We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access from Nouméa, very windy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Escapade Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 weeks, in an overwater bungalow.
The rooms' design is not the best you could dream of for such bungalows : the bathroom is huge but, in comparison, the room is a bit tiny and dark.
We had a very windy stay, and wind can become a nightmare at night when it blows strongly.
At the same time, we had a wonderful diving from the place.
Food is very good, with a huge variety if dishes.
More sea activities would be a plus if you stay more than 3-4 days.
Good place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry_Arnould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 466 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in an over-water bungalow which was fantastic - snorkel off your steps, excellent views. If you're going to this resort I strongly recommend staying in one of them, no kids allowed though.

Sea snakes were very common but not at all aggressive, we had one lazing on the deck with us for ages. Keep your eyes open and the door closed so you don't get a surprise later, and don't antagonise them by poking at them. I found if you just tap on the deck near them they will leave. The birds nesting on the island itself may be a bit noisy in the garden rooms at night but we couldn't hear a thing out over the water.

The lagoon is good snorkelling when the tide is too low to swim out towards the ocean, not much coral but large schools of fish. Further out to sea are some good coral formations, talk to the water activities staff. There's also jet skiing, canoes etc although book early. The complex itself is fairly small but beautiful. There are a lot of day trippers particularly from the cruise ships and yachts, it didn't seem crowded to me but then we spent most of our time either in the water or sitting looking at it.

Unlike some other reviewers we found the service excellent from all staff that we encountered. Most of the staff speak at least some English - we don't speak French other than a few words we learned before we went but we were able to work around any language barriers by trying different synonyms and hand gestures until it clicked (even with taxi drivers etc).

The downsides - the buffet menu is expensive and does get a bit boring after a few days/nights - use the 'snack' menu for lunches to break it up a bit (only until 3pm), and go to a supermarket in Noumea for some of your own food and especially wine. In true French style the dinner doesn't start until 7pm, our first couple of nights there were raining, cold and windy so our preference would have been a much earlier meal and then tucked up in our room. Also because it's a buffet you tend to eat more than you actually want to try and get your moneys worth. Although we did have a non-smoking room, smoking is common everywhere in Noumea, even in restaurants which is a real problem for non-smokers like us. On this trip we had a couple of nights in Noumea and every meal we had on the mainland seemed to be near a smoker or two. We're not planning on staying in Noumea again.

Overall - we loved it. We went equipped with snorkelling gear, snacks and wine and pretty much amused ourselves for the week. If you're staying in a garden bungalow and/or looking for a fully catered experience then you might be better off staying in Noumea and treating this as a day trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

my wife and i thought we would take a short break and lescapade looked to be ideal.we arrived at app 5pm to rain and checked in,were given a cocktail and had a drink in the lounge,and bought an expensive white wine and asked if it could be sent to our room,reply was no as the waiter could not leave bar area so we grabbed two umbrellas,wine and walked through pouring rain to our room.we stayed overwater as we had stayed overwater in the maldives and that was a wonderful experience then,and lescapade didnt quite live up to then,bathroom is large and well appointed although hot water wasnt enough to fill bath,bedroom was large and clean,kingsize bed,tv and quite comfy,living area was out dated and needed a touch of class(nice lounge etc)after all it is for honeymooners or so we are led to believe.breakfast is buffet as is lunch and dinner and all three are overpriced and quite costly dinner was average at best and about $60 per head and no alternative if u r hungry as snack bar closes at 3pm.tip would be grab food from mainland and bring in.we went in september and resort seemed quite empty although during the day those damn daytrippers arrived and took over,keep that in mind.that leads me to the title "hiss",seasnakes we could see them from our balcony swimming around and then one start climbing up our ladder(panic set in)quick grab a shoe was the cry as it slithered up the rungs,it made it to the top and fell off we think,on another occasion my wife was showering and i was enjoying a wine and the sunset and there was another one on the deck a few feet away(wheres that shoe?)but i managed to scare it off sure makes u think about leaving door open! overall resort is dated food and drink expensive,staff not over friendly but the french are not renowned for their friendliness,wont be back if u want overwater maldives or tahiti should be your destination

Room Tip: learn to love snakes and keep a shoe handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grkettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A hotel not worth visiting. Although the complex is nice and beautifully located, it had been built on an island with a bird colony which makes sleeping at night almost impossible. As I eat almost anything I thought the negative comments on the food were exaggerated. They are not! The hotel has the worst restaurant I have ever been to.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank HenricusViennensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The rooms are very old and average. 3 star, though comfortable beds and good water pressure. We were unable to get an overwater bungalow due to having small children but this would definately be my number one choice. We had a beachfront bungalow and you really can't get anymore beachfront (A king tide may have come in our front door). The only downside was the amount of seasnakes, that chose to sit between our front door and the sand. There were up to 10 at any one time (Breeding season????). They were mostly placid but I couldn't really relax with the 4 yr old and the baby. Staff removed one snake from our room and I had to scare one away from our front door. T
The resturant is very expensive and only offered buffet. But then again all of Noumea is expensive. We would return again to the Island. The location is beautiful! The snakes are not :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventureoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

After a short water taxi ride to the island we were pleasantly surprised by this quaint little island and it's hotel.
As all the major tourist attractions like the cultural centre and zoo are closed on Monday's the trip to the island was an easy choice.
The island is only small but there are plenty of water activities available for the day tripper including jet skis, paddle boards, canoes, snorkelling and fishing.
The only issue is to make sure you go when the tide is high as at low tide it is a long walk out over the reef to get to water deep enough to snorkel in, or you can go to the end of the jetty and access water from there.
Has lunch at the snack bar at pool side in the hotel and meals were huge and quite good value, the American Sandwich is enormous and good luck trying to eat it all.
Stayed on the island for about 5 hours and that was just about enough.
Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank rwe003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stopped over at Noumea on a P&O Cruise and decided to do the Escapade Island day trip.

Overall a great day. We were picked up from the Ship and transported by bus to the marina where we spent about 30 minutes looking around the local markets before departing to L'Escapade Island Resort.

The resort was fantastic. Lovely outdoor area's - a great pool and excellent snorkeling. We hired a jet ski and zoomed around and had a giant turtle surface near us - it was a great experience for my daughter.

My son and I spend about 90 minutes snorkeling around the various carol outcrops around the island.

The lunch provided was a French bagguet which was very enjoyable and we also tucked into a few local and imported beers.

We did a tour of the accommodation which was nice - although expensive.

Service was very good and there were no language problems – in fact all the locals were very polite and helpful – you just need to be polite as well and learn a few simple French phrases.

It was very enjoyable and I would highly recommend the trip.

Room Tip: An over the water room would be a great experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aje71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
3 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
711 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.1 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Spa & Golf Resort
3.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
3.2 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#11 of 20 in Noumea
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Escapade Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Escapade Island Resort

Address: Ilot Maitre, Noumea, Grand Terre 98847, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Noumea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Price Range: $210 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Escapade Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Archetype of the dream of the Pacific, l'îlot Maître floats like a mirage on the turquoise lagoon. At the heart of a unique marine reserve of 200 hectares, only 20 minutes from Noumea.This hotel offers travelers the luxuries of the quiet tropical location. It offers sumptuous bungalows, built in perfect harmony with their environment.A chapel on the island is available for your unforgettable event.The hotel is located on an islet, you have to take a shuttle to join it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Escapade Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Escapade Island Hotel Noumea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing