We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small zoo but a nice day out”

Parc zoologique et forestier
Ranked #9 of 66 things to do in Noumea
Attraction details
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small zoo but a nice day out”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Take your walking shoes because there is a lot of walking! There are nice lookouts around the park and a nice little cafe at the entrance. The park is mostly birds, some of the enclosures were very small :-( but we did see many Cagous and enjoyed our day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellytaylor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    180
    73
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a fun day at the zoo. What's not to like?”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We bought a one day "Noumea Explorer" pass (or similar name). These buses are easily recognizable and go round and round all day around the main tourist attractions and are a 'get on, get off' bus. We started and finished the day at the bus stop out the front of Casa del Sole at Baie des Citrons. I think it cost us $5 or 500 Francs for the day. The bus drivers were terrific and helped us. One of the drivers even changed the route and went from the Tjibaou Cultural Centre back to the Parc Zoologique just to drop us off early so we wouldn't have to go right around the whole circuit. We were very appreciative, but it meant the driver was willing to vary the route to look after us - that's big!! If you visit the cruise ship terminal on a cruise ship day (you can't miss the ships coming in - they're huge), it's easy to buy these tickets and other tourist passes too.

This was a fun day at the zoo. We were there in the New Year festive period and the cafe wasn't open but we did buy coffee, water and snacks at the vending machine and can't complain about the prices there. We had a great time wandering around the tracks and looking and learning about all of the animals and birds. Cannot fault the presentation or quality of the displays. Highly recommended for a change of pace on holidays. We used this as part of our "Tourist Pass" which can be purchased at any one of the attractions on the pass. It turned out to be good value and is to be recommended. There were good discounts for senior citizens and students though so they probably don't need to worry about the pass.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny_Warwick_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laung Prabang
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great small and area specific zoo”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

You will need a car, transfer or good walk (about 45 minutes mainly uphill) to reach this small zoo and botanical gardens but well worth the effort. There are a number of lookouts with spectacular views in several directions before you really explore the exhibits.

The majority of the park is devoted to indigenous flora and fauna and has excellent signage (mainly bilingual) as well as friendly and helpful staff at the entrance and English version guide book regarding the biodiversity exhibit.

The noumea museums tend to be a little parochial and quaint (but well worth visiting) but this park is quite modern without sacrificing its intimacy and local content.

The collection of local fauna is particularly worthwhile.

Take water as the site is fairly exposed and in January quite hot but there are many points to fill water bottles. Also take a picnic lunch as the cafe is reasonably poor (as seems an international standard for zoos).

For this with an interest in nature a must in Noumea and highly enjoyable and informative.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Absolutely good to discover the animals of New Caledonia - very much worth a visit. The "farm" left a bit to be desired but overall excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really a bird park”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

It is very spread out so be prepared to walked. It is mainly birds and very few other animals. You do get to see the native New Caledonia flightless bird. It is a nice walk and you can spend a couple of hours here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank das1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parc zoologique et forestier also viewed

 

Been to Parc zoologique et forestier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing