We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and breakfast options.”
Review of Malongo

Malongo
Ranked #1 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Noumea
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Sells Coffee And Tea As Well As Some Gourmet Food - Also A Good Gift Store
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Best coffee we had in New Caledonia! Bacon and eggs also very good. Free wifi which worked really well. Pleasant outdoor dining experience. Reasonably priced for Noumea. Seemed to always be full of people which tells you something. Be aware that it seems in Noumea people can smoke in food outlets so be prepared to eat your meal with some cigarette smoke around you. We found this to be part of the adventure and culture. Great little gift store also on site with products from France.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wildhags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 328 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2019

Simple and complex quick eats options including good coffees. Simple like egg and toast for fussy or little eaters. Option of gift shop, not opened at all times. Great coffee and sweet things.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019 via mobile

We had been into this shop/cafe and were delighted with the coffee products (they have Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee beans!) and homewares they stocked.
Some days later we decided to have breakfast there and were so very disappointed. The continental breakfast was fresh squeezed orange juice (one glass was only half full and the other had just a drop more), a plate of 2 slices of French bread (stale), a croissant and a pain aux chocolat (both alright) and coffee (awful, really awful).
We didn’t bother going back however I commend the waiter for his professionalism and ability to juggle many customers with little help.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank MonkeyDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019

Staff super friendly , good service, good breakfast options and nice food. Coffee ok for not being in Melbourne :-) Bit more expensive but worth it

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Scibby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

We had breakky here several times at our stay in Noumea as we didn’t include breakky in our package at Le Meridien. It’s a simple menu but they do eggs and bacon quite well. Staff are pretty arrogant and rude if you don’t speak French but you can kind of forgive it as the food is pretty good and is not a tourist trap. We regularly had the Caffe Store which had fried eggs, bacon, small freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, French pastries and bread. They have other options but we stuck with the eggs as they did it quite well. Bread is not toasted but we find this is the case at most places.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank salliep2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malongo also viewed

Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to Malongo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing