We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amedee Island was fantastic”

Amedee Lighthouse Island
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Amedee Lighthouse island is located 24km away from Noumea,in the largest lagoon in the world which has been classified by Unesco a world heritage site in 2009. Crystal clear waters with tropical fishes, turtles and corals, powdery white sand beaches await you in this protected marine reserve next to the main barrier reef of New Caledonia. Mary D Enterprises,a family owned and operated business,has experience in operating full day all-inclusive ( glass bottom boat trip, reef cruise, welcome punch, tropical buffet lunch with wine and coffee, island dancing show, free entrance to visit the lighthouse...Etc ) daytrips to Amedee Lighthouse island since 1981. We have a fleet of 3 high speed ferry boats : the Mary D Dolphin, the Mary D Princess and the Mary D Odyssey. Embark with us to the Amedee Lighthouse island where the weather is always nicer !
tasmania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amedee Island was fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Fantastic clear water and plenty of fish for snorkelling, and the lunch was great, lots of sea food, roast and sweets. We rate this trip as the best part of our stay in Noumea.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank birderforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    313
    81
    24
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

we spent a day trip going to the lighthouse and had a wonderful day out. The island is small but you can find a spot to sit on the beach and relax or go exploring. I went snorkelling and the water really is crystal clear and really warm. It's a great place to relax and take in the views.Not so sure about snorkelling with so many sea snakes but the guides assured us that they were relatively harmless - just take a deep breath and hope for the best was what my guide told me!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigV169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Awesome Lighthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I got an invitation of my roommate (Wellington NZ) family to visit them at Neumea and they took me to see the first attraction in this capital.
"Le Phare Amédée" is an iron lighthouse located on Amédée Island, 24 km away from Nouméa, New Caledonia, was constructed on this island by a mixed team of French soldiers and local workers, later to be a major naval architect both for France and for Japan. It was lit for the first time on 15 November 1865.
Try the glass bottom boat is very interesting if you coming with kids.
Also you can have a tasty lunch and amazing view.
A bien tot Nouvelle-Calédonie était très bon pour pratiquer mon Français rouillé.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank betour11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A spot of paridise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My most enjoyed day in New Caledonia. Full package through MaryD.

Perfect location, crystal clear waters and delicious lunch. Lot's of photo opportunities and time to just sit back and enjoy the sun and sea.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJHandmade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We liked everything. The relaxed crew, the good food offered, good wine also. The boat ride and the activities whilst there. The glass bottom boat was very good, although the commentary was only in French.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEC306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amedee Lighthouse Island also viewed

 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Ile Des Pins, New Caledonia
 

Been to Amedee Lighthouse Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing