We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noumea's not great but Le Lagon is true value for money.”
Review of Le Lagon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Lagon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noumea's not great but Le Lagon is true value for money.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you're waiting to transfer to an outer island, you couldn't do better that Le Lagon. It's clean, spacious and the front desk staff are super helpful and even a bit wickedly funny. It's located near small supermarkets and the beach, which was unfortunately not open when we were there due to sewer construction works.(They are supposed to be completed by late October.)
I would definitely stay again. Great price and great accommodation in a small and family way. I should add that I am a bit fussy about accommodation, but have only good things to say about Le Lagon. Checked out Le Meridien just down the beach, but it was mouldy and musty - Le Lagon was fresh and happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semanasantablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    259
    46
    6
    6
See reviews for
111
307
54
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewantin, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

a very nice hotel, within easy reach of Anse vate, a boulongarie and 2 small grocery shops. Good accomadation, very clean and comfortable with cheerful and efficient front desk staff. had a lovely week there. Very nice swimmimg pool and relaxation area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edmag_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just returned from 8 days at the Le Lagon and found the hotel did the basics very well. The hotel is clean and bright - the decor up to date. The foyer beautiful with the tropical fish and coral - almost better than the Aquarium down the road! We had a one bedroom suite which suited our needs well. The kitchenette was basic with only basic cutlery and crockery - no sharp knife, no chopping board, no can opener or cork screw. The sink had no plug, but that didn't really bother us for the few dishes we used. Free wi-fi in the rooms was great - bring your own cables. The in room safe wasn't working when we got there, but staff recified that promptly - had been jammed by the previous guests. Always remember to leave the safe door open when you vacate the room for the last time - that way the next people can use it! The room has a couch (turns into a bed) and flat screen tv, dvd and cd player - which we learnt to use after a bit of difficulty. TV in NC is all French speaking, so take dvd's if you want to watch anything and don't speak French. We had a room facing the side street and the balcony got all day sun - from 7.30am til dusk - brilliant for breakfast right through to pre dinner drinks. Had an outdoor table and two chairs. The bed was extremely comfy and huge. The bathroom was fairly standard with a shower over the bath. Wallmounted hairdryer and shaver plugs. The only thing I can think of that would have improved things would be a full length mirror in the bedroom. The pool area is kept very clean and tidy - small pool and spa nice. Pity that the suns goes off the whole area by afternoon or would have used it so much more, especially as Anse Vata beach is closed for swimming at present due to work on the sewer system. Work will be done by October though. There is a room with washer dryer - I think on two of the floors. There is also an ice maker in that room but the one on the 4th floor was working when we were there. Staff were friendly and helpful though not everyone spoke good English, but that was never a problem for us.

All in all the Le Lagon is great value and does what it says it does on their website. The patisserie down the road is fantastic as other reviews have said previously. They are closed Mondays. There are two convenience stores in the same area and a supermarket a couple of kilometers up Anse Vata Road - towards town. So it's a great place to stay with everything close by and the bus stops almost outside the door.

Room Tip: If you like all day sun on your balcony go for an upper room facing the side road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Le Lagon is an nice and good hotel in the south (touristic/expensive) part of Noumea. The staff is friendly, our room was very good, there is a parking facility, in the lobby there are two computers for guests (free internet) and the hotel is at walking distance of restaurants, some shops and a beach.

Room Tip: A "one bedroom" is bigger than a "studio". We had a "one bedroom". (It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyerAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a good hotel with a good location to everything. The reception attendants were very nice and accommodating. There was no problem communicating in English. The pool area was nice, but small. Unfortunately it was being renovated so I could not use. My room was facing the street, but there was no problem with noise at night. The hotel has also a washer & a dryer for those who wish to use them. The cloths in the dryer get hot, but not dry. If you require parking spot, the hotel has few spots, but I suggest you reserve in advance if you can.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Spent 6 nights here and it covers the basics well - nice room, very clean, very helpful staff, and an excellent location - close to the beach and restaurants. The rooms are small though, and a studio is probably too small for two people. The staff were great and lots of fun - they made me speak French which is exactly what I needed to do! The quality of the breakfast wasn't that flash - its much better to walk up the road and get coffee and pastries.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have sea views from the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mignonandchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked for our first and last nights in New Caledonia at Le Lagon as we were staying further out in the countryside. It proved the perfect launchpad to New Caledonia to help us find our feet and desperately recall school-learned French from many years ago! Most of the reception staff were helpful. We had a room on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel - road noise was not too bad and it was the perfect spot to watch birds because it's opposite a great park. We had a standard studio which was surprisingly spacious (huge bed!), decent and nicely fitted out bathroom (with hairdryer!) and TV with some English channels, air con, free tea/coffee, microwave and fridge. Free in-room wifi and computers in lobby for guests. Onsite secure parking (extra cost) was worth it and the overall value for money we thought was excellent! And the patisserie just a few doors away was the BEST!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jules R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
0.1 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea
Le Meridien Noumea
#4 of 20 in Noumea
901 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#12 of 20 in Noumea
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
163 reviews
84.6 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lagon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lagon Hotel

Property: Le Lagon Hotel
Address: 149 Route de l Anse Vata, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800, New Caledonia
Phone Number:
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Noumea
#1 Business Hotel in Noumea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Lagon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Lagon Hotel Noumea is a family run 3 star New Caledonia hotel that welcomes you as if you were a famous travel writer. From 2007 to 2009 the hotel was completely rebuilt from the ground up.To make sure the final result was perfect for your visit : They added a pool, a health spa and a whole new wing to the hotel making it one of the most modern and comfortable Noumea Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Lagon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lagon Noumea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing