minutes walk away, there's a pool onsite and you can get breakfast in the dining room downstairs (I didn't try this so can't comment on how good/bad/otherwise this is). There are restaurants just nearby or you're only a five minute walk away from Baie des Citrons where there are many more to choose from and great beach to cool down in. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasingfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Le Lagon for a total of four nights over a two week period in NC and it made a great Noumea base.

The location is excellent. Anse Vata is where you want to be for the beach and, as many other reviewers have commented, there are plenty of restaurants nearby (Try Amadeus just next door) and convenience stores and supermarkets within walking distance. The bus into the city stops right outside and there is easy parking on the street out front or round the side (though the hotel does have a paid parking lot if you want to us it).

Three of our four nights at the hotel were on the 'Luxe pour tous' deal which gives you a room upgrade and breakfast delivered to your room for the price of a normal room. This is only available on Sun and Mon but it's worthwhile if you happen to be in town on those days.

The standard (studio) room was small, but totally functional. It had a comfortable king size bed, ensuite with shower over bath, small kitchenette (sink, fridge, glasses, plates, cutlery, microwave - no stove top or oven), breakfast table and four chairs and smallish balcony overlooking the pool (this was room 303) with a table and chairs. It also had a large screen TV with satellite channels. Only one in English though.

The suite had exactly the same features but was twice the size so the balcony was much bigger. It also separated the room into the bedroom and a lounge room which had a couch and coffee table. Room 305 overlooked the pool, room 401 overlooked the car park of the restaurants next door.

If I had to find something to improve, it would be the worlds least comfortable couches that they have put into the suites and the worlds least comfortable chairs (I know, what are the odds?) that they have on the balconies, but this is a small gripe. Overall, the rooms are very good.

Breakfast was good with cereal, home made yoghurt, an assortment of french pastries and bread, tea, coffee and juice. We didn't actually use the pool or fitness stuff, but the pool area was nice and there was a heated spa on the same level. The beach is about 3mins walk away, and the hotel provides kayak hire there (get a voucher from reception).

Staff were friendly and helpful. Happy to tolerate my French, but able to switch to English when necessary. We were able to store excess luggage while we went off to the Ile des Pins and national parks, and they were happy to help out with change or directions or airport transfers or whatever when required.

All in all, this was great place to stay and I'd highly recommend it. Seemed like the best value in town, especially if you can swing the 'Luxe Pour Tous' deal.

Room Tip: Room 305 was on a corner and overlooked the pool. rooms on the other side would overlook the road.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for a week in Le Lagon Hotel, and while we were a bit pissed off we got there and saw a discount promotion (which they didn't let us apply for), we still think we got a great deal. The Hotel staff are friendly, rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the views of Anse Vata Beach and wider Noumea are quite nice. Very, very near the beach and also walking distance to a lot of nice restaurants and bars.

Would definitely recommend for your stay in Noumea!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank los_antipodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as a home base for exploring New Caledonia. The location worked out pretty good. The rooms were quiet and very comfortable with a huge deluxe bathroom and king bed. We even had a little kitchen with a sink, medium size refrigerator, dishes and cleaning supplies. I loved having a patio with table and chairs for drying out my laundry. The staff were very helpful with giving directions in English. The location is close to shopping and places to eat (though the food was too expensive for us). We ended up shopping at a grocery store for all our meals which was fun and convenient. There is one souvenir shop that I cant recommend highly enough and it is where we found the best quality handmade products from our entire two month trip around the world. It is just around the corner from this hotel and it's called Art Premier Gallery in Noumea. We purchased the most beautifully hand carved wooden bowls, jewelry and carved shells I have ever seen. It's all individually handcrafted and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed 7 nights here and found the hotel to be wonderful. We chose the studio room which is a bit cramped but for what we wanted was excellent. The cleaning staff were wonderful and the facilities also great. we faced the pool and it was very quiet during the night. Free wifi, water aerobics 3 times a week, kayaking available every day if you want and very helpful staff. Le Lagon is near loads of great restaurants (see my other reviews) and 2 supermarkets and a wonderful boulangerie.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the side facing the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leonemoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews