We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,183)
Filter reviews
1,183 results
Traveler rating
591
437
95
33
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
591
437
95
33
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aquatonic spa anse vata swim up bar la pirogue new caledonia direct beach access full kitchen hotel restaurants separate bedroom well equipped kitchen sun loungers club med coffee machine great resort pool area is reception staff relaxing stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,183 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2019

Stayed in Room 615 for 9 nights over Easter last having stayed here 20 years ago when it was part of the Club Med empire in 1989. The Chateau today is more like alike an apartment building than a resort. It is incredibly clean and given the cost of eating out in New Caledonia the perfect place to self cater with grocery stores where you can get wine, spirits, beer and things like pasta and cheese and a bakery 101-15 minutes away - the kitchen is well stocked, plates, bowels and comes with a dishwasher. The restaurant is excellent but suffers from a lack of staff which means it can take some time to get service, likewise the bar. There was a tendency to add things to the food bill so I'd suggest you check very carefully before signing the docket. The gym is great and has everything and more you need for a workout. The washing machines and driers were an added bonus. Depending who was on the front desk, they were really helpful or completely disinterested.. All in all a great stay.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Matarawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

Unfortunately we have had a disappointing experience from the moment we arrived.

As we arrived about an hour or two too early for check in, we headed for a drink and some nibbles to pass the time. The bar area looked notably busy, however, it did lack staff and the staff that were there didn’t really seem to know what was going on. We received our drinks and over an hour later finally grabbed someone’s attention to ask where out nibbles were. They had forgotten and was extremely frustrating. When our nibbles showed up, it was clear to see that it was all just thrown together with either items missing or replaced with others.

Our room, although booking a King Suite, looked over the ‘court yard’ which essentially is their back dock area. When we asked if this was the right room or if we could move, we didn’t get much of a response from the staff. Therefore, we were not able to move.

Having not been to Noumea before, we asked front desk for any suggestions on what to do, where to go, no real suggestions which isn’t helpful.

The pool and pool bar looked intriguing, however, the day we tried to order something from it we were told it was closed until after 3pm. The next time we attempted to utilise the pool bar, we saw some light lunch options available on the menu, however, we were told we could not order food which was not a problem because we had already had lunch, it was more of a ‘note for next time’... or not.

We essentially avoided spending any time at the resort as we just didn’t feel that it had anything to offer. We essentially spent a lot of our time next door as we felt we were more well received from the staff and the environment.

I wouldn’t recommend this hotel and will not be staying again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank saraaaaa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

I have traveled extensively and this has to be the worst hotel ever. The owners / managers are running the place with limited staff the bars and restaurants are either closed or limited service. The room are fair however there are no amenities available. It feels like I’m in a service apartment buildings.

The owners of this hotel need to get there act together.

Don’t stay here if you are looking for 4 stars it’s a 2 Star hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank commercialhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaunoumea, Sales team at Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Good morning,

We are very sorry to hear about your dissatifaction. Please accept our sincere apologies!
We have forwarded your comment to the directors. We would be pleased to have more details about your experience to improve, if you could contact us directly or give us your details contact please.
Please be assure that we are doing our best to stisfy our guests and we apology again for this situation.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here.
It is the only hotel in Anse Vata that has a pool directly on the beach. It’s so lovely to swim and look out onto the beach. There’s a swim up bar too.
Our booking was fairly last minute so we were told we had a mountain view room-but we were so happy to see that it also looked out on to the beach. All rooms would at least get a beach glimpse with the way the building is structured. Lovely rooms too, with separate lounge and a well equipped kitchen.
The restaurant downstairs, looking out onto the pool area and bay, is lovely. Christophe, the restaurant manager, is amazing. So warm, professional and ensures your dinner experience is wonderful. The food was lovely, with many interesting options that change daily. The dessert was outstanding.
The gym is well equipped and quite large.
The Promenade was wonderful for our morning runs, gorgeous scenery in both directions from the resort.
It’s nice and close to many restaurants, cafes and shops. The beach is lovely too, with that crystal clear, aqua water..
We would love to return.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank nikw32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

We had a great stay, with two children (3 &7). It seemed quiet at the hotel, so that may explain why some things were not being used (like the pool bar).

Excellent accommodation for a family - two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen and lounge. No dining table, but the large island with bar stools was great.
Outdoor patio running the length of our apartment.

A free washing machine on most floors, and our things dried quickly outside.

The pool was largely deserted, great for us, and the resort fronts onto the best beach in the area, even with resident sea turtle! Clear and calm.

We had the buffet breakfast a few times, enough options for everyone.

A few things would have been helpful, like a small bottle of milk when we arrived, and coffee to go with the coffee plunger. We did end up renting a pod type coffee machine from reception, and had to pay for a power/plug adaptor.

This resort may not have the facilities of some larger hotels, but the family friendly room more than made up for it.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SD_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews