We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great value”
Review of Le Lagon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Lagon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Le Lagon for a total of four nights over a two week period in NC and it made a great Noumea base.

The location is excellent. Anse Vata is where you want to be for the beach and, as many other reviewers have commented, there are plenty of restaurants nearby (Try Amadeus just next door) and convenience stores and supermarkets within walking distance. The bus into the city stops right outside and there is easy parking on the street out front or round the side (though the hotel does have a paid parking lot if you want to us it).

Three of our four nights at the hotel were on the 'Luxe pour tous' deal which gives you a room upgrade and breakfast delivered to your room for the price of a normal room. This is only available on Sun and Mon but it's worthwhile if you happen to be in town on those days.

The standard (studio) room was small, but totally functional. It had a comfortable king size bed, ensuite with shower over bath, small kitchenette (sink, fridge, glasses, plates, cutlery, microwave - no stove top or oven), breakfast table and four chairs and smallish balcony overlooking the pool (this was room 303) with a table and chairs. It also had a large screen TV with satellite channels. Only one in English though.

The suite had exactly the same features but was twice the size so the balcony was much bigger. It also separated the room into the bedroom and a lounge room which had a couch and coffee table. Room 305 overlooked the pool, room 401 overlooked the car park of the restaurants next door.

If I had to find something to improve, it would be the worlds least comfortable couches that they have put into the suites and the worlds least comfortable chairs (I know, what are the odds?) that they have on the balconies, but this is a small gripe. Overall, the rooms are very good.

Breakfast was good with cereal, home made yoghurt, an assortment of french pastries and bread, tea, coffee and juice. We didn't actually use the pool or fitness stuff, but the pool area was nice and there was a heated spa on the same level. The beach is about 3mins walk away, and the hotel provides kayak hire there (get a voucher from reception).

Staff were friendly and helpful. Happy to tolerate my French, but able to switch to English when necessary. We were able to store excess luggage while we went off to the Ile des Pins and national parks, and they were happy to help out with change or directions or airport transfers or whatever when required.

All in all, this was great place to stay and I'd highly recommend it. Seemed like the best value in town, especially if you can swing the 'Luxe Pour Tous' deal.

Room Tip: Room 305 was on a corner and overlooked the pool. rooms on the other side would overlook the road.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
There are newer reviews for Le Lagon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 665 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for a week in Le Lagon Hotel, and while we were a bit pissed off we got there and saw a discount promotion (which they didn't let us apply for), we still think we got a great deal. The Hotel staff are friendly, rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the views of Anse Vata Beach and wider Noumea are quite nice. Very, very near the beach and also walking distance to a lot of nice restaurants and bars.

Would definitely recommend for your stay in Noumea!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank los_antipodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as a home base for exploring New Caledonia. The location worked out pretty good. The rooms were quiet and very comfortable with a huge deluxe bathroom and king bed. We even had a little kitchen with a sink, medium size refrigerator, dishes and cleaning supplies. I loved having a patio with table and chairs for drying out my laundry. The staff were very helpful with giving directions in English. The location is close to shopping and places to eat (though the food was too expensive for us). We ended up shopping at a grocery store for all our meals which was fun and convenient. There is one souvenir shop that I cant recommend highly enough and it is where we found the best quality handmade products from our entire two month trip around the world. It is just around the corner from this hotel and it's called Art Premier Gallery in Noumea. We purchased the most beautifully hand carved wooden bowls, jewelry and carved shells I have ever seen. It's all individually handcrafted and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed 7 nights here and found the hotel to be wonderful. We chose the studio room which is a bit cramped but for what we wanted was excellent. The cleaning staff were wonderful and the facilities also great. we faced the pool and it was very quiet during the night. Free wifi, water aerobics 3 times a week, kayaking available every day if you want and very helpful staff. Le Lagon is near loads of great restaurants (see my other reviews) and 2 supermarkets and a wonderful boulangerie.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the side facing the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leonemoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Chose to stay here largely based on the number one rating given by TripAdvisor. Decided that with only two full days available being close to the beach for a total relax was the priority and Anse Vata won! The room was delightful. We were on the first floor which made access to the pool very easy and down a flight of stairs to the foyer very convenient. The window from the bathroom to the bedroom was slightly odd but the blinds overcame any modesty issues. The couch in the wee lounge could be worked so that somehow the seat cushions didn't slide off every time you sat on it. Fabulous shower and lovely deep bath. Lovely, large comfy bed with extra pillows....slept really well. There was a bit of activity outside, especially on the Saturday night but seemed to die down by the time we returned to the room after our meals. Free wifi in the rooms which is marvellous if one remembers their charger for their iPad. Reception had power adaptors for just about everything except that. The two PC's in the lobby kept us in touch with everyone back home so all was good. There is no dedicated concierge to help with making decisions of what to do every day so research before you go is essential. Reception was very helpful and courteous and tried to go out of their way helping us book airport transfers and lunch at Ilot Maitre (which had me desperately trying to pronounce it without spitting on anyone!) I think they do a far better job of speaking English than I do French. There was a wee alcove that had some brochures on touristy things but most of them were in French. The pool was very sweet, very clean and very warm for a lovely sunny day. Not sure if they turn the heat down the hotter the outside temperature gets but we were having 25C days. The sun disappeared from the pool around three-ish so thats maybe why. Didn't eat at the restaurant because of the easy access to an assortment of eateries in the area...and not to forget the boulangerie that has been mentioned by others and the wee chinese superette where we were able to get milk for our tea and coffee. Not a great selection of tea and coffee in the room so if coffee is your thing, take a wee plunger and some ground coffee, it'll be the best coffee you have there. The kitchenette was well appointed with microwave, fridge and washing up area. really happy and would look at staying here again.

Room Tip: Our first floor room faced a side street and was subject to the hustle and bustle of the activity ou...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We chose Le Lagon because of the reasonable price but we were more than pleased with what we found on arrival. Yes the staff are friendly & welcoming; they are comfortable speaking English when needed but also happy to persevere with tourists like me who want to practise our French (very much appreciated.) The room was an adequate size with a good balcony and a little kitchenette so we could prepare some light meals in room. Our kind size bed gave us both an excellent nights sleep. The shower was excellent with adjustable flow and plenty of hot water, and the bath was deep enough to have a nice long soak after a busy day of sightseeing. Pool area is small but sheltered, with the gym right next to the pool (there is a tiny kids pool too if you have littlies).Located just off Anse Vata beach the hotel has buses nearby and at 210 francs a trip we found them an excellent way to get around. Within a short stroll can be found small supermarkets, takeaway cafes, a bottle shop and an excellent Boulangerie for that fresh baguette each morning. There is also a great choice of restaurants of all price ranges. We loved everthing about our stay at Le Lagon & will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a view of the bay.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

For a first-time traveler to French-speaking New Caledonia, feeling comfortable without knowing the language is a priority. The front desk had someone who spoke part English at night, and fluent English in the morning, which was a huge help when trying to ask questions such as the nearest place to change money, the nearest bank to get a cash advance, is my airport transfer set up to the domestic airport, etc. Then you get to the room, which is just beautiful - large comfortable bed, clean and new feeling throughout, a deep one-person bathtub separated from the bedroom by a glass window with blinds (very unique) - which also has a rapid-fill capability and good hot water. The one bedroom is roomy, with a kitchenette, living room with TV and convertible sofa (so room could sleep 4), and ours had a private deck with chairs facing the pool, which is spotlit and nice at night. This property is a good 20-30 minute walk to the central downtown and Latin Quarter, and about 5 minutes to a bank, currency exchange, and late-night restaurant ("late night" being open for dinner til 11pm on a Sunday night). The on-site gym is a piece of Nautilus 4000 equipment - feels brand new, and enough exercises to handle most basic needs (no free weights, no squat equipment, but it did have leg press and extension as well as most basic upper body exercise stations). The downstairs restaurant offers breakfast at extra charge, but the property also offers free WiFi and a computer downstairs with free Internet - one station set for English, and one set for French. Coming into New Caledonia cold, have to say we felt we made a great choice - maybe it's not as centrally located as other properties, but it's clean, cared for, friendly, and offers a good solid quiet night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool area, on an upper floor. Didn't try the breakfast yet, but the r...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
0.1 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
175 reviews
84.6 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lagon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lagon Hotel

Address: 149 Route de l Anse Vata, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800, New Caledonia
Phone Number:
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Noumea
#1 Spa Hotel in Noumea
#1 Business Hotel in Noumea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Price Range: $117 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Lagon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Lagon Hotel Noumea is a family run 3 star New Caledonia hotel that welcomes you as if you were a famous travel writer. From 2007 to 2009 the hotel was completely rebuilt from the ground up.To make sure the final result was perfect for your visit : They added a pool, a health spa and a whole new wing to the hotel making it one of the most modern and comfortable Noumea Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Lagon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lagon Noumea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing