We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean 'no frills' option at a reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Le Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Paris
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Reviewed December 23, 2009

The hotel is located in town centre away a bit removed from the beaches and tourist sites. However, it provides a good base if you are staying in Noumea only briefly on the way to other more exciting parts of the country.

The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. The price was very reasonable. There is free wifi. Breakfast is in a cafe downstairs. But if you are interested you can use the breakfast voucher for any other drink or meal at the cafe for up to 1000 franks (US$12) per person.

The service is pleasant. We had no trouble finding parking on the street.

There is not much in terms of facilities at the hotel, no business centre, no pool, gym, shop etc. It definitely not the place to stay for an extended period of time. But it's good as an initial base or as a transit hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chirpytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 140 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 29, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Nuemea has to be the worst location in the world. The people have very little idea of the word service. They are sullen and very intimidating. The centre smells like it has open sewers and the stench is terrible. We went to a restaurant about 3 miles out. The food was vastly overpriced and was of a very third rate quality. We asked them to call for a taxi which never arrived and finished up walking back to our hotel the three miles. Within about half an hour of arriving a small shop tried to rip us off for $9 for a small bottle of water. What is it with these people???? I tried to cancel my second night at this Best Western to stay in the other Best Western here because the smell and intimidation of black hooded was getting me down (if I want to stay in this type of graffitti-ridden hole I'd go to the Bronx!). They wouldn't do it without charging me for the same night at BOTH HOTELS! FFS! I tried explaining that the Best Western would profit more by me transferring to the more expensive hotel but to no avail, they wanted a DOUBLE WHAMMY. So we had to stay here a further night and listen to the cistern next door empty itself every five minutes throughout the night.
I knew from the beginning it was going to be bad when we tried to change rooms when we arrived because they attempted to put us in a room that stank of stale cigarette smoke. Eventually, old Happy Face downstairs agreed to change our room! The breakfast was a joke. We'd hardly sat down at 9:45 (breakfast supposedly being until 10:30, thatn they started closing the place. That made us feel very welcome so we ate quickly and scarpered. This hotel would better be named Faulty Towers. But in truth the whole place of NC is run down, tatty, smelly and reeks of third world. But it doesn't stop them from charging Parisien prices. They honestly believe they can cook and they are absolutely usless. We will never again come to NC - I wish I had stayed in Sydney, where I would have saved a fortune.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank vigorniensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

On a recent stay in Noumea, we decided to book at the reasonably priced Best Western Le Paris. For a standard "two star" hotel, I found that this hotel really was quite good for what it is -- it's right in the downtown of Noumea, the people are friendly, it's relatively inexpensive (for New Caledonia) and the rooms were clean, air conditioned, had free wifi, and are recently renovated. The market is very close by (about a 5 minute walk) and Place des Cocotiers is only a block away so buses are very close by.

Also, there's an Avis just on the next block where you can get a car if you want to go up North on the island. Just remember though, you have to park the car somewhere, and there's only street parking. The good news is that parking on the street in front of the hotel is free between 8pm and 8am.

The only problem with the location is that, on weekends at night (especially Sunday), the downtown can be a bit of a ghost town because everything is closed. You'll have to take a taxi to Anse Vata (not too far) to get some meals, or go to McDonalds or the Roulottes (food vans) at the market. Also, the restaurant at dinner is pretty $$. A large beer is about $12 AUD!!!

All in all, the accommodation was pretty good for the price. Would go back definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleverhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

The Best Western "Le Paris" is located just to the edge of the downtown area of Noumea. The position is fine - very handy to the bus depots and the shops. Many good restaurants, museums and historic sites are in the Latin Quarter nearby. Very oddly, though, the hotel is completely hidden by a curious metal mesh that totally obscures the otherwise excellent views from this elevated location. In fact, from my top floor room, it was barely possible to tell what the weather was like outside. This is all a shame, as the room I had was excellent, large and comfortable - and mainly quiet. The bathroom had excellent fittings which all appeared brand new. Breakfast was included and was all one needed, and the staff were polite and helpful. If your interest in Noumea runs more to shopping and musems than to beaches and casinos, this hotel is a good choice. But don't expect to take many photos from your hotel room.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayeffSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

This hotel is a good place to stay on your way to somewhere else. We arrived at Midnight and were greeted nicely, check in was fairly easy given that we spoke no French. Continental breakfast was provided each morning at a Bar/Cafe downstairs. the food was good, the service was o.k.

Parking is limited to the street and can be difficult. the Hotel is handy to the city centre and the seafood and vegetable markets at Baie de Moselle.

All in all the hotel represents reasonable value for money in a town which has some fairly expensive accomodatrion.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pakhan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noumea hotels
2.1 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
608 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
195 reviews
2 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Noumea
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
2.5 mi away
Hotel du Centre
Hotel du Centre
#9 of 20 in Noumea
65 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
#10 of 20 in Noumea
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Paris

Address: 45 / 47 Rue de Sebastopol, Noumea, Grand Terre 98846, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Price Range: $96 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nouméa, the Best Western Le Paris conforms to the international standards of the Best Western Hotels and is between the tourism and business centers.The location is ideal for shopping or organizing tourism activities (close to airline companies and the cruise ship terminal) or for professional and business meetings.The Restaurant/Bar «Le Best Café» offers new menus every day and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner (closed Sunday after breakfast). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Noumea
Noumea Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing