We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel revisited”
Review of Nouvata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nouvata
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“hotel revisited”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel. Having read the reviews I was a bit worried about what to expect. I thought by the sound of some of the reviews that it had gone down hill but I need not have worried. There are some issues that need attention but on the whole it was still the same as two years ago.
The room was still the same although a little care worn but never the less clean and welcoming.
The bathroom is huge and the only complaint in this regard is that the shower tends to become a little slippery.
On the whole the hotel is a good place to stay in terms of location (opposite the beach with bus stop at the door) however it could be improved.
This is not a cheap place to stay and they could throw breakfast in. We only saw a few people use the breakfast facility and can only conclude that like us, everyone went down to the local cafe for a quater of the price.
The dinner menu is overpriced and once again we saw very few people in the restraurant at night.
Generally housekeeping was very good but we saw the same tray of food left outside someones room for two days. We also saw food left in the area near the lift on our floor for a few days. Why this was not removed I don't know because the ladies who did the rooms were very efficiant.
You need to stay on the 5th floor for a view of the beach.
Someone commented on the number of unruley teenagers in the pool on new years day. I wouldn't say unruley but I was concerned that there were no adults at all supervising these kids and some were very young indeed. Its all very well having a sign saying that the pool is not supervised but a staff member could have gone out and calmed things down a little.
We spent some nice time by the pool and wonder why there is no pool side service. Most large hotels offer this and it really would be nice to have a cold drink down there. There used to also be a bar near the pool area but this has dissapered and seemed to have been given over for childrens birthday parties. Nice idea but for guests who enjoyed a drink in the afternoon it is not so comfortable now.
The new bar at the front of the hotel is not too bad but as usual overpriced.
We will go back as overall the hotel is nice but we also noticed that it did not seem to have many guests and we wonder if this is a price thing.
Tip to management: Include breakfast in your price and have poolside service.
Must say that we found the staff on the reception area always pleasant and helpful and encouraging of our tentative french.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the 5th floor to see the beach and islands opposite. Also ask for two cards for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lekatSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLPhotelsNoumea, Responsable réception at Nouvata, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback following your recent stay at Nouvata Parc Complex.

We have taken note of your comments, which are of valuable assistance to us, in order to constantly improve our service.
These Comments have been discussed with the different hotel departments concerned.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,
General Manager Hotel Le Complexe Nouvata Parc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    259
    166
    75
    37
See reviews for
91
248
71
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed for one night at the Le Nouvata, overlooking pool. Nothing special with the room, a bit smelly on entering the room.. Can be noisy if next door guests are noisy, but had a good sleep.
Front desk people very helpful and speak English quite well. Lobby was not airconditioned so a bit hot/humid on hot days. Free wifi but constantly losing the signal which was a bit frustrating if on skype or facetime.
Lots of restaurants nearby, and the Anse Vata beach is just across the road! Duck Island boat is just a few minutes walk away..

Room Tip: Bring your swimming cozie as the beach and sea is lovely..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DetSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLPhotelsNoumea, Responsable réception at Nouvata, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback following your recent stay at Nouvata Parc Complex.

We have taken note of your comments, which are of valuable assistance to us, in order to constantly improve our service.

We are delighted that your recent stay with us met with your expectations, but our apologize for the noisy neighbors and low wireless.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Best Regards,
General Manager Hotel Le Complexe Nouvata Parc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Le Parc for a week and got a sea view room on the fifth floor
View was great, you can see both ocean, huge pool and some evenings custom dances in the restaurant from your balcony

Location is great, right on the Anse Vata beach
We were taking water taxi to go snorkelling from this area and hired wind surf, paddle board there

We did not like the restaurant - visited only once for breakfast, overpriced and not tasty. There are plenty of places to eat nearby

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oladrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLPhotelsNoumea, Responsable réception at Nouvata, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback following your recent stay at Nouvata Parc Complex.

We have taken note of your comments, which are of valuable assistance to us, in order to constantly improve our service.

We are delighted that your recent stay with us met with your expectations.
It will be our pleasure to share your positive comments with our staff.

Best Regards,
General Manager Hotel Le Complexe Nouvata Parc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at Le Parc for 6 nights over the New Year period. Initial impression was of a big impressive lobby but cannot fathom how Roman friezes and faux marble columns are connected to Noumea. We had a deluxe room on the 5th floor which gave us a good outlook over the entire complex, pool area and beyond to the ocean. The decor is dated and very orange but the room itself was large and the bed very comfortable with fresh, crisp, white linen. Plenty of space in bathroom which had separate toilet. There was also a walk in wardrobe that housed a safe and tea/ coffee making facilities. The ample deck was good, however, let down by the old table and green plastic chairs. The biggest problem was that there is insufficient insulation between floors and it was like a herd of elephants overhead whenever the guests walked around. Housekeeping was excellent although there was a half eaten breakfast tray left in lift lobby almost 48 hours. Reception staff seemed to have a very offhand manner and we were disappointed that we were misinformed on more than one occasion as to opening days/ times and location of various places and attractions. Businesses seemed to operate at random over the New Year, many restaurants didn't open NYE or Jan 1 and it seemed Jan 2 was also affected by annual stocktake. Even the Tourist Information Bureau was unmanned at advertised times. Our included (after some dispute) breakfast was good but having to sign a docket with an amount on it was confusing, especially to other guests who had limited French and English. We had no other meals at the hotel, tried all the local cafes, varied from okay to excellent (recommend the Chinese out front and Stone Grill) but all expensive. The hotel pool is indeed large but not policed in any way, from New Years Day on it was the domain of unruly local teenagers who engaged in loutish, unruly and at times dangerous behaviour. There were a lot of people in the pool fully dressed during our stay and we didn't swim again once we saw a baby taken in with nappy on then the nappy taken off, wrung out by parent and thrown onto pool deck. Getting about on the local bus is easy and cheap, catch #70 to go direct inland or #10 via coast into the city of Noumea, the bus stop is on the promenade right in front of hotel complex. Due to the weather being affected by a cyclone our planned trip to Amedee Lighthouse was cancelled, we instead walked to the Aquarium which is an excellent atttraction. Likewise the Tjibaou Cultural Centre, although the day we went the interesting gift shop was closed 'because it is holidays'. Overall we were not impressed with the Anse Vata area or Noumea itself, it seems New Caledonia has missed the boat or is unwilling to make the effort required to ensure new and return tourism to an area that has potential to be better and is an easy flight from Australia. Our stay at Le Parc will not be repeated.

Room Tip: Anything from level 5 and up will ensure a view across to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitefoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLPhotelsNoumea, Responsable réception at Nouvata, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback following your recent stay at Nouvata Parc Complex.

We have taken note of your comments, which are of valuable assistance to us, in order to constantly improve our service.
These Comments have been discussed with the different hotel departments concerned.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,
General Manager Hotel Le Complexe Nouvata Parc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've stayed in Le Parc over Christmas 2012. Bus transfer from the International Airport worked fine without a booking (but a bookings is recommended). The hotel Nouvata Parc consists of 3 hotels and Le Parc has the highest rating. Our room on 5th floor was very spacious, very clean and had a nice ocean view. Everything was in good working condition, staff was friendly and helpful with restaurant booking (our french vocabulary is very basic). The decor in the hotel has a certain charm but has seen better days.
It was a good value for money - they are probably better hotel in Noumea but Le Parc nicely located with the beach accross the road, restaurants nearby. The restaurant in Nouvata Parc Complex are very good for breakfast and Dinner but expensive as well. But that's the tourist district of Noumea overall.
We liked the spacious room, the cleanliness and the massive pool area most and can recommend it.

Room Tip: 5th floor and above have the best ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinhard_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLPhotelsNoumea, Responsable réception at Nouvata, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback following your recent stay at Nouvata Parc Complex.

We have taken note of your comments, which are of valuable assistance to us, in order to constantly improve our service.

We are delighted that your recent stay with us met with your expectations.
It will be our pleasure to share your positive comments with our staff.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Best Regards,
General Manager Hotel Le Complexe Nouvata Parc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just got back from an expensive week in Noumea. We stayed in Le Pacfique and will not be staying there or visitin New Caledonia again. Our room stunk of cigarettes, the bathroom had a constant smell of urine and was in desperate need of updating ie. tiles were falling off the ground and walls. The room was not serviced daily as the Hotel stated they did not have enough staff and offered no compensation to their lack of service. We did not have basic necessities like bowls (which took two days to get) or even wine glasses.

The food was very expensive average with a basic meal for two people costing around $130 (without alcohol). The polynesian people were very nice (when they realised you wern't French) and the French were very rude and very lazy. Tourist actvites are almost non existant for english speaking people (we ended up joining a few Japanese tours and had alot of fun). Don't bother going to a tourist office as the workers will simply give you a brochure and tell you to orgainise everything yourself (a little difficult when you speak only a little french). Be careful when hiring a car we were charged twice (paid cash and then notices they also charged my credit card upon return (Avis))..

All in all the week cost us $6000 for 6 days and seven nights. We will be sticking to other polynesian islands from here on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HuntingJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLPhotelsNoumea, Responsable réception at Nouvata, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback following your recent stay at Nouvata Parc Complex.

We have taken note of your comments, which are of valuable assistance to us, in order to constantly improve our service.
These Comments have been discussed with the different hotel departments concerned.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,
General Manager Hotel Le Complexe Nouvata Parc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Noumea hotels

Kalamunda
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Le Parc, in a suite on the 5th floor but it took us a while to adjust to the bright orange carpet! Not for Le Parc, the insipid beige and earth tones of so many hotels! Our suite was huge, 100m. sq (according to the brochure), with an equally generous balcony, complete with sun lounges, table and chairs and had lovely sea views; a good spot to enjoy the sunset over a few glasses of "bubbles". It also overlooked the biggest pool I have ever seen and we had fun watching the aquarobics class and also the Tahitian dancing on the Friday night.
There was a small kitchen with microwave and kettle but apart from a couple of cups and saucers, no other crockery etc which didn't seem to make sense. There was a small bar fridge in a cupboard in the lounge but no mini bar. The T.V. had French and English programmes and even an Australian channel, GWN, I think from memory. The bathroom was very spacious with two hand basins and an enormous bath and we also had two toilets. The walk in robe shared the same generous proportions so there was plenty of room to swing the proverbial cat! The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet with efficient air-con.The only annoying thing was that the lighting was incredibly dim but that seemed to be the norm for Noumea. However, there was a choice of electrical sockets at each outlet which eliminated the need for adaptors w.hich is a great idea
Reception was helpful and friendly but there was no-one to help with luggage.
Breakfast was part of our package and was buffet style with a good variety of hot and cold food plus delicious pastries.
Location is good, across the road from the beach and with plenty of restaurants within walking distance and the hop on/off tourist bus stops a few metres from the hotel complex entrance. There is a little grocery store that also stocks wine etc a short stroll away.
We stayed one night at the start of our holiday and returned for the final three nights (same room).
It is perhaps, a little dated but very clean and comfortable with helpful staff. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for a suite or ask for a room, 5th floor or above to take advantage of sea views. All rooms overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krissiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLPhotelsNoumea, Responsable réception at Nouvata, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback following your recent stay at Nouvata Parc Complex.

We have taken note of your comments, which are of valuable assistance to us, in order to constantly improve our service.

We are delighted that your recent stay with us met with your expectations.
It will be our pleasure to share your positive comments with our staff.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Best Regards,
General Manager Hotel Le Complexe Nouvata Parc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noumea hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
0.2 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Casa del Sole
Casa del Sole
#8 of 20 in Noumea
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nouvata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvata

Property: Nouvata
Address: 123 Promenade Roger Laroque | Anse Vata, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800, New Caledonia (Formerly Le Parc)
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Noumea
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nouvata 2*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Nouvata is composed of 3 wings around a courtyard with tropical gardens, restaurant, bars, shops, a big swimming pool and one small kids pool. Perfect for meetings and events, Nouvata also has New Caledonia's largest conference and event centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nouvata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Parc Hotel Noumea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing