We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superbe!,”
Review of Le Meridien Noumea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Noumea
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superbe!,”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Some would say that the hotel is a little tired.... We would say it is charming... Most importantly, the service from reception staff exceptionally helpful-nothing was too much trouble. The evening buffet was excellent, tasty with great selection of wines-try the Sancere... Not too busy, great location and the spectacle of the kite surfers gives hours of pleasure, whilst waiting for the sunset. Rooms are great, plenty of storage, very comfortable by any standard... The haut cuisine restaurant is a local recommend!! My French is awful, the staff understand English well and the best staff English speakers have their radar tuned to deal with any problems... We love the bar staff, thoughtful, friendly and funny... Tops many of our hotel experiences and it's French too. Superb!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DarlinghurstFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Bonjour Darlinghurst Foodie,

Thank you for your sincere review about your stay and thank you for taking the time to share it.
We’re thrilled to know that our staff did their best to make your stay the most enjoyable.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Le Méridien Nouméa some time soon.
A bientôt,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    354
    138
    49
    25
See reviews for
179
443
48
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had a short 3 night stay at the Le Meridien in Noumea and was happy with the stay.

Room - We stayed in a Superior Ocean view room, the room size is fantastic and unable to fault, along with the king size bed which was comfortable. However only one pillow per side was a bit low, so try to get another pillow to help get a better night sleep if you don't want to sleep flat on the bed. I used the cushion on the bed to prop up the pillow and found that was good. For a 5 star hotel, the TV is a tad small, however if you come to Noumea, you aren't here to watch TV so wasn't a big issue. Rooms fitted with minibar which was handy, plenty of water in the fridge (at a price) and lots of luggage storage. Pictures on the wall and the carpet is probably a little dated. Balcony overlooking the ocean was great, spent plenty of time watching the kite surfers do their thing from the balcony.

Bathroom - Separate toilet was fantastic from the bathroom. Bathroom's are big which compared to travelling through Europe and the USA is a nice change. Again, a bit dated but the bathroom has been decorated with a nautical theme which is fitting. Bath is a fraction too small and had difficulties in keeping the water in due to the plug not providing a proper seal. The shower worked extremely well.

Food - Due to an early start on day of arrival, we had room service which was quite good and efficient. Was advised 35 minutes at time of ordering, but feel it was somewhat closer to an hour, again wasn't an issue for me, but could be for others. Breakfast in the Le Sextant restaurant was good variety and certainly after a big breakfast, lunch wasn't a huge issue. Went to have dinner at Le Sextant on last evening and was somewhat disappointed to see what was mainly the room service menu which led us to walk down the road into Anse Vata.

Overall - It was extremely refreshing to know that most of the staff here was able to converse in english. Whilst french was started out of courtesy, a change in english wasn't an issue for the locals. There are many families that stay here, but we didn't find that a problem.

The Le Meridien is billed as a 5-star and I imagine in it's day it certainly was. Perhaps a refresh of the rooms is in order to regain the 5-star atmosphere of the Le Meridien, however overall, well done to all the staff for making our stay great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dodgyvalve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Bonjour Dodgyvalve,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for sharing your comments with the online community.
We love to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our staff members as it is part of our commitment to provide excellent customer service.
We have taken good notes concerning an update of our furniture and wish to let you know that major improvements are planned in the near future.

We hope to welcome you again soon at Le Méridien Nouméa.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very nice, very helpful staff. Reception staff very good and very fast. The buffet breakfast had a big selection for breakfast - can get very busy in the restaurant in the mornings. I would recommend in getting a room rate that includes breakfast. Had wi-fi in the rooms. Rooms are a little tired.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiknakNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
This is a lovely review, thank you NiknakNZ for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We’re thrilled to know that our staff did their best to make your stay the most enjoyable.
However we have taken good notes of your comments regarding our rooms and wish to let you know that major improvements are planned in the near future.
Meanwhile, we’re truly delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and had such a wonderful stay and we certainly hope that we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
A bientôt,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was my second stay (this time arrived 18/11/12 and left 02/12/12) at The Meridien and in my opinion it is the best hotel experience in Noumea. I have travelled to Noumea frequently over many years and have stayed at most other major hotels in Noumea and I found the Meridien to be an outstanding property. The gardens are sumptuous, leading to the most splendid beach and as mentioned in my previous review the restaurants are all first class. The breakfast at the Sextant is extraordinary and the service is marvelous, Marie T and Sophia (who makes the greatest omelettes and pancakes) are standout employees, their dedication and commitment to their guests is simply astonishing. All the staff at the Meridien are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The check in was seamless and efficient. This time stayed in a "Chambre Superieure" with exceptional views of the lagoon, offering the most striking sunrises ascending from the serene waters of the sea and the obvious playground of the carefree dugongs frolicking and feeding on sea grasses near the shore in the early morning light. The room was large, spotlessly clean, well maintained and very quiet. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors with lagoon views are very quiet and the corner suites are very large, su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josiane36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Bonjour Josiane36,
This is a lovely review! Thank you for sharing your thoughts again about our hotel. Knowing that we matched our guests' expectations is our best reward!
We are delighted that our service and location made your stay outstanding. We are very proud to read that you wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Nouméa!
We hope to be welcoming you again to Le Meridien for your next trip to New Caledonia.
A bientôt,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Most of the people at the frount counter are quite good.There is an Auatralian (Micheal) who was quite good and was very helpful.The others had more of a problem with English.
The pool needs work, tiles are missing from the pool, and you can easily get cut.
One of the pool staff when asked to get a sun unbrella,he just pointed to them in the store room and we had to get them ourself.
I will think twice before coming again.
It has great Potential but in desperate need for major renovations

Room Tip: 6th floor has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe787_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your sincere review about your stay and thank you for taking the time to share it. This helps us to improve further our product and services and reach the high level of service we aim to achieve.
We are very happy to learn that you liked your stay at our hotel and enjoyed its perfect location. However we are sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet some of your expectations. We have taken good notes of your comments about the swimming pool and we would like to let you know that the missing tiles are about to be replaced.
Any attempt to justify our shortfalls regarding the pool staff service we feel would be inappropriate therefore, please accept our most sincere apologies. You had expected to spend a relaxing stay and this situation obviously prevented you for doing so.
We hope however that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future. You might want to try Le Méridien Ile des Pins too!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is true the hotel is a bit tired but it is clean and comfortable in a very nice location. A makeover of the property would make it amazing. Staff very friendly and helpful. A decent hotel directory in your room would have been helpful, strangely information requires a search or enquiry. I have not stayed in a quality hotel that did not have a decent directory in the room so I was fascinated as to why none was provided. I used the spa for a couple of massages and these were excellent provided by very friendly staff. The little gym could use some new equipment but was, like the property generally, clean and functioning. There are less Fawlty Towers moments in Noumea than we have had on many Fiji holidays. I would return. Food and room service beats Fiji hands down but you pay more for a holiday here. A pool view room in fact looked preferable to the ocean view room we had.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigmLittleOrgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
This is a lovely review, thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. Knowing that we matched our guests' expectations is our best reward.
We have taken good notes of your remark concerning the lack of information.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Le Méridien Nouméa some time soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I must admit some trepidation upon reading a lot of the reviews after booking this hotel but on the whole i must say that it was as good as it gets in the pacific islands, it is not five star from an australian or european viewpoint but from the competition in Noumea, Fiji, Vanuatu and others in the pacific it is certainly closer to five star than any other resort i have stayed in on the islands.

We stayed in a suite at the end of one wing with a great view of the ocean and though the decor was not modern it was acceptable and in pretty good order and everything except for the wireless internet and the airconditioning worked well (wireless coverage is patchy and random in the hotel and we could not get the temperature down to an acceptable temperature and sometimes it was cooler outside than in the room).

Service from the local staff ranged from fantastic to complete indifference but that is the lottery that you come to expect in the pacific, we had the hotel book airport transfers for us and it was a complete disaster as there was no one to meet us at 1am in the morning at the airport.

The hippocape restaurant was excellant, the less said about the sextant the better.

Tried several times to get a booking for a massage at the spa but they were booked solid more staff needed i think.

The policy of allowing locals to use the pool at weekends is a bit of a disaster from a guests point of view as it is impossible to get a deckchair after 11am.

Overall will return to this hotel if i come back to noumea, my tips would be to book a room at the western end of either wing well away from the lobby and function areas, the suites were in my opinion good value compared to the ordinary rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the western end of either wing well away from the lobby and the function rooms, su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Bonjour Anthony T,
We are very pleased to read you had a great time at Le Méridien Nouméa and we would like to thank your for sharing your experience. This helps us to improve further our product and services and reach the high level of service we aim to achieve.
However we are sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet some of your expectations and wish to let you know that major improvements are planned in the near future.
We've taken good notes of your comments regarding the restaurants and we are very disappointed to know that you did not appreciate the Sextant. We hope that you took the opportunity to tell our restaurant manager so he could suggest an alternative.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again soon in our little piece of France in the Pacific.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
0.6 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.7 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
85.3 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
0.5 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#12 of 20 in Noumea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Noumea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Noumea

Property: Le Meridien Noumea
Address: Pointe Magnin, Noumea, Grand Terre 98846, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#3 Luxury Hotel in Noumea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
#4 Business Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Noumea 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Caledonia, a perfect blend of picturesque landscapes, French sophistication and Melanesian culture, where food, art and music accentuate your experience. Le Meridien Noumea captures the cosmopolitan, energetic spirit of New Caledonia’s capital with an unmatched lagoon front location, just ten minutes from the buzz of the city centre. Le Méridien Nouméa is excited to share with you that it will undergo a complete refurbishment and rejuvenation programme starting from 20 January 2014. Unfortunately, noise disturbance may occur during working hours (Monday to Friday from 8:00 am to 12:00am and 1:00 pm to 5:00pm) however, evenings and week-ends will not be affected.Additionally, Le Faré beachfront restaurant will be closed from 01st June to 30 September 2014 and the swimming pool from 15 July to 15 September 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Noumea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Noumea Hotel Noumea
Noumea Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing