We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive seafood but tastes great”
Review of CaCao Sampaka

CaCao Sampaka
Ranked #66 of 263 Restaurants in Noumea
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 13, 2018

We learnt very quickly that restaurants in Noumea are NOT cheap - but it seems even the locals are use to it, so just suck it up, try to ignore it and enjoy the food!

Staff are attentive and helpful, and are very forgiving of your poor french - with English translations on the menu.

Seafood we ordered was fresh and delicious and we enjoyed the wine we ordered to go with it! And we share a creme brûlée for dessert - SO GOOD!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SchatziSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 174 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2018

As we sat sipping our real French Viogner and talking about our romantic holiday in Noumea, hoots of laughter started coming from nearby tables. We looked up to see a very attractive local girl staggering towards us carrying a huge wooden canoe. From one end jutted a crayfish (rock lobster) and from the other a gigantic crab. "Votre plateau de fruits de mer. Profiter, " said she with a hugely Gallic wave of her arms. Since at least half of her ancestors had obviously been Melanesian this was an interesting lesson in the cultural influences of colonisation. Close behind came another beaming girl brandishing a huge bowl of potato chips."Voici vos frites," she said. Well our seafood platter held some surprises. The oysters were supposed to be New Zealand, and they probably were, but we can't buy oysters like that in NZ. We get slimy farmed Pacific oysters, and our delicious Bluff oysters are only available during a short iseason.These were large, Auckland rock oysters like we used to get off the rocks before the Asian migrants scraped them bare. The prawns were a special New Caledonian breed. The tuna tartare was luscious. And did we dine. If we could find any fault with our platter, the crayfish and crab could have done with a bit longer coming up to room temperature. For further entertainment, just about the whole French Navy came into the next door restaurant which was separated from us only by a clear plastic curtain. The boss lady here is a handsome and shapely but buxom lady also of mixed ethnicity with whom we had an hilarious conversation when we tried to pay the bill with French banknotes. No pretension here. Just good food and good company in an unassuming location across the road from the sea.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tw0_0ldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018

if this had been average it would have been better than what we experienced. Food was rubbish lots of lettuce not much else and what there was , was either burnt or cold we were over charged, service was dreadful

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank paulandjaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2018

In the tourist strip a tell-tale sign of the better restaurants is always to see how full they are compared to their neighbours. And the night we were there, this restaurant is almost full even though it was off-season when many of the others were languishing. And with good reason. This restaurant is relatively inexpensive compared to others, fun, good service, very good seafood, and in an excellent location right on the beach.

Try their stuffed crab – – delicious! And everything else was also most enjoyable. This restaurant has no pretense at being gourmet standard that makes for a great night out. We thoroughly enjoyed the dishes we had. Just

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank retiredtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018

This small, local restaurant that flows over onto the pavement area was recommended by one of the staff members of the Chateau Royal Resort as her favourite local restaurant. It is surrounded by a strip of local eating establishments offering a variety of cuisines. The cuisine was French-Asian style. We shared a starter of an octopus (poulpe) salad, which I was expecting would come with a Thai-style dressing, but unfortunately, it was far too sweet for my palate. Our main courses were Sole Meuniere, which was very good, served with lime which was different and Cocotte Moules, which were small but the serving was generous. There must have been about 24 mussels. We drank a Brouilly beaujoulais, which went well with the meal. The service was friendly and very obliging. Unfortunately, we were surrounded by smokers, that took the shine off our experience somewhat. It made us so grateful that Australia has introduced the “no smoking rule” around eating establishments.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CaCao Sampaka also viewed

Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to CaCao Sampaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing