We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the basics well.”
Review of Le Lagon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Lagon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just returned from 8 days at the Le Lagon and found the hotel did the basics very well. The hotel is clean and bright - the decor up to date. The foyer beautiful with the tropical fish and coral - almost better than the Aquarium down the road! We had a one bedroom suite which suited our needs well. The kitchenette was basic with only basic cutlery and crockery - no sharp knife, no chopping board, no can opener or cork screw. The sink had no plug, but that didn't really bother us for the few dishes we used. Free wi-fi in the rooms was great - bring your own cables. The in room safe wasn't working when we got there, but staff recified that promptly - had been jammed by the previous guests. Always remember to leave the safe door open when you vacate the room for the last time - that way the next people can use it! The room has a couch (turns into a bed) and flat screen tv, dvd and cd player - which we learnt to use after a bit of difficulty. TV in NC is all French speaking, so take dvd's if you want to watch anything and don't speak French. We had a room facing the side street and the balcony got all day sun - from 7.30am til dusk - brilliant for breakfast right through to pre dinner drinks. Had an outdoor table and two chairs. The bed was extremely comfy and huge. The bathroom was fairly standard with a shower over the bath. Wallmounted hairdryer and shaver plugs. The only thing I can think of that would have improved things would be a full length mirror in the bedroom. The pool area is kept very clean and tidy - small pool and spa nice. Pity that the suns goes off the whole area by afternoon or would have used it so much more, especially as Anse Vata beach is closed for swimming at present due to work on the sewer system. Work will be done by October though. There is a room with washer dryer - I think on two of the floors. There is also an ice maker in that room but the one on the 4th floor was working when we were there. Staff were friendly and helpful though not everyone spoke good English, but that was never a problem for us.

All in all the Le Lagon is great value and does what it says it does on their website. The patisserie down the road is fantastic as other reviews have said previously. They are closed Mondays. There are two convenience stores in the same area and a supermarket a couple of kilometers up Anse Vata Road - towards town. So it's a great place to stay with everything close by and the bus stops almost outside the door.

Room Tip: If you like all day sun on your balcony go for an upper room facing the side road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 691 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Le Lagon is an nice and good hotel in the south (touristic/expensive) part of Noumea. The staff is friendly, our room was very good, there is a parking facility, in the lobby there are two computers for guests (free internet) and the hotel is at walking distance of restaurants, some shops and a beach.

Room Tip: A "one bedroom" is bigger than a "studio". We had a "one bedroom". (It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFlyerAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a good hotel with a good location to everything. The reception attendants were very nice and accommodating. There was no problem communicating in English. The pool area was nice, but small. Unfortunately it was being renovated so I could not use. My room was facing the street, but there was no problem with noise at night. The hotel has also a washer & a dryer for those who wish to use them. The cloths in the dryer get hot, but not dry. If you require parking spot, the hotel has few spots, but I suggest you reserve in advance if you can.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Spent 6 nights here and it covers the basics well - nice room, very clean, very helpful staff, and an excellent location - close to the beach and restaurants. The rooms are small though, and a studio is probably too small for two people. The staff were great and lots of fun - they made me speak French which is exactly what I needed to do! The quality of the breakfast wasn't that flash - its much better to walk up the road and get coffee and pastries.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have sea views from the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mignonandchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked for our first and last nights in New Caledonia at Le Lagon as we were staying further out in the countryside. It proved the perfect launchpad to New Caledonia to help us find our feet and desperately recall school-learned French from many years ago! Most of the reception staff were helpful. We had a room on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel - road noise was not too bad and it was the perfect spot to watch birds because it's opposite a great park. We had a standard studio which was surprisingly spacious (huge bed!), decent and nicely fitted out bathroom (with hairdryer!) and TV with some English channels, air con, free tea/coffee, microwave and fridge. Free in-room wifi and computers in lobby for guests. Onsite secure parking (extra cost) was worth it and the overall value for money we thought was excellent! And the patisserie just a few doors away was the BEST!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed in a room at the front of the hotel but road noise not an issue. Room was very clean and fresh & staff super friendly & helpful. Pool is lovely but located at the back ofthe hotel and loses the sun fairly early in the afternoon. Le Lagon is only metres from Anse Vata beach and a short stroll to Baie des Citron's wonderful restaurants.

If you are planning a trip to Noumea, learn at least a few basic words of French - the locals really appreciate the effort, however small.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Staying for 6 nts at Le Lagon from 11-17Aug & booked Studio Rm with rqst for room overlooking pool. Unfortunately hotel was fully booked & was allocated room on street side which is extremely busy with traffic during day but luckily quietens down by bedtime. Staff (Rose & Mary) are very helpful & friendly with Rose speaking very good English.

Hotel is well located close to eateries, the beach & convenience shops. Nice clean renovated rooms with good bed but pillows on the soft side so need to sleep on 2 pillows. Basic amenities provided in bathroom only hand wash & shampoo/liquid soap all in one. Room does come with microwave, free tea/coffee, room safe, empty bar fridge & strong free wifi in rooms/lobby.

Adapters can b borrowed from reception free of charge & self service laundry avail for 1500xpf (approx $15) if required for longer stays.

All in all for the price paid this is a good place to stay if all u need is a place to sleep & base herself from & represents great value. Stay elsewhere like Le Meredien if you want a more resort feel on the beach at quadruple the price of Le Lagon.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rabaul63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.2 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#12 of 20 in Noumea
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
195 reviews
84.6 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lagon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lagon Hotel

Address: 149 Route de l Anse Vata, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800, New Caledonia
Phone Number:
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Noumea
#1 Spa Hotel in Noumea
#2 Best Value Hotel in Noumea
#2 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Price Range: $119 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Lagon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Lagon Hotel Noumea is a family run 3 star New Caledonia hotel that welcomes you as if you were a famous travel writer. From 2007 to 2009 the hotel was completely rebuilt from the ground up.To make sure the final result was perfect for your visit : They added a pool, a health spa and a whole new wing to the hotel making it one of the most modern and comfortable Noumea Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Lagon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lagon Noumea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing