We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sunbathing beach”
Review of Ilot Maitre

Ilot Maitre
Ranked #4 of 66 things to do in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great sunbathing beach”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Snorkeling is not really on offer here unless you enjoy swimming between boats. Great spot though for a relaxing day on the beach, with good sun cover if needed. Safe paddling areas for the kids at low tide. Great long beaches to watch the boats and kitesurfers go by.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    115
    37
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful for a few days getaway”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Expensive but beautiful, staying in an over-the-water bungalow on a coral island was amazing. All meals are included and are buffet-style but with a reasonable variety to choose from. I would recommend 3-4 nights so as mot to tire of the meal options. The island is quite small and guest numbers likewise, which is perfect for a couple's getaway. Being able to step down into the balmy water of the lagoon to swim and snorkel amongst tropical fish and corals was amazing and the definite highlight of the stay.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CanberraCityBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We caught the taxi boat at Anse Vata bay to Ilot Maitre for 2,800F per person (return trip). Only 15 mins to get there. The Island is very nice so is the beach. A part of the Island is quite windy though, which I guess attracts lots of wind-surfers but still a good attraction. There is a resort there, a pool (only for residents), a restaurant (if you book in advance), and a snack. So bring your picnic if you don't want to end up buying a very expensive sandwich and drinks.
Overall, it's a nce getaway from Noumea. We'll have to try the other beautiful islets in Noumea. I'd definitely come back to Ilot Maitre, even though that waiter was very cold when I simply asked for directions.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank skampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We decided to check this island out with our three boys (9, 14, 12) and it was good fun. The trip across on the boat was the most expensive. We took a family picnic and stayed there most of the day. It is more for couples/honeymooners as there is a private lodging there etc. We could still hire out water sports equipment and the staff were very obliging. We practically had the island to ourselves which was great and that was in the school hols Sept. (Sydney). If you are looking for an alternate day trip check it out. Ilot Maitre is further along from Ilot Canard and the day we were there the cafe/restro was closed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank alpatdunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We took the day package of boat transfers,lunch,use of pool area etc.Loved every minute of it.The buffet lunch was outstanding.Beautiful water to snorkel in with the most amazing resort.Go there!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Staffydog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilot Maitre also viewed

 

Been to Ilot Maitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing