We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as Gold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tour du Monde, le gite des voyageurs
Ranked #1 of 6 Noumea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We went to this establishment taking the view that if 75% of the information contained within the reviews was accurate, the place would be pretty good. In fact we found it to be just about close to 100%. Dan and Jean Claude know their stuff and have clearly given a lot of thought as to how the place should be run and we found everything to be exactly as it should be. More than that, the whole atmosphere, as far as we were concerned, exuded a quiet air of classiness.

New Caledonia is very French and it certainly helps if you speak a bit of the language although it really isn't vital. We hired a car for a week - it's not difficult if you're driving on the "wrong" side of the road because traffic everywhere is very light and it's really the only way of seeing what we discovered to be a beautiful country. Stop at some of the small supermarkets and get some French bread, French cheese and cakes, a bottle of wine and have a picnic. Heaven!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JohnSydney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 174 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

There are not too many B&B's on New Caledonia and the Tour de Monde stands out in many ways. Jean-Claude and Dan make you feel home and we recommend that you book the half-stay (with breakfast and dinner) for the food Dan prepares is very delicious. To get around it is suggested to rent a car, the B&B is just too far from everything. You will also get many valuable recommendations from Jean-Claude to plan your journey on New Caledonia and the library in the Tour du Monde is filled with brochures about the tourist attractions on the island. Thus, the Tour du Monde is a very good starting point when arriving in New Caledonia. And above all, less expensive then the hotels you may find in Noumea.

Room Tip: You should book the half-stay for the food is goo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed in Tour du Monde for 2 nights last September with my gf. They just finished setting up 2 new bungalows (the hotel was moved to another location last year). Everything is spot clean and Dan and Jean-Claude are great hosts. Every night Dan cooks a great meal with local food and ingredients. Generally the place is run very well and you will get help with what ever you need. Jean-Claude can offer you trips to Noumea or organize a pick-up. Generally you have to be aware, that if you do not have a car, you will have to use the bus (every hour or so) or get transportation organized by Jean-Claude. If you have a car, or don't mind using buses, the location is perfect, since it is beautifully located on a small hill 30min outside of Noumea.

Internet, books, books and more books are available. Furthermore Jean-Claude and Dan know everything there is to know about NC (and many other places of the world). They can give you useful tips where to go and where to stay. And there is a great pool with a fantastic view.

Again, the food is great (you will not eat better in any restaurant downtown Noumea). All in all you get great value for money (NC is not the cheapest place).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank helveticTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I chose this accommodation as I am an experienced traveller and I preferred staying at a guest house rather than the high end, expensive hotels in Anse Vata. The booking process was clear and easy and Jean-Claud arranged transfers for me from the airport and back. Dan runs the place and keeps it super clean and very comfortable. Meals were fantastic, home-cooked by Dan and eaten with them on their terrace. The place is calm and quiet but out of the way - not for people who want restaurants and nightlife. If you like pets, there is a cat and an extremely loveable dog, Oscar, who add to the ambiance.

I had a wonderful experience because Jean-Claud and Dan were so kind and so helpful. They really looked after me, advised me where to go and what to see, drove me into town and helped me book a trip to Isle of Pines (also wonderful). It is because of them that I did so much and really enjoyed my trip.

At Tour du Monde I gained a completely different impression of Nouvelle Caledonie than if I had stayed anywhere else. As you are a guest in their home, there are boundaries not to be crossed, of course, but these are made quite clear before you book. It would not suit everyone but for me it was absolutely wonderful. I would love to go back and stay there again. The ideal thing would be to rent a car and have days out visiting various places on Grande Terre.

I would recommend travellers to get all the information and make sure this is for you. If it is, then like me, you will have a wonderful experience without spending very much money. If you can speak French, that will make it even better.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaBritannia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Acces du site est difficile pour les personnes en fauteuil
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FrenchieEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tourdumondenc, Propriétaire at Tour du Monde, le gite des voyageurs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Killian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackybrothier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
11.7 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
675 reviews
11.8 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
601 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Beaurivage
Hotel Beaurivage
#7 of 20 in Noumea
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
12.3 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa
77.2 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tour du Monde, le gite des voyageurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tour du Monde, le gite des voyageurs

Address: 4 Les Fougeres | Col de Katiramona, Noumea, Grand Terre 98800, New Caledonia
Phone Number:
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Noumea
Price Range: $68 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tour du Monde, le gite des voyageurs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Tour du Monde" is an immersion in the trip. All places and every space is a "journey" through the five continents: from the bedroom to the bathroom through the travel lodge and until the forest and tropical garden. The guest house is situated on a hill with panoramic views of mountains and valleys leading to the lagoon to the horizon. All accommodation are possible: guest room with shared bathroom, bedroom with privat shower, fully equipped cottage with kitchen for longer stays. Free WiFi. Free luggage care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Tour du Monde, le gite des voyageurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing