We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING! Do not stay here!”
Review of Casa del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa del Sole
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We lived in Noumea and have been back several times since, always staying at Casa del Sole. Never again. It has really deteriorated. We booked a one bedroom appartment on the tenth floor. The first night we realised that since our last visit the Baie des Citrons has been taken over by nighclubs. So if you dont mind sleeping with five completely open night clubs within a few hundred metres go right ahead and book here. The traffic flow has also increased and even with the doors closed it felt like we were sleeping on the road. Then there was the bedroom wall which touched the wall of the lift shaft. You get the picture. No sleep.
The next day we asked to change rooms. The unhelpful girl on reception told us to come back three times. We gave up. She did not have time to find us another room.
A few days later another very helpful young man said we could move at the end of our first week and the woman in charge gave us a two bed appartment on the top floor.
No better noise wise.
You have to understand that the locals rent appartments for the weekend or for a few nights to come and party. We had noise and loud music every night, kids going wild and furniture being dragged around non stop. We had to call security twice.
Down below in the streets local indigenous people hang around drinking and shouting all night.
Oh and I have not yet mentioned the smell of cannabis from the next appartment.
Noumea is a lovely place and our friends tell us we should have gone to Le Lagon or the new Best Western at Anse Vata. Both have kitchens.
They also told us casa del sole regularly gets huge groups of school kids from Australia and New Zealand. Not what you want during a holiday.
I could write a lot more but am going to go out to avoid being intoxicated by marijuanah smoking from our charming neighbours.PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE!
I have had the worst two weeks of my life and need a holiday now.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth1960_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 235 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Reception staff were awful, I was quite shocked given I frequently travel - this was surprising.
Had to make additional arrangements and payment for room service. Hotel rooms are smoking, so you can smell smoke from other rooms and in hallways. ABC channel from Australia West Australian so programs were a 3 hour difference.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyful_Traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here recently in a 2 bedroom apartment with a 3 year old and a 5 year old and have to say that for a family this place is amazing. We spent 5 days here and then drove north to Hienghene. The apartment is modestly furnished but it's very spacious and in a super location. Great for small kids as you don't have to be too precious about them touching things etc. There is a wonderful playground you can find near Le Meridien and the footpaths along the waterfront of both beaches are superb for scootering and cycling or just wandering. The pool is not wonderful but there are two superb beaches within a couple of minutes walk, a lovely aquarium a few mins walk away and the closest supermarket (Casino) is a good 10 min walk away. It is located in a little shopping mall which has a fantastic boulangerie right next door (as we learned not all boulangeries are equal!). Otherwise it is not hard to navigate the bus system into town to the very big, very amazing supermarket down by the port and to the shops there. If you are traveling on a budget with kids I recommend taking lots of snack-type food and some basics like tinned fruit, rice, pasta etc with you and then from there you can get most things you need at the supermarkets and bakeries. Don't be discouraged by those who say New Caledonia is too expensive. It's a great place to visit with kids - very safe, relaxing and culturally very interesting, too. Yes, it's true there is not much English spoken but that made for a much more interesting holiday. Our experience was that most people were exceptionally friendly once we made an effort to speak to them in French. I highly recommend this place if you have small kids - can't beat the location and ease of staying here...

Room Tip: I would ask to be on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamaki-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Recommended and where we pleased ! Only 3 star however the location you just can not get much better, superb actually !!

We were here for 9 nights and booked a superior 1 bedroom apartment #1501. For us this position was excellent with stunning views over Baie Des Citron, watching the cruise ships and sheltered from the wind hence we enjoyed and would prefer this side of the building.
Opposite side over looks Anse Vata seems the prevailing winds were from that quarter however everyone does the windsurfing there and you may prefer that view.
The rooms are spacious, flow from bedroom and lounge to a good sized deck with outdoor setting.
Comments are they are sparce, yes they are. Create your own atmosphere put your magazines out, buy some flowers and get fruit in the bowl goes a long way to make it feel homely.

Beds are firm however comfortable, with aircon in the bedroom.
Bathroom ,shower was good ,Linen ( all white ) basic towels and bathmats are provided. If you want face cloth, handtowel, tea towel take them with you remember it is 3 star.

There is a separate laundry . Washing machine was easy to use even though we dont read french.

Had no hairdryer and Casa Del Sole provided one and a spare conversion plug. Found the reception staff extremely obliging in this respect given we don't speak French. There is an 240 volt plug in the bathroom if you wish to take your own dryer.

Wirelss internet was included. For us this is invaluable as we still need to continue running our business whilst travelling. We ran one computer plus the I Pad . Could even skype.

Basic kitchen with oven microwave and good sized fridge all you need.

Bus to here took ages ( last drop off ?? ) 3,000XPF each or if you take a taxi 10,000XPF. We would take taxi next time.

The supermarket is a 15 minute walk ........look for the sign just past the marina on your left for the Casino Supermarket , a small mall/complex so can easily miss it. Beside the supermarket is a fab bakery with freshest baguettes and divine pastries.

The Restaurants, cafes and bars are just below , fantastic selection you will not get bored.
Across the road is the stunning Baie Des Citron beach and one empty section away is the Anse Vata beach .
Opposite the Anse Vata Beach are shops, restaurants, cafes (another fab bakery with baguettes and pasteries )
Transport, the bus is at your door to take you to town however we found the the best shops were at Anse Vata.

For us this was a perfect referral. Granted it is only 3 star however super value and we did not find it noisy at all !!

We will with out doubt return

Room Tip: Room over looking Baie Des Citron and if you can 13-16th Floor , rooms #01 or #08 for a more shelter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

It was not a good start. We had booked a two bedroom apartment on floors 13 – 16 on Wotif, 3 months prior to our holiday. On arrival at reception at 1.30pm on a Sunday afternoon in October, we were told check in time was 3.00pm despite our Wotif booking saying check in time was 2.00. Being happy holiday makers we agreed to go for a walk, have a cup of coffee and come back at 3.00pm, which we did. Check in was smooth and easy and we were allocated a room on the Baie des Citron side of the building, (which we had requested) and on the 15th floor which was also what we had paid for. Imagine our shock when we entered the room to find it was a one bedroom apartment. Back down to reception to explain the error only to be told “well there are only two of you so a one bedroom apartment should be fine”. I explained that we had specifically booked and paid for a two bedroom apartment on floors 13 -16 and are therefore entitled to such a room or a refund for the difference. “We have no two bedroom apartments available unless you would like to be on level 3”. This was not what we paid for and Level 3 has no views what so ever. I then said the one bedroom apartment we had been allocated on Level 15 would be OK but we will need to be refunded the difference between a two bedroom and a one bedroom apartment. I was told this was not possible!! We have a basic understanding of French, my wife in particular can order most things off a French menu, but trying to have an argument in French over contractual legal obligations was beyond both of us. We slept in the one bedroom apartment that night with a view (no pun intended) to rectifying the situation the next day hopefully, with a different receptionist.

Next day, on explaining our situation to the morning receptionist, a 2 bedroom apartment on level 13 (Room 1307) ‘magically’ became available and we moved in.

What do you get at the Casa Del Sole? To start with it is a 16 story building located immediately across the road from the Baie Des Citrons beach and a short walk to Anse Vata beach, the higher the floor you are on, obviously the better the views and they are simply stunning. When I say ‘beach’ it is actually a lagoon (the largest in the world in fact) and you will not be surfing any waves! If you request the Baie des Citron side of the building you have an uninterrupted magnificent vista of the bay but as others have pointed out, you are immediately above the street restaurants and bars and if you are a light sleeper, you may be kept awake on Friday and Saturday nights. If you request the Anse Vata side of the building, again you have a magnificent vista but you face south east and the Trade winds, if blowing even slightly, will literally blow you off your balcony. The trade winds blow 250 days a year, so if you’re feeling lucky..... The Baie des Citron side is our favourite, because there is no wind factor and we can enjoy the view from our balcony whilst actually sitting outside. If the noise from downstairs bothers us late at night we just shut the balcony door.

There are different tariffs for floors 2-7, 8-12 and 13-16. Obviously it becomes more expensive the higher you go, but the difference is marginal. The tariff for Friday and Saturday night on all floors is higher than the rest of the week. If you can manage to only include one weekend in your stay, you will pay less. The locals tend to book rooms on Fri and Sat nights so they can ‘party’, thus, not only do you have to contend with the noise from the bars downstairs but also from the weekend guests in the actual building. We recommend the highest floors on the Baie des Citron for the view and the fact that you are higher and therefore further from the bar noise and also for the fact that the weekend party animals tend to book the lower floors because they are slightly cheaper. There are one and two bedroom apartments available. The one bedroom apartments run down either side of the middle of the building. They are certainly adequate for two people with a bathroom, toilet, laundry and kitchenette. The two bedroom apartments however, are only slightly more expensive, have two toilets, a full kitchen, 42 m2 living area, two full sized bedrooms with built in wardrobes, one balcony off the living area that is 25 m2 and another balcony off the main bedroom that is 10.5 m2. They are huge by Australian standards and simply enormous compared to any apartment in Paris! The two bedroom apartments are located at the end of each floor so, at a stretch, you do get a view of both beaches from the main bedroom balcony. The one bedroom apartments are in between the two bedroom apartments and in our experience, if you book a two bedroom apartment you are far less likely to have noisy neighbours in the one bedroom apartment next to you. Book a one bedroom and unless you have us, you will almost certainly have a family, teenagers, or group of friends next door with the accompanying increase in noise level.

All the apartments are furnished sparingly but with enough seats, table space etc to accommodate the numbers booked. The kitchens on the other hand are a bit hit and miss. There is a good chance your kitchen will be missing at least 3 or 4 of the following: toaster, cork screw, can opener, sharp knife, (even if you get one, it won’t be sharp) pegs, tea towel, egg slice, dishwashing liquid, tablets for the dishwasher, dishcloth or a scouring pad. To save a lot of hassle, we tend to bring these items with us and just ask reception for a toaster if we don’t have one in our apartment.

The bathrooms are quite large by European standards. One towel and one cake of soap are provided for each paying guest. There are no toiletries, no hair dryer, no hand towels and no face washers provided. There is one Australian power point in the bathroom but all other power points in the units are the two pin European variety and you will need to bring a suitable adapter to use them.

Bedrooms are generous in size and open off a hallway rather than the main living area. All have a door opening onto a balcony and all have a view. If you’re fussed about hanging up all your clothes in the wardrobe, better bring a few extra hangers as they are not in abundance. Mattresses are pretty basic, the sheets are a polyester and cotton blend with the polyesters outnumbering the cottons at least 90 to 10. Pillows are allocated one per person, so bad luck if you don’t like your pillow. (At least if you are a couple booking a two bedroom apartment, you will get a choice!) Blankets were non-existent in our apartment, but you can ask for them, and you do get top and bottom sheets plus a duvet (Dooner). The bedrooms are all individually air conditioned which is good because the living, eating and kitchen areas are not.

These apartments are cleaned once a week so unless you are staying more than a week, your tea towel (if you’re lucky enough to get one), bath towels, bed linen etc will not be washed unless you do it yourself There is a combination washing machine/dryer in every unit. The instructions are in French and even with my wife’s reasonable command of the language, they may as well have been written in hieroglyphics. When we did manage to decipher them, the washing then drying cycle took over 2 hours.

The location of the Casa del Sole is perfect. As previously mentioned it is between two bays with beaches and is immediately above a wide variety of Restaurants and Bars and a short walk to a hamburger chain called ‘Quick’ which is the ‘McDonalds’ of Europe. Bear in mind though this location comes with a price and that is that you are paying top tourist dollar to eat and drink here.

If you’re reading this review, I’m guessing you’re looking at renting a self contained apartment so you can save some money? Well this is where I can help you.

Firstly, the return trip from the airport to the Casa del Sole by bus is approximately $135.00 AUS for two people. To avoid paying this, we pre book the smallest car available from Europcar at Noumea’s international airport for seven days and it costs under $300.00AUS ie only $165.00AUS more than the bus fare. If you’re travelling as a family with four or more, it may work out cheaper to hire a car than catch the bus. You see so much more when you have a car and the convenience factor is immeasurable. Included in your room rate at the Casa del Sole is undercover secure parking so why not take advantage of it? Also, my wife tells me being a passenger in a car driven on the opposite side of the road to usual is akin to participating in an extreme sport, especially when we enter a round-about in the completely opposite direction to what we are used to. Your kids will love it!!

As others have said there is a ‘Casino’ brand super market at Port Pleasant about a 15 minute walk (or 4 minute drive) from the Casa Del Sole but it is expensive. If you don’t have a car, do you really want to be carrying bags of groceries for 2 kilometres or waiting for a bus for 30 mins in the heat? I think not. Hiring a car is a no brainer!! The Casa Del Sole is located in an area of Noumea which is similar to say Brighton in Melbourne, Double Bay in Sydney or Noosa Heads in Queensland. Pick the suburb where all the rich people live in your city and you’re staying in the same suburb, but in Noumea. So everything is more expensive than elsewhere in New Caledonia.

Assuming you have taken my advice and hired a car, you can take a 15 min scenic drive to the same ‘Casino brand’ super market (but it is called ‘Le Geante Supermarche’, for reasons that will become immediately obvious when you get inside) which is located in a suburb called Saint Marie, the prices are considerably less than the one at Port Pleasant and it is has a far greater selection of goods. Everything from wide screen TVs to the biggest selection of cheese we have ever seen (even bigger than in Paris). Because it is out of the tourist area, it is quite reasonably priced. At the time of writing, the south pacific franc equalled 95 cents Australian. The south pacific franc is permanently linked to the Euro at approx 119.33 francs per euro. So whenever the Euro moves in relation to your currency, spending power in Noumea will rise or fall accordingly. We stayed in the 1st week of October 12 and found the grocery prices roughly similar to what we pay in Australia, with the exception of meat as New Caledonia imports almost all of its meat, from New Zealand and to a lesser extent, Australia. Most importantly, alcohol is cheaper in the Geante supermarket at Saint Marie, than we pay in Dan Murphy’s or 1st Choice liquor stores in Australia, so I was a happy camper. It is worth noting that the sale of alcohol in supermarkets and shops is prohibited from Midday on Friday to 9.00 am Monday morning. The only place you can buy alcohol during that time is at Bars and Restaurants and they will charge approximately 400% more than the super market price. So if you’re arriving on a weekend, better bring some duty free with you.

Internet is available in each apartment for a fee and is far cheaper by the week than the hour or the day. It is fast enough to use for email, including reasonably sized attachments and Face book. Skype voice calls start to stretch the friendship and you can absolutely forget about any kind of video call. For the Tech heads the speed is 0.9 – 1 Mbps compared to our 12-13Mbps at home.

A couple of final things. The Casa del Sole is a 2-3 star cheap and cheerful property. If you are looking for things such as room service, a concierge, valet parking, daily house-keeping, stay somewhere else. But rest assured, you will be paying considerably more than if you stayed at the Case Del Sole. We booked on Wotif but have since discovered the Casa Del Sole’s direct website appears to be even cheaper. Do your due diligence research but check out www.casadelsole.nc before you book on any other website. As for hiring a car, there may be cheaper car hire firms in Noumea but we have found www.mencar.nc/en to be always reliable and cheaper than many others.

This was our 4th stay at the Casa Del Sole over a period of 6 years so we believe we are in a position to write a reasonably accurate appraisal of this property. Prior to that we had travelled no less than 10 times to Noumea over the last 20 years and always stayed in Club Med which unfortunately closed in December 2001. Over the recent years and particularly this visit, we have noticed an increase in the use of English by the locals in Noumea (when our French failed us). Whilst a bit of French would be very handy, it is now no longer a prerequisite for travelling to New Caledonia. Notwithstanding this, there was not one English speaking TV channel available on the Flat screen TV in our apartment. (I never knew Russell Crowe spoke such fluent French in the movie Robin Hood!!) On previous visits, there had always been two English channels broadcast out of Perth in Western Australia so we are not too sure what has happened. The English channel programs were very old but at least the News was current. We suggest taking your laptop with you. There are two HDMI inputs and two USB inputs on the TV in the apartment so with your laptop connected you can watch whatever DVD’s you care to bring or whatever media you have saved to a USB stick.

So you’ve got your apartment details sorted, details of where to hire your car and you know where the best grocery shopping is and how the exchange rate is calculated. So if you want a reasonably priced, no frills holiday....As someone famous once said...Just do it!

Room Tip: Book a 2 bedroom apartment on the Baie des Citrons side of the building on the highest floor possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank IkenTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Three of us stayed in a one bedroom apartment and found it clean and spacious. We just loved the outlook and the area. New Caledonia is not cheap but I thought the apartment was good value for money. We stayed one night (Saturday) before going to Mare and requested the same room for another three nights on our return. Yes there was noise but very muted once the door tio the balcony was closed. The afternoons were windy but, hey, you get weather everywhere.
Just so you know what to expect - this is not SE Asia. Just about everything is expensive. And it really helps if you can speak French - we couldn't but we managed with a lot of good will from the locals. And you can drink the water, it's clean, the food is familiar, no one harasses you to buy anything, plus, if you are a smoker, you can smoke just about anywhere! Can't wait to get back to the Casa Del Sole next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Huge two bedroom apartments which if you are not on floor 16 resonate like a bass drum from the guests above. Use and flushing of toilets above at all hours is not the melody of waves crashing on the shore. An added extra for guests on the sunny side is a disco at full blast at 3.30am. Stay on the cold side and enjoy the wonderful sea views. Things to take....plenty of anti cockroach spray, tea towels,face cloths,pegs, and strong rope to stop being blown off the magnificent balconies complete with sun beds. We were there 15 days and experienced two mornings without wind. Mornings only as y lunchtime it was a SE gale again. The reception staff are just wonderful and did all they could to make our stay comfortable. For a view and location it's very good. Overpriced.

Room Tip: Get suite 1603
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeeBee1TePuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noumea hotels
0.6 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
713 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
1 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sole

Address: 10 Route de L Aquarium | Baie des citrons, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Price Range: $126 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa del Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appartement Une Chambre De 62 M2, Deux Chambres De 93m2,terrasse Spacieuse Avec Vue Sur Mer,appartement Équipé (four,micro Onde,plaque Électrique,vaisselle,lave Linge),boutique D'alimentation,résidence Sécurisée, Wc Japonais Dans Certains Appartements, Cafétéria, Coffre Fort Dans Les Appartements, Appartement Rénové Avec Sol En Carrelage Ou Parquet Ou Moquette,salle De Bain En Granit,écran Tv Plat, A Proximité De Toute Commodité, Vue Sur Mer, Possibilité De Service Personnalisé ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sole Noumea
Casa Del Sole Hotel Noumea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing