We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Grand Terre
from $123.28
More Info
from $7.11
More Info
Duck Island
10 Reviews
from $26.99
More Info
from $46.20
More Info
Reviews (1,690)
Filter reviews
1,690 results
Traveler rating
1,089
452
110
31
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,089
452
110
31
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass bottom boat buffet lunch sea snakes day trip light house fish red wine worth the climb beautiful island coconut tree climbing traditional dancing boat ride money well spent plenty of food salad outer reef cultural show
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,690 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Mary D so exceeded our expectations. Every staff member worked so hard throughout the day to give guests a great experience. It is a long and busy day. The lunch was fantastic with a big range of seafood, meat and salad options - and then dessert. Musicians and dancers provided entertainment with lunch. A rum cocktail (with non alcoholic option) started the lunch with unlimited beer and wine. Before lunch was a demonstration of sarong tying, weaving, melanesian dancing etc. After lunch there was a demostration of coconut picking, cutting open etc. At the beginning of the day all guests were given a wristband and these corresponded to a time for the glass bottom boat so that everyone got a seat. As an English speaker our time came with a staff member who described what we were seeing in English. The other 2
staff on board searched for turtles and we were
lucky enough to see 3 from the glass bottom boat. Snorkelling at
Amadee is great with many fish and turtles around. Paddleboarding is available at an extra cost - just 500 francs for 1 hour - a bargain by
New Caladonian standards so our 3
teens all took this
opportunity. This was an expensive day for the 5 of us but much cheaper than a similar day at the Barrier Reef in Australia a few years ago - and it was so much better - more to see when snorkelling, more activities when not snorkelling, a better lunch and staff who worked non stop to give us a great experience.

Thank 5fromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler66676880590, Guest Relations Manager at Amedee Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bonjour, hello,

All MaryD would like to join me to thank you so much for your amazing review on your daytrip. with us to Amedee. We hope to welcome you again soon for another wonderful day.
With our very best regards,
MaryD Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of the iconic sites in New Caledonia. Not easy to get to, but if you have the chance, it is quite pretty and worth a look and a photo.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler66676880590, Public Relations Manager at Amedee Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bonjour, Hello,

We thank you for your nice review on Amedee Island. We hope to welcome you again soon.
With our kind regards,
MaryD Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From pick up at our accomodation, transfer to the boat, arrival at the island, activities to return at the end of the day everything was smooth and delightful. The only downer we experienced was a very heavy shower that came while we were on the glass-bottom boat in the afternoon, we were soaked and it was a bit chilly being above water, a slight breeze and very wet, but that didn't last too long and couldn't have been avoided unless wearing a rain jacket. The snorkeling was enjoyable and we got to see a few turtles as well as fish and coral. The view from the lighthouse is worth the climb and the additional cover charge to enter it. Everything is close together, I would have liked to walk around the island, but by the time we had the chance it was too wet and it looked like the boat was already boarding for departure. We saw some snakes on land, but they really aren't interested in the people around them and would rather be left alone and ignored (which is advisable in any case). The lunch was plentiful with a lot to choose from and plenty to eat. Overall it was a fantastic day.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank rox633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler66676880590, Public Relations Manager at Amedee Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bonjour,

All MaryD Team would like to thank you so much for your 5 stars reviews on your daytrip with us. We are proud to bring so much happiness to our passengers. We hope to welcome you back soon.
With our best regards,
MaryD Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Highly recommend this day trip to this stunning island. Snorkelled with so many turtles and marine life. The beach and water pristine. Loved it

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank B8358VKchristinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler66676880590, Public Relations Manager at Amedee Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello,

We thank you very much for you very nice review on our stunning island. We hope to welcome you back soon.
With our very best regards,
MaryD Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you get a chance this day trip will be the best thing you do in Noumea. It far exceeded our expectations. This is one of those gorgeous tropical islands which your group have all to themselves for the day. I nearly chose not to go because I'm scared of snakes but they are the sweetest most shy snakes. You don't need to be worried. We snorkeled with turtles and the lighthouse is beautiful and the view from the top is exhilarating. The young staff are totally helpful and of course the lunch is as epic as everyone says.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank wenc883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler66676880590, Public Relations Manager at Amedee Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bonjour, hello,
All MaryD Team would like to thank you very much for your wonderful review on your daytript with us. Thank you so much for noticing our snakes are so shy they are not a problem on the island. We hope to welcome you again soon.
With our best regards
MaryD team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews