We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stroll” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Place des Cocotiers

Place des Cocotiers
Ranked #17 of 65 things to do in Noumea
Attraction details
Christchurch
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place is in the heart of Noumea, and home to several statues, the old band rotunda, and a resturant or two. It's really like a public gardens - laid out in a long, narrow rectangle. You can stroll along, sit for a while and just watch the world go by, or find and read the placards with local history information on them. If you continue strolling once you reach the end you will find a set of steps leading up the cliff-face to the FOL (SOS building). This is an amazing lookout, giving good views over Noumea and to the sea. We also visited St Jospeh's cathedral, the marina, Mwa Ka totem pole, the war memorial, and browsed among the shops. It's certainly easy to walk around Noumea!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi-touring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    131
    145
    52
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One time visit is enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited this area during the day but would not venture here at night. Interesting area to sit back and watch the world go by. Although I have said one visit is enough I may go back again on our next visit to ensure I haven't harshly judged it but I didn't really see the fuss about it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice little spot in the the town centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nothing special, but a nice little spot in the town centre,, with some seating and greenery, where you can sit and have a take away meal. Although Noumea is quite friendly, there were a few suspicious locals.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anezoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Don't bother on a Sunday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited around 3pm on a sunday afternoon in January. It was hot and exceedingly quiet and there was nothing open on the square or around it. Architecturally I was hoping for something a bit more inspiring because of the French influence.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RealSydneySwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

It is not a bad place to visit. A fountain, a little bronze statue and surrounded by cafes and shops. It seems to be a favourite place for Kanaks to hang out. However beware that most shops are closed on Sundays and public holidays. It's very quiet on Sundays.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Funny_Rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Place des Cocotiers also viewed

 

Been to Place des Cocotiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing