We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveler rating
484
483
173
67
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
484
483
173
67
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews le meridien japanese restaurant le fare new caledonia seafood buffet beach restaurant pool staff room service sheraton deva anse vata a garden view room kite surfers private beach superior room club sandwich beach front large pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our Room on Level 5 was superb, with views over the courtyard to the the pool, beach and ocean. The pool was meters from the door and it was adjacent to the beach. The restaurants were very good, the staff was very friendly and capable. We walked back from the Aquarium and a taxi ride to the CBD was only 10-12 minutes. The hotel was renovated three years ago so it was virtually new...

Room tip: ask for a room with views to the ocean
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Le Meridien Noumea, I must say, if is the best that Noumea offers, then why go? The Hotel is nice, the rooms are Ok, the Gym is small and the breakfast needs an over hall. The seafood Smorgasbord for $120.00 per head is terrible, it has the smallest oysters I have ever seen in a Restaurant, and who eats periwinkles? No Coconut Crabs, No Lobsters! What really surprised me with Le Meridian was the fantastic large thatched roof restaurant near the pool that faces the beach. Sounds great doesn't it! You would think that such a fantastic position and facility in a 5-star Hotel would have a great seafood & BBQ Menu, but all you could choose from was a Hamburger, Fish & Chips and Caesar Salad. Very disappointing. The main town is dirty and the back streets do not feel safe with dozens of local unemployed youths hanging around the streets and parks drinking and smoking something strange. Near the Seafood Market & Pilot Station the water is full of rubbish and feces! The smell is to die for. I went to a huge Information Centre in the middle of the main park, only to find that no one spoke English? I asked a young boy about 16 if he knew where the History Museum was, he said no. I found out shortly afterwards that the Museum was just across the road. This upset me, because it shows that the local children are not receiving a proper education and not having excursions to teach them about their history. The expense of Noumea shows that it is only there for the wealthy French and Japanese, which is fine if you have the money. Noumea is not like Fiji or Vanuatu etc in cost, also it is not Tropical and has only got planted Coconut Trees by man. I had a full day at the Light House Island which was very nice, good food and dancing by locals. I could not get to the Isle of Pines as every day was booked out, but it seems to be the highlight of Noumea. Noumea is full of Casinos and night clubs. The cheapest Restaurant I could find was fun, you had to cook your own meal on a Hot BBQ Plate. It cost $360.00 for 4 main meals, 1 bottle of wine, 1 beer & 1 glass of champagne. I would not recommend Noumea, but if you can get to the Isle of Pine it may be worth it. But really! There is no reason whatsoever to visit Noumea!

Room tip: Rooms facing the Pool are best, some have also got views of the Ocean.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank spunky2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI_New_Caledonia, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2019

Dear spunky2018, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience with us at le Méridien Nouméa. We are sincerely sorry that your stay didn't fit your expectations. There are yet wonderful places to discover such as Duck Island, a five-minute boat ride from the hotel, Maitre island, Signal island, the iconic Tjibaou cultural center or the botanical park to name just a few. Some amazing experiences are quickly fully booked at certain times of the year and require prior booking indeed, the Iles of Pines is one of them. We hope that you will have the opportunity to come back and visit it, it will probably give a better vision of our beautiful island. Regarding our restaurants and the quality of the service, be sure your comment has been brought to the attention of the different services. We hope to welcome you again in the future and show you we can do much better. Le Méridien Nouméa team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here and after 2 nights we contemplated moving hotel or even flying home to NZ earlier. The hotel is not a 5 star but charging 5 star rates. Hallway and our room smelt very musty and there was mould in our bathroom.. Not acceptable! Our small patio was very basic and also mouldy. Room service food & food from the beach side restaurant was not good at all. Drinks are insanely expensive $43 NZD for a glass of wine! Parts of the hotel are dated, such as the revolving door and fountain out the front. Casino staff are rude. Toilets at beach bar are disgusting for a 5 star hotel? We were sharing our coffee cups with little ants.. Yuck! Obviously self rated 5 star! No one showed us to our room which is just poor lazy service. 5 star hotels in South East Asia and South America etc show you to your room and show you how to operate everything. We just got given a key card & and told to go that way! Concierge was no where to be seen when we wanted advice. 800 franc deliver fee for each room service delivery! Really?? I wanted a bucket of ice and went to the bar and got a paper cup with 4 ice cubes. I was told I had to get the ice delivered.. For 800 francs! Probably would have been charged for the ice too! Perhaps an ice machine for quests to fill there own would be better.. Tahiti have ice machines & it is a much better system. There are only two good comments I will make & that was the bell boy/luggage man (very friendly) who put our bags in our room before we got there after waiting for 2 hours because they would not let us check in until 3 which seemed weird because the hotel did not seem anywhere near full the day we arrived. Hot water in shower was good but the mould above the bath was not. Nouméa is an average place in general, Rarotonga, Samoa and Tahiti have better beaches and are a lot more affordable. I will not return to New Caledonia nor recommend it sorry to say.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mumbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI_New_Caledonia, Responsable relations publiques at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mumbear,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. First of all, we are really sorry that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. What you describe is not the level of service we strive to achieve. We are continuously trying to improve our service, so be sure that your feedback have been brought to the attention of the different services for improvement and more trainings.
Despite of this, if you change your mind and decide to come back to New Caledonia one day, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again and show you that we can do much better.
Le Méridien Nouméa team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Beautiful view, nice people, good internet. They have a nice beach, rare in many Pacific islands. Snorkel gear, kayaks, etc. are free for guests. Nice bathroom but a sliding door with space around it so the sound goes everywhere and you have no privacy. The restaurants have nice food but very slow service. The front desk people were very capable. They had a nice bar area and exceptional entertainment. We saw a flamenco guitar group and they were phenomenal musicians.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieJewels4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI_New_Caledonia, Responsable relations publiques at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi JulieJewels4444, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the online community. We are really pleased that you appreciated your stay with us at le Méridien Nouméa. We hope to welcome you again soon. Le Méridien Nouméa team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Was expecting luxury and service and got it.
I chose a smaller room with garden view and balcony and was pleasantly surprised at the large size, bath tub and separate shower. HUGE bed, and great balcony with a table and a wee couch to relax on. Perfect! Very clean too.
But it rained & rained & rained & rained some more - which of course the hotel can’t do a thing about! I was sooooo looking forward to lounging by the pool doing nothing much but instead did this at the bar near the lobby (poor staff were swamped with customers & running like crazy) but service was good (we gave them some patience & time as clearly busy)
Had dinner one night at the seafood buffet - expensive but the local prawns were worth it! Wait staff amazing (busy still but all with smiles) and the manager was brilliant! Young man who was charming but also worked and helped his staff clear tables because they were busy!
He spoke to many customers and did his job well!
From entering the hotel with concierge (Victor, an asset) to check in staff and a lovely glass of chilled water, to all restaurant staff - ALL were amazing!
The little art gallery and owner Eric, amazing! Spent more than I was going to but he was interesting to talk to, insightful and had amazing pieces in his store. Go and have a look and buy some local pieces.
I’d love to come back here for the ‘sun’ (which we didn’t really have this holiday) and would stay here. This is not a budget holiday destination New Caledonia... expensive!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank SassMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI_New_Caledonia, Responsable relations publiques at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Dear SassMelbourse, many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the online community. We are truly delighted that you appreciated your stay with us at le Méridien Nouméa. We hope to welcome you again soon. Le Méridien Nouméa team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews