We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lots of potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, lots of potential”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family of four adults recently stayed at Le Meridien Noumea for seven nights. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The resort is in a great location on Anse Vata beach and close to the Promenade Pierre Vernier, which is especially beautiful at sunset. The hotel pool was great and the rooms were well-maintained and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is also excellent, with a wide range of options available. All hotel staff were very friendly and polite.

However, the resort did not meet the standard one would expect at a five-star resort. The activities and tours available in Noumea and even the services available at the resort were very poorly advertised (there was no guest services directory in either of our rooms). For example, we only discovered the existence of a health and fitness centre and the option of free bike hire by talking to other guests. Similarly, visits to the Isle of Pines and to the Amedee Lighthouse are only offered on certain days and book out well in advance but hotel staff were not very forthcoming with this sort of information. A real problem was the lack of English speaking staff: this made it extremely difficult to find out about activities and services.

There are almost no wet weather activities on offer at the resort- a cyclone was passing New Caledonia towards the end of our stay and we were more or less confined to the resort. There are massages available at the spa but this needs to be better promoted and more spa treatments ought to be offered. Similarly, the gym is too small for the number of guests at the resort, with only one or at most two of each machine. The televisions in the room are extremely old, with very few English channels and no movie-on-demand services. The in room dining service was good although like most of Noumea, there were very few vegetarian options.

With certain improvements, Le Meridien could be truly exceptional!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank an590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Bonjour An590,
Thank you very much for your loyalty and for sharing your comments with the online community. We’re thrilled to know that our staff did their best to make your stay the most enjoyable.
However we have taken good notes of your various comments regarding the few details to improve and will take necessary actions promptly.
We hope to be welcoming you again to Le Meridien for your next trip to New Caledonia.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    372
    145
    49
    27
See reviews for
192
460
50
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

When I return to Noumea, I will stay the Le Meridian again but it is not a 5 star hotel. At best, I would give it 3.5 to 4 stars. I did not see anything nicer on the island so this is as good as it gets which is pretty good.

We paid about $500 for our Superior Ocean View room which included a nice breakfast buffet. The mattress was very comfortable. The room was nice and clean. Good bathroom with a large tub.

The pool near the ocean was a very nice place to spend the day.
Pool waiter service was okay. It was quicker to go directly to the bar.

I enjoyed watching the kite boarders and wind surfers from the beach/pool and deck of our room.

You are not trapped at the hotel for food and drink. There are many restaurants nearby that you can get to by walking along the beach. It is only a 5-10 minute walk.

My complaints:
For a fee, the pool is open to outside guests and their kids. One day the hotel did put up a lobby notice that indicated the pool was full and was closed to non-guests. This day the pool was quite busy/full. During busy times, all the beach umbrellas were taken. Getting 2 beach chairs organised was a self-service effort. For $500, I am not expecting to have to find and move beach chairs. They need to be offerring some poolside service. During the week days, the pool was very quiet and uncrowded. As I am paying a lot per night, I expect some exclusitivity but I am really sharing it with others that are paying much less.

The refrigerator in the room was not very cold despite adjusting the temperature control.

No bellhop service. I had to carry our bags from the Arc-en-Ciel bus to check in and then up to the 5th floor.

I called room service for a bucket of ice. The ice never arrived.

On our last night, there was a steady dripping of water coming down from the bathroom ceiling. We called the Operator to report it. After 20 minutes later and no one knockoing on our door, I visited the front desk to tell them about it. After about 45 minutes, the water stopped so we mopped up the water in the bathroom. No one ever came by our room to check on the leak or offer to clean up the water in the bathroom.

Positives:
The Japanese restaurant was excellent. Hotel is in a good overall location. Clean room with nice bathroom and tub. Very good pool that is close to the sea. Breakfast buffet was pretty nice.

Summary:
This is a nice 3 1/2 star hotel but do not expect much service. Do not expect room service to show up unless you've ordered food that you will need to sign for.

Room Tip: Join Starwood and get a free room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUTravellerBalmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Feedback from our guests is very valuable to us, and all comments both good and bad are taken very seriously to help us improve our product and services. That is why we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are very happy to learn that you liked your stay at our hotel and enjoyed its perfect location. The Japanese restaurant is known as the best Japanese food in town, no doubt you liked it!
However we feel sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet some of your expectations. We've taken good notes of your comments regarding the pool area during weekends and the service. At your arrival, our bellman was busy on a different floor and that’s why we weren’t able to deliver your bags in your room, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. Please accept our apologies concerning the leak in your bathroom; we must have intervened to fix that as soon as we were notified.
Do not hesitate to come back, you might want to try Le Méridien Ile des Pins too! We would be delighted to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The service is good, friendly staff and that's about it for this place. The hotel hosts local wedding parties with horrible, loud music till 3 am. Several rooms complained and the manager did nothing. Absolutely nothing. So if you expect to get a nice and relaxing sleep on all nights stay clear.

The hotel itself is old and a bit rusty

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travejnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Travejnk,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment about your recent stay with us. We are extremely sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations.
It was disappointing to learn that despite our efforts to control the sound level of the music produced by this banquet function, we were unable to allow you to get a good night’s sleep. Any attempt to justify our shortfalls regarding matter we feel would be inappropriate therefore, please accept our most sincere apologies. You had expected to spend a relaxing evening and this situation obviously prevented you for doing so.
We have also noted your comments about the hotel’s general condition and we agree that our facilities and our décor could use some updating. We hope to be able to share an update with our customers on that front very soon.
We truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming welcome you again in the not too distant future and show you that we can achieve a much better level of satisfaction.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Returned from NC, where we stayed at the Le Meridien for 10 nights, I was a bit concerned from some of the reviews I had read about the need for renovation, however, our room was excellent! We were on the 5th floor and had a great view of the beach and pool area. We didn't go for the Buffet Dinner as we thought it was expensive. However, we both agreed that the best restaurant we visited was the Hippocampe, we went there a few times. Wasn't so impressed though in the Japanese Restaurant at the Le Meridien. Pool area is very nice, and we were basically the only one's there during the week. Weekends the locals take over, I know some parents watch the children like a hawk when they are in the water, but last weekend was bad, as children where left on their own. Once there was 8 3-4 year old in the small pool with out an adult near them. As a past life saver. I could not help but watch on. Something I think the hotel need to look into.
Baie des Citrons is a great place to go for dinner, it is about a 35 min walk from the hotel, or just under 1,000F for a taxi, if they take the correct way! I wouldn't say that prices are expensive, they compare to Australia price, so if you pay $30+ for a main coarse here you pay the same there.
Great holiday great place and nice people. Will be going back!

Room Tip: Organise your transfer to the hotel before you travel as I would think it is expensive in a taxi, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Bonjour Mark359,
This is a lovely review, thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. Knowing that we matched our guests' expectations is our best reward, we are at least as happy as you! We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our gourmet experience at the restaurant L’Hippocampe.
However we have taken good notes of your comments regarding the pool area during weekends.
Do not hesitate to come back, you might want to try Le Méridien Ile des Pins too! We would be delighted to welcoming you again.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

It was so nice to be welcome by a very friendly and efficient front desk staff certainly a welcome change from Le Meridien isle of Pines. When we came back to our room late after a delicious seafood buffet we discovered that our TV was not working in less than 5 minutes somebody was there thrying to fix it. Great live music when we were eating in the restaurant. The location is beautiful and all the staff was very friendly. If I return to Noumea I certainly would be happy to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your loyalty and for sharing your comments with the online community.
We love to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you appreciated our staff members as it is part of our commitment to provide excellent customer service.
We hope to welcome you again soon at Le Méridien Nouméa.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

we have just returned from four days at the hotel. We travelled to NC as a group to play soccer. The food and service was impressive and the location right on the beach with a large pool was ideal. The rooms were comfortable and of good size. The tv was old fashioned but to be honest we didn't have time to watch anything. Noumea is buzzing and beautiful and I would be keen to return on holiday to exprience more. We were on an all inclusive package for the group and it was amazing value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janesmithhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Bonjour Room777,
We are delighted to read you had a fantastic experience here at Le Meridien Noumea. Thank you very much for taking the time to share it. We’re thrilled to know that our staff did their best to make your stay the most enjoyable. We hope to be welcoming you again to Le Meridien for your next trip to New Caledonia.
A bientôt,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great atmosphere at this hotel, the food is amazing, the pool is awesome...the staff are very friendly and want you to have a pleasant stay. Best stay! We book for one night but then extended to 2 nights, we loved it so much. Lunch at Shogun Japanese restaurant was superb, very cheap and beautiful food. The next day we had lunch at the fare and again all was perfect. This place rocks! Definitely going back there again soon

Room Tip: Higher levels...amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Bonjour Katherine Z,
Thank you very much for posting such a glowing review of Le Meridien Noumea on Trip Advisor. We’re truly delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and had such a wonderful stay and we certainly hope that we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Oh, and please continue spreading the word !
A bientôt,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
0.6 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.7 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
650 reviews
85.3 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
0.5 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa
Address: Pointe Magnin, BP1915, Noumea, Grand Terre 98846, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Noumea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#4 Business Hotel in Noumea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Caledonia, a perfect blend of picturesque landscapes, French sophistication and Melanesian culture, where food, art and music accentuate your experience. Le Méridien Noumea Resort & Spa captures the cosmopolitan, energetic spirit of New Caledonia’s capital with an unmatched lagoon front location, just ten minutes from the buzz of the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Noumea Hotel Noumea
Noumea Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing