We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel Ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Surf Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Le Surf Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

I stayed at Le Surf for 5 days. The rooms are old with paint peeling, damaged joinery, sewage smells in the bathroom, bathrooms are dirty and in need of an upgrade, cigarette smoke stench in non-smoking rooms (we had two rooms for our stay), slamming doors every morning from 7am from the cleaning staff, extremely noisy from the 'nightclub' if thats what you call it, Air-cons are noisy, poor food. Over priced for what it is. Location is average. Seems like the rough end of town! Stay down the other end of the bay side near Le Parc or Meridian. More Cafes and things to do, generally nicer. This was the worst 3 star hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Dont stay at Le Surf. Its not just the rooms that are terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    48
    76
    49
    42
See reviews for
41
75
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

I have stayed at the Surf a number of times over the last few years. There has been some improvement in the rooms, some have been refurbed in the main hotel. The internet works. The beach is close. As others say it needs a facelift but most of it is OK. The rooms in the Annexe are still not great.
The distinguishing thing is that this is part of a Kanak-owned and run chain across the islands - I feel at least I am supporting them and their employment of local staff. This is very rare in NC where most hotels are run by francophone businesses or foreign chains.

Room Tip: main hotel not annexes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrowagenda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a great big sprawling hotel. I had a lagoon view room, (free upgrade from garden room) and the views were absolutely stunning. It was a large corner room, with a deck on two sides, which gave an easy view to the beaches on two sides.
There is no help given to get your bags to your room, and as a grandma on her own, I had to hike my bags all the way across a connecting bridge, and then up the lift and down the passage way. People are polite, but not terribly friendly.
I don't recommend the hotel restaurant or bar. The salad was slimy, and the the "crispy" prawns soggy.
There is a good restaurant across the road, and lots of restaurants either to the left or the right. Local bus basically at the door, which you may like to catch to the supermarket.
Every bit of advice I was given by people either within or without the hotel was incorrect.
The price of food is extortionate. Pack some of your own processed food if you can. I saw a family buy a meal at the "Quick" which cost the equivilent of $260.00 NZ.
Would I stay here again? Possibly not unless I had the same corner room again. They seemed to have some sort of towel shortage with towels not being delivered until late in the day on more than one occasion.

Room Tip: Get a free upgrade on Wotif.com, and see if you can get a corner room - I had the top floor, 927.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

I don't agree with all the comments below, well i do agree that this hotel is quite old but there is a lot of good stuff there. Staff is very friendly and the location is awesome in front of the beach. We got a refurbished room and it was nice. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lolipopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Bad
Scaffolding
Unable to refund
Average room
Dirty smelly bathroom
Broken door lock
Good
Breakfast
Location
Staff
http://www.flickr.com/photos/dves/sets/72157626774813048/detail/

Room Tip: Tera Royal or Meridian
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Noumea hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

This was fawlty towers. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It was so bad it became funny. Disappointed that wotif has not refunded the 80 euro it overcharged for the stay.


Check out the photos... below
http://www.flickr.com/photos/dves/sets/72157626774813048/detail/

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coldcutham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Ok where do I begin....... After arriving to the hotel, we found that the air con in our seaside room was broken and had to move to a garden view room, which is not a garden view but a car park view. While it meant that we would miss out on the wonderful view it had, it did mean that we had moved to a room that had a bearable in smell. The 5th floor smells like rotting carpet and mold. The 3rd floor is much better but still has a funny smell to it. The swimming pool is dirty and poorly maintained as you can see and feel the dirty dark grime marks on the walls of the pool at water level as well as broken tiles around various places of the pool. Breakfast time at the hotel was marginly better. My partner and myself went to get some ceral from the counter and it was covered in ants. The fruit that was put out was fairly average quality. The resturant is apprently open at night but every night my partner and myself went to check it out but no one was around except one or two staff members in the bar. ( I think that says a lot right there) After returning from the beautiful sites of Noumea our room had been cleaned but no towels had been left for us to use. My partner and myself had to wait 90 minutes for a towel (apparently there was no towels left in the hotel as told to me by the manager). Only after a long and frustrating discussion with the manager of the hotel did we get two towels. When having a shower, expect to have a flood of water on the floor after you have finished. Another feature of the rooms where the broken toilet bowls. The bed itself was fine but if you REALLY have to stay here, I would highly recommend bring your own pillow. The hotel does have a free wi-fi internet service but I would say most of the time the internet speed is worse than 56k bit modem speed. To be totally honest I have stayed in and seen better backpack places, which leaves me to wonder how this hotel got the star rating it has.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toddy_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noumea hotels
0.7 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea
Le Meridien Noumea
#4 of 20 in Noumea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sole
Casa del Sole
#8 of 20 in Noumea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Surf Hotel

Property: Le Surf Hotel
Address: 55 Prom. Roger Larroque | Anse Vata Bay, Noumea, Grand Terre 98847, New Caledonia (Formerly Novotel)
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Surf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Also Known As:
Le Surf Noumea
Hotel Le Surf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing