We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and relaxing”

Plage de la Baie des Citrons
Ranked #8 of 69 things to do in Noumea
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice and relaxing”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

it's just a beach to relax with some restaurants. Nice. quiet calm easy. Not that much different to Ansa Vata

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    264
    92
    28
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat if you can tolerate the smoking”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The dining strip offers good food but is spoilt by a constant exchange of cigarette smoking patrons. Don't bother asking for non-smoking, it doesn't exist even when waiters say 'no problems. In fact, we had one waiter who was very polite with his service then proceed to sit down for his lunch great and have a smoke opposite our table. The beach is mostly stones on sand, though the grass strip is pleasant if you don't have someone sit next to you and smoke. A se Vat a is a much better beach for swimming.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sprosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Apart from the beach just a cafe strip with no character”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I would have scored this beach very good if not from the disappointment of finding it was now turned into a strip of cafes, some of dubious quality. Snorkeling from the beach is popular and the other activity is as outlined, eating. I went there for breakfast and the only place opened for breakfast was a complete disappointment. Anse Vata has more to offer along the beachfront but the 'eating out' scene at both areas is completely overpriced and overrated.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwikid0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a great location across the road from the cafes/restros etc. It is also quite sheltered so there's no wind like they have at Anse Vata where the kite surfers are. There is also a grassed area and benches if you prefer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alpatdunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Most French of the Noumea beaches we visited”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I really enjoyed wandering along the beach in the Baie des Citrons. It's charming, scenic and the most French place we visited on our one day stay in Noumea (we were on a cruise ship). It had a really pleasant vibe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RealSydneySwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plage de la Baie des Citrons also viewed

 
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to Plage de la Baie des Citrons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing