We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”
Review of Ilot Maitre

Ilot Maitre
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We took the day package of boat transfers,lunch,use of pool area etc.Loved every minute of it.The buffet lunch was outstanding.Beautiful water to snorkel in with the most amazing resort.Go there!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Staffydog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    123
    39
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A reasonable day trip!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you want to spend a day not too far away from Noumea, Ilot Maitre is an island which is only 10mins boat ride away. The beach and snorkelling were ok. Did not see much fish in the morning but saw a lot more in the afternoon. The water was clean. The hotel buffet is 7000 XPF per person so please bring your own food!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Funny_Rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great getaway for a few hours”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The 10-minute boat trip from the wharf at Port Moselle can be an adventure in itself when the sea is a bit rough, but it's all safe and comfortable. We got a special promo discount on the package of transport + buffet + use of the pool which saved on the otherwise high cost. The island is great, with sandy beaches rather than the coral one gets elsewhere. The restaurant service is good quality and the pool facility is really good. I wanted to hire a jet-ski but 6000 francs for 15 minutes was more than I wanted to pay.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not great snorkelling”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Did a day trip by water taxi. Beach is okay but a lot of weed in the water. Snorkelling definitely not as good as Ile Aux Canards. Resort looks a bit tired. Was told resort restaurant was quite expensive and that the food wasn't that great so took our own. Had a drink by the pool, service was very good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita-Marie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for day trips”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to Ilot Maitre for day trip
We snorkeled a lot there and have seen kite surfers there too
Nice resort with great restaurant and pool

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Oladrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilot Maitre also viewed

 

Been to Ilot Maitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing