We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second floor restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bilboquet Plage

Le Bilboquet Plage
Ranked #114 of 211 Restaurants in Noumea
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second floor restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Three of us ate here one evening. I had a steak, but it had a lot of fat and was only average. One plus is that you can unlimited refills of the side dishes you order. I had french fries and green beans. Both were quite good. However, they pass out the ketchup very sparingly. All 3 of us had french fries. We had to ask for ketchup. The server brought us a bottle. It barely had enough for one person. We asked for a second. It had less in it than the first bottle! Finally, one of the guys got up and came back with a full bottle. Overall, I thought the restaurant was just average.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    45
    54
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
246 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Bilboquet Plage is a very nice restaurant. Even though the seating area does not look appealing, the food is tasty. I recommend the all-you-can-eat carpaccio (you can choose - beef or tuna). The service was sometimes slow or erratic. It's still an excellent value for the price, and totally recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant - up there with the best - don't overlook it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Dear people I went to some of the top Noumean restaurants and the food at this place is up there. Don't be put off by the light breezy decor. The food is really really good quality, fresh, plentiful and beautifully presented.

If you are a foody (and I am from Melbourne which makes me a contender), you must try it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank purplepashmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The staff is some of the best staff we have come across: pleasant, knowledgeable and dedicated.
The food is simple and fresh, the sides are "all you can eat" and so are other dishes.
The location is nice, with water views.
I would definitely recommend it for an informal lunch/dinner.
The kitchen does close at 2 pm so make sure you don't leave it to the last minute for your lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clauxmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
364 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Was greeted by friendly staff and kindly offered seats in non smoking section, which unfortunately is right next to smoking section, but wasn't too bad on our night
Given fresh bread and peanuts to nibble on while waiting on meals
Food was very nice, we had pasta and the house fish special, with fried potatoes which are very small potatoe cubes that are deep fried. Very tasty
Overall meals were very nice.
Desert was Crete brûlée and chocolate mousse
Both very nice

Helpful?
Thank rwe003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bilboquet Plage also viewed

 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to Le Bilboquet Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing