We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of La Chaumiere

La Chaumiere
Ranked #24 of 268 Restaurants in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 19, 2019

We didn't get to eat out much in Noumea because our stay included Sunday and Monday when a lot of restaurants are closed but I really wanted to enjoy at least one French restaurant. We ate here because of all the great reviews. We left pretty underwhelmed. It was nice-ish but nothing to write home about. My duck shepherd's pie could have been any meat quite frankly and it was way over-salted. The salad was limp saturated in dressing. My companion's meal was at least fresher being tuna tartare but that was about it. There wasn't a lot of ambience as there was only one other family there during lunch. We were full at least when we left and the staff were friendly. It did put me off dining in other French restaurants if La Chaumiere is supposed to be up there.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 0070072015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 230 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2019

We had an amazing meal there. It is a great place. Another night we were not eating there but we went in and we asked them to call us a taxi and they were so kind.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank JulieJewels4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SergeNoumea, Propriétaire at La Chaumiere, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2019

Hi Julie
we appreciate your opinion, thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2019

This place was a really pleasant surprise. Food and service were both excellent. Menus in both English and French, so no difficulty there. We shared entrees, tuna carpaccio, half cooked tuna, tuna and salmon pate, and fried prawns - all great. Standout mains were duck shepherd's pie, and beef fillet with foie gras butter sauce. We only had two courses each, and so didn't try the deserts, but they looked fabulous. Have already booked a return visit there in two days time, will try the deserts then. Food and drinks are both very very reasonably priced. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Coastal691645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

What a find! A day trip in Noumea while on a cruise doesn’t leave much time for exploring but as we’ve visited Noumea before we had just one goal - to have a terrific French meal! And WOW our lunch at La Chaumiere delivered. It’s a lovely space and the food is flawless. The staff were welcoming and helpful, the menu offerings were everything we could have asked for. We would return in a heartbeat.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ozfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge L, Propriétaire at La Chaumiere, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Dear Customer
I thank you for your kind comment that I inform to the team
We are very attentive to the quality of the welcome. Our chef thanks you for appreciating his cuisine

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Noumea has become somewhat polluted and the one way system is noisy. It is still fun and this restaurant in the Latin Quarter still glows.

The food is consistently very good with a pronounced Frech accent. The staff are wonderful and understand our poor French. The prices for food and wine are reasonable by Noumea standards.

If you do nothing else in New Caledonia go to La Chaumiere.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge L, Propriétaire at La Chaumiere, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear customer thank you for taking the time to give your opinion. we are indeed attentive to the regularity of our service and try to maintain a correct price level.

see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chaumiere also viewed

 
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to La Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing