We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location !!!”
Review of Le Meridien Noumea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Noumea
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location !!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This Hotel although needing some updating is quite good. Its not quite to the standard of other 5 star hotels, I would put it more in the 4 star category.The staff are wonderfull and very helpful. The rooms spacious and clean with all amenities. The location is top class close to bars, restaurants, clubs, shopping facilities. My only dissapointment was the service around the pool area it was almost non existant have to ask the staff to clear empty glasses and plates.
The meals & drinks are quite pricy however you are on holidays !!!

Over all this gets the thumbs up from me...

We found getting a cab difficult make sure you get the hotel, restaurant etc to book them.You will have no hope of hailing one from the streetr

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tino T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Tino T,
We would like to thank you for this sincere feedback. It is very rewarding for us to know that you spent great holidays at Le Méridien Nouméa and found the staff very helpful, liked the location and the rooms! We are sorry to leanr that the service around the pool did not match your expectations and will take necessary actions to improve that.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    368
    143
    49
    26
See reviews for
188
456
50
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel although a little out dated was great. I would say its more 4 star when comparing to the other 5 star hotels of the world. The location is amazing, close to restaurants, bars & clubs. The staff are very friendly and willing to help. The rooms were clean and well appointed, the restaurant near the pool served generous meals and with lots of option on the menu. The drinks and meals are a bit pricy however you are on holidays !!! The confernce facilities were also great.The only critisisum would be the level of service around the pool area was sub standard.. having our empty glasses and meals left on the side pool tables, having to ask to get them removed. Overall it gets my tick

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabba17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communicaiton manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Tabba17,
This is a lovely review, thank you very much for sharing with the online community! We are delighted to know that you spent a great time at Le Méridien Nouméa and liked its location, staff and food! We also noted your comment about pool service and will take appropriate actions to improve that.
Looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband took me to this resort for my 50th.We loved it! Yes it may be looking a bit tired but the staff were great, food nice and the pool/beach beautiful. I had requested a pool view room but didn't get one,didn't want to complain. We would highly recommend this hotel and will be back! Fellow Australians this is only 2 1/2 hours from Sydney!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Trace3339,
Thank you so much for sharing this fabulous feedback about your stay with us!! We would like to thank your husband too for taking you here! We hope that you will be back soon, we look forward to welcoming you again.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is probably the best hotel in Noumea. I would say it’s 5 stars compared to hotels in Europe, Australia… but for Asian standards can’t be more than 4 stars. I liked the décor, I wouldn’t say it’s outdated, rather it’s a very charming property with white shutters and nautical theme throughout. Pool is OK, we didn’t use it because of weather, I think the pool is open to local people, they were using it for exercise classes in the morning especially. We borrowed snorkling gear and towels from the pool for our trip to islands. Beach is not great, but it is the best in Noumea (mainland), you are better off going to the Duck Island, or any other island… if you going to Duck Island you are better off booking via hotel, a bit more expensive (CFP1500, instead of CFP1200) but the boat leaves in front the hotel instead of other side of Anse Vata, handy if you have a lot to carry.
Rooms are big enough, good storage,nice balconies, we had a Classic Garden View room on the 4th floor and the view was great, we could see garden and the sea as well. Rooms are well insulated, you can’t hear people next door, but on the weekend there was a noise from outside, not from the hotel but from the beach party or something. I didn’t mind a small TV with mainly French channels, I hope they don’t change that. There is a window with a white shutter between bathroom and bedroom which looked very sweet. Bathrooms toiletries should be improved, as well as other little things you could expect to find in the room, pens, note papers… that was all missing.
I asked reception for bathrobes and sleepers and they brought them straight away, not sure why we didn’t have them at start, could be the room type. Housekeeping was erratic, we were often without coffee, shampoos and one day without towels!
Luckily, the reception staff dealt with all our requests and complains, they were all great without exception, very helpful and patient. They help us with tours, taxis, hotel reservations. Staff in general were very polite and helpful, except for the lady working at the pool bar, she was very rude, I think other reviewers had a similar complain.
We had breakfast twice, it wasn’t worth is, horrible coffee, not much variety, I was expecting it to excel in the pastry department but they had sliced bread and Krispy Crème looking things. The breakfast restaurant (Le Sextant) looks like a conference room, nothing inviting about it, probably the worst space in the whole hotel. You are much better off eating breakfast in the cafes outside. last couple of days we got great baguettes, chesses, pastries and had breakfast on the balcony, though I don't like self catering this is definitely recommended when in Noumea!
We tried the French restaurant L'Hippocampe and it was good, very pleasant space, good service, food was also good but not exceptional. Prices were high, but not higher than any other better restaurant in Noumea.
La Fare restaurant by the beach, the one you see one the hotel brochure, is easily one of the best spots, if not the best, in Noumea, especially for watching sunset but it’s open only from 11.30-2.00! At night they open it for functions only. I don’t understand, like they really don’t want people to stay in the hotel at all, even the pool bar closes at 5pm! I have to say that is probably my biggest complain about the hotel, weddings and conferences are obviously their main focus but if there is nothing happening just open your best space to other guests. I never saw a hotel that doesn’t care to make business at all. We managed to have lunch there couple of times and the food was probably the beast we had in the hotel, which makes it even worse knowing it’s closed most of the time.
Hotel shop is good, again it’s open about two hours a day so you have to be lucky!
Hotel location is excellent, walking distance to restaurants and shops, either walk on the beach (during the day) and in the end up the stairs, you will be almost next to Bodega and Le Roof or go via main hotel exit and turn left next to Chateau Royale, that will also lead to main street and the bus stop – public transport is very good, get the timetable from the hotel. There are couple of small grocery stores on the side street where Le Lagon hotel is, we discovered that by coincidence during our stay, hotel staff didn’t know about that, instead on the first day we walked one hour to supermarket at Port Plassance, pleasant walk via Anse Vata and Baia des Citrones but still… there is also a nice bakery, one of many, in the main shopping complex at Anse Vata (where Benetton is). For sunset, Bodega bar is the best (since La Fare is closed), it’s walking distance to hotel, on the same boardwalk where Le Roof restaurant is.
In general, we were happy with our stay and would stay here again, I just hope they do something with the opening hours of La Fare!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetoeattravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Bonjour!
This is a very nice and complete review, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are delighted to know that you liked the hotel and its location as well as the helpful staff.
Regarding housekeeping, we have taken good note of your comments and will do our best to improve the service. You were right about bathrobes and slippers, they don't come with the classic room category, however we are glad to provide them to our guests upon request.
Regarding Le Faré, we are happy that you liked the exceptionnal setting and the food! It is not open at night indeed because privatised very often for banquets. Furthermore, at this period of the year the sun sets early and it gets cooler (it's all relative...) this is why it closes at 5pm. However in the summer we keep it open later.
We look forward to welcoming you again for your next stay in New Caledonia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We popped in for the show on Saturday which was being held in the lobby bar area. I had a glass of house red wine (a very mediocre Malbec) and couldn't believe they charge 22.00US for that. Truly unacceptable. Needless to say we finished our drinks and decided not to stay for dinner.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Evelyn R
We would like to thank you for your sincere feedback. We are very disappointed to learn that you did not like our Argentinian wine Terrazas Reserva, Malbec. This is not our housewine (a Bordeaux AOC, at 850XPF per glass) but the best wine of our "Wine of the world" menu, more expensive indeed. However all guests should receive a menu with price list to make a safe choice. We truly hope that this was the case when you visited us.
The only explaination can give regarding the quality of the wine is that the bottle was maybe corked. However we would have been more than happy to replace your glass should we have known that the wine was not meeting your expectations. It is unfortunately too late now, but we hope that you will give us the opportunity to let you try again this very good wine, please contact us before your next visit!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Gardens, pool, beach all just superb.
Hotel rooms in need of updating but cost wise very good value.
Breakfast buffet well worth the extra payment.
Restaurant food dissapointing.
Ideal for a short 5 day break.
Local buses made island exploration easy and fun.

Room Tip: Upgrade not really necessary as the garden is stunning, but I chose to go for superior ocean view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabtobe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Fabtobe50,
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to know that you thouroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We have well noted your comment about the food though and will take this into account for our next change of menu. We hope that during your next stay you will take the opportunity to try our gourmet restaurant l'Hippocampe rated 4 among 101 Noumea restaurants on Tripadvisor!
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Le Meridien has come in for a lot of flack on this site and all I can say is that our recent stay was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful; let me give a real example: The first night we arrived we settled into our room for an early night as we had a very early start to catch a 7.30 am flight out of Sydney. No sooner had my 11 year old daughter fallen asleep when all hell broke loose in the next room, a bunch of 20 year old Kiwi's (who else?) decided that their version of being on holiday was to make as much noise as possible. We gave it a little while (asking them politely to shut up - no good) and so I went down to reception and was immediately given a similar room up on the Executive floor. Their were no issues about whether it was more expensive (no extra charge) and it certainly made us feel that the staff cared about us. The front desk staff also asked us on numerous occasions during our stay if the room was OK.
Japanese restaurant was excellent as were the staff at the pool. We had a great time!
Alan and family

Room Tip: Lagoon view room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69Bigmac1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Bonjour Alan,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback about your stay at Le Méridien Nouméa. We are truly delighted that you and your family enjoyed it and spent an great time in New Caledonia.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
0.6 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.7 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
644 reviews
85.3 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
0.5 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#12 of 20 in Noumea
583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Noumea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Noumea

Property: Le Meridien Noumea
Address: Pointe Magnin, BP1915, Noumea, Grand Terre 98846, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Noumea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#4 Business Hotel in Noumea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Noumea 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Caledonia, a perfect blend of picturesque landscapes, French sophistication and Melanesian culture, where food, art and music accentuate your experience. Le Meridien Noumea captures the cosmopolitan, energetic spirit of New Caledonia’s capital with an unmatched lagoon front location, just ten minutes from the buzz of the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Noumea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Noumea Hotel Noumea
Noumea Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing