We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Noumea”
Review of Le Meridien Noumea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Noumea
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Noumea”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Le Meridien does itself no favours by having five stars proudly displayed at the main entrance. On Starwood terms it is category 4 - a superior hotel/resorts in a choice locations - and that is exactly what it is. If you are expecting a 5 star resort you will be disappointed - there is no concierge, the internal shop is often shut (and staff don't have access), rooms are a bit tired etc. But if you are after a superior hotel right on the beach then you will not be disappointed.
It is walking or cycling (bikes are free to hire) from Anse Vada which has a range of (mostly average) restaurants, or a drive or cycle from Baie des Citrons which has a bit more going on. Noumea itself is definitely a drive.
The pool area and beach is nice (if shallow at high tide), breakfast is a little better than average.
I wouldn't bother staying in Anse Vada or elsewhere in Nouema as the hotels there all seemed to be away from the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boy4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Communication Manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear boy4life,
We are very please to read you had a great time at Le Méridien Nouméa and we would like to thank your for sharing your experience.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our great beach location and that you wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Nouméa!
We are also sorry to learn that our hotel didn’t completely match your expectations and wish to let you know that major improvements are planned regarding rooms and common areas.
We truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you and your family again in the future.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    368
    143
    49
    26
See reviews for
188
457
50
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really nice pool and beach but thats it. Rooms were tidy and clean but really tired and in need of an update. Comfy bed and fantastic view. The smell however throughout the complex was of mould as if flooding had accured. Some of the room s had a sewerage smell. The food at the restaurants at Le Meridien was very poor and one night inedible.
Reccommend a trip to the aquarium

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Communication Manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Bonjour!
Thanks Kathryn O for your review, it is very valuable to us to know the feeling of our guests after their stay in our hotel.
We’ve taken good notes of your comments regarding the restaurants and we are very disappointed to know that you did not appreciate the food. We hope that you took the opportunity to tell our restaurant manager so he could suggest an alternative. We are also very concerned about your feedback concerning the rooms and hope to be able to remedy to that very soon.
However we hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here one week ago with a New Caledonian family. I was on a home stay visit with school and on the weekend we stayed here for one night. The room was lovely, spacious, clean and had everything we needed and a great view of the ocean. The buffet breakfast was big and yum and did us very well for the morning.
The pool is amazing and pretty big. It is right beside the beach so the view is breath taking. The ocean water is so blue and the sand is white. It was truly paradise. I would love to stay there forever and swim in that amazing water.
The staff spoke well english and of course french and were very helpful.
I overall feel in love with this resort on my short stay and want to bring my family back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Communication Manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Bonjour Emily R,
We would like to thank you for this very sincere comment; the team is delighted to know that you loved your stay with us!
We look forward to welcoming you soon with your family in our little piece of France in the Pacific.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Resort was good but I think the carpets had been cleaned on my floor recently so everything smelled like wet dog. The decor in the rooms is very tired and a bit shabby. Outside the rooms the place seems better. The pool and beach facilities are lovely and the staff attentive and friendly. The restaurant is really lovely. Breakfast buffet is not great - the hot food in particular is not hot and a bit average. Pillows are dreadful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Communication Manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Bonjour Annalie2,
It’s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your time with us! Please be assured that we also take your comments concerning the rooms and buffet breakfast very seriously and will implement necessary actions to improve them.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again some time soon.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Forget great fresh croissants for breakfast. They don't exist here. Breakfast is an, at best, dissappointing experience. The first morning, I thought I had found every hoteliers dream, a staff-free breakfast. Coffee machines were available, but no staff. The smiling cook that produced fresh cooked eggs soon appeared, and eventually a few disinterested staff. This island abounds in great fresh tropical fruit, but none was in evidence here. Just tired pastries and second rate jams. Aside from the eggs, the cooked breakfast was to be avoided.

The experience in the 5 star restaurant , l'hippocampe, was little better. Slow service and mediocre food.and this place can be beaten hands down outside - on food, service and price.

The highlight was the Japanese restaurant where service, food and value could be found. The bar behind the reception area was staffed by friendly, efficient staff.

The resort property is first class, well maintained and nicely laid out, aside from the very close proximity of the neighbouring b grade hotel to the swimming pool area. However the rooms were tired and soon due for a total re-furb.

We hired a car during our stay and if you can run to that expenses, it is worthwhile. If only to go out and explore the restaurants that line the road back to Noumea (le roof (nearby and )marmite were our favourites) . The hotel offers free loans of bicycles and the (downhill) run turning right out of the hotel is a delight. The return less so (!) but not overly taxing.

Front desk staff were hugely variable, ranging from brilliantly helpful (thank you Michael) to incompetents who could not provide the proper passwords for the somewhat intermittent wifi.

The pool was good with a bar and cafe, gym mediocre with second rate equipment and the beach pretty but not great for swimming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CondorSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing&Communication Manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear CondorSydney,
Feedback from our guests is very valuable to us, and all comments both good and bad are taken very seriously to help us improve our product and services. That is why we would like to thank for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are glad that you liked the property, as we permanently do our best to keep the premises in perfect shape. The Japanese restaurant is known as the best Japanese food in town, no doubt you liked it!
Regarding your comments about our restaurants, we are very disappointed to know that you did not appreciate our gourmet restaurant, l’Hippocampe, neither the buffet breakfast at Le Sextant. However we would like to share with you that our pastries are fresh and delivered every day before the opening of the restaurant by our baker. Jams are made out of local tropical fruits and local fresh tropical fruits are unfortunately not available all over the year, depending on the season. We have taken good note of your remark about the gym, and hope to make some improvements very soon.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Le Méridien Nouméa some time soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently stayed her for 3 nights - just a quick trip but it was a lovely relaxing holiday. The pool is great and the service is excellent. We found the food to be ok - but if you are after fine dining there are lots of places within walking distance. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyCads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing&Communication Manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Bonjour!
It is great to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you soon for another relaxing time in Nouméa!
A bientôt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for five nights recently.The building needs work doing to it.Apart from the sea damage the rooms need to be upgraded.Televisions first! I know French is the main language ,but seriously a couple of english speaking channels that show more than 1950's westerns would be nice.The service in the hotel was very good,food was good at all the restaurants,and the breakfasts were fine.In short,you can do far worse for accomodation in Noumea.

Room Tip: Sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hbgser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing&Communication Manager at Le Meridien Noumea, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Bonjour!
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.
All comments both good and bad are our best tool to improve our product and services. We are delighted to know that you liked our food and staff! We have taken good note of your comment about TV channels in English and hope to be able to add new ones in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
0.6 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.7 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
644 reviews
85.3 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
0.5 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#12 of 20 in Noumea
584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Noumea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Noumea

Property: Le Meridien Noumea
Address: Pointe Magnin, BP1915, Noumea, Grand Terre 98846, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Noumea
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
#4 Business Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Noumea 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Caledonia, a perfect blend of picturesque landscapes, French sophistication and Melanesian culture, where food, art and music accentuate your experience. Le Meridien Noumea captures the cosmopolitan, energetic spirit of New Caledonia’s capital with an unmatched lagoon front location, just ten minutes from the buzz of the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Noumea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Noumea Hotel Noumea
Noumea Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing