We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gourmet experience”
Review of L'Hippocampe

L'Hippocampe
Ranked #5 of 238 Restaurants in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $98
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description:> L'Hippocampe will be closed from January 14 to February 05, 2018 for annual closure. It's time to treat yourself to gourmet dishes!
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went there some time ago but I still remember the exquisite taste of the sweetbreads
The food was served with elegance and the maitre D' was very helpful.
So far the best in Noumea

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amborella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at L'Hippocampe, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hello Amborella,

We are happy you keep a good memory of your experience at our restaurant and of our maître d’hôtel Thierry! We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 115 of 271 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you want a special meal than this is the place to go to in Noumea. We informed the chef that our requirements were for vegetarian meals and it was not a problem, in fact he went out of his way on the two nights we dinned there to give us an exceptional meal. Don't tell me the French don't know how to prepare a vegetarian meal fit for a king.

Thank Wayne0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at L'Hippocampe, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hello Wayne0811,

Thanks for sharing also on our Hippocampe page! We will forward your kind comment to our Chef!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Located at the Le Meridien hotel, L'Hippocampe is beautifully set amidst a landscaped garden. The food is delicious and elegantly presented. I highly recommend the scallops wrapped in duck breast as the starter - they are as good to taste as they are to look at. The service is good - the waiters are friendly and attentive but lack the finesse usually seen in a fine dining restaurant.

I have read previous comments about the prices being high but they seemed to be just about the same as any other good restaurant in Noumea. Both starters and mains average around CFP 2500.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stylish_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at L'Hippocampe, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hello stylish_30,

Thank you for your comment. The fact that you enjoyed our settings, cuisine and atmosphere is a delightful reward for us and we hope to greet you again soon in our restaurant!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were staying at Le Meridien where this restaurant is located and it was ranked 4 by Trip Advisor and was in Lonely Planet to the stars were aligned.

I didnt feel at any time in Noumea, as an english speaker, that there was any problem with ordering, getting somewhere or getting info. Many locals dont speak english but hey isnt that Le Difference. Howver at L'Hippocampe and Le Meridien for that matter you will not have any problems as most of the staff can speak english.

This is a traditional restaurant with a Maitre'd and support staff who know there business and used to working with clients from all walks of life.

Its a quiet, elegant place and we felt comfortable there. The food was fresh, well presented and we both enjoyed the experience. I like the fact in a number of restaurants we went to they provide a good selection of half bottles of wine which works well for us.

If you are staying at Le Meridien for a few nights this place should be on your list then get out and try some of the brilliant small restaurants on the city and surrounds. Voila!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TrumanWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at L'Hippocampe, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Bonjour TrumanWA,

Thank you for this second review concerning our hotel in Noumea. We are pleased that you enjoyed the quality of both our cuisine and service. Our ambition to provide our clients with a refined and intimate moment seems to have been fulfilled and this is our best reward! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We ate at this excellent restaurant twice the food was easily the best that we tasted in noumea French with a hint of Heston blumenthal (and I have eaten at his restaurants). Not a single bad or off course from around the table wine list is predictably French with second wines of some good Bordeaux featured at affordable but not cheap prices.

Staff were helpful and on the ball, great to see that silver service is not dead, this restaurant would hold its head up high anywhere in Australia.

All in all as must go to if you enjoy fine dining and are in noumea, a tip is to try the more exotic dishes they ate worth the risk!

Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at L'Hippocampe, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Bonjour Anthony T,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your experience about our restaurant. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed every single part of your meals with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
A bientôt,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hippocampe also viewed

 
Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to L'Hippocampe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing