We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be the rudest owner in Noumea”
Review of Along Beach

Along Beach
Ranked #90 of 263 Restaurants in Noumea
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 28, 2019

The food was fine, but the woman who owns/runs this place must be the rudest owner in Noumea. On our first visit there the owner was surly and snappy at us, but because the food was good we returned another night. As there were 6 of us we needed two tables to be joined and the owner refused to join two outside tables - insisting we sit inside where it was stuffy with no air con. Lots of restaurants in the area - so we went elsewhere! In fact there are two other Vietnamese restaurants nearby - one a two minute walk away, the other about 10 mins. It was also expensive for what you get - cost $300 for 6 of us and that was three entrees and three mains, and 6 drinks. Would not recommend nor ever go back.

On the other hand the waitress who works there was great - friendly and helpful, despite being barked at by her boss all night. It is not her service I have rated poorly - but the owners.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yatesiean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

Have been a regular customer here during several visits. Food is ok but overpriced even for Noumea. Service is slow but acceptable. Owner is not very friendly & sometimes rude/inflexible .

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank selwyna_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019

We visited this restaurant on our 1st night in Anse Vata. It was a Saturday evening and we were dining early because we had our 3 year old granddaughter with us. The food was very good and the waitress lady very friendly and helpful but we thought the bill was a bit higher than expected. When we looked it was because the tax had been added. Naively we accepted this was our fault for not spotting it on the menu.

We had enjoyed the food so much that we returned 4 nights later. This time our waitress was surly, rude and very reluctant to provide forks and spoons because we weren't proficient with chopsticks. Our 3 year old managed better than us by the way. We paid the bill (with the tax added on again) but on returning home we realised that we'd been charged tax at 22% for drinks where we had been charged 11% on our previous visit. So we'd overpaid by 400CFP.

Once home I googled the words 'TTC' (toutes taxes comprises - all taxes included) and realised that both their bills had this on them and the tax should not have been added on.

That means that across both visits we were overcharged by 1900CFP (Aprox £14 or 25NZD)

The food is very good but make sure you ask for an itemised bill and check everything especially the tax rates and total bill. For being dishonest I've rated them 'Poor' despite the food being very good.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank djcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Consistently good food , service a bit slow but still ok. Recommend vermicelli soup & steamed dumplings. Definitely returning when next in Noumea

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank selwyna_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

We enjoyed the Vietnamese salad which was fresh, fragrant with Vietnamese mint and a tasty sweet and sour sauce; and duck with ginger - tender with plenty of fresh ginger as well as onions and a side of rice. Cost the two of us less than 4000 CPD - which is good value for the area. Prompt efficient friendly service.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Along Beach also viewed

Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to Along Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing