We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Escapade Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Noumea
Certificate of Excellence
Noumea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is my second visit and have to say it is worse than the first and I will not ever be returning. Food is boring and the same for every meal lunch and dinner. Service is very poor with receptionist on phone all the time ignoring guests. Had to wait half hour for wine opener as the car to deliver ( only 4 mins walk) was having problems. Only staff drive buggy's and guests are to walk .... Does not make any sense staff should walk and only drive if loads are to be moved. Over water bungalow 159 in terrible condition with flooring damaged in many places and capering damaged. Enough said .... Would not give it a single star! R Winter 29 March 12

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    158
    67
    29
    25
See reviews for
94
238
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Golmud, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

After being guests at the hotel on several previous occasions, we decided to return there to spend Christmas with our daughter who was visiting. Christmas eve our daughter started having terrible pains in her back and seeing that the pains were only getting worse I decided to go to speak to the staff at the reception to see what our options were. Hotel info in the rooms states that for all medical emergencies, contact reception 24/7. I was immediately informed that they had no doctor or pain killers and that it was impossible to move her off the island because of the rain and high winds. I was invited to return to our bungalow but to contact them again if the situation got any worse. When I returned to our bungalow I could see that our daughter needed a doctor so I immediately tried to call the manager whom I was informed had already retired for the night. I called SAMU myself and the doctor with whom I spoke made the immediate decision to have our daughter evacuated by boat to the Noumea Gaston Bouret Hospital.
The Secours En Mers came to pick us up and I only have praise and admiration for the volunteer work these men perform.
We couldn't even get the hotels night watchman to pick up our daughter in their golf cart and had to practically carry her ourselves from our bungalow over the water to the wharf in the pouring rain.
The manager on duty eventually showed up before we left and kindly settled our bill for us.
I was appalled that a hotel of such standing can be so lacking in this type of situation.
The bottom line is.....Don't go to this hotel if you have any health issues at all....They just are not equiped to handle any type of medical emergency.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trishgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

haha we went here a couple of years ago now ...there was only one review at the time on trip advisor and it was in Japanese..so the adventurer I am thought wow looks beautiful.. can I say we were going to Samoa and had to book at last minute somewhere else as it was when the awful tsunami devastated Samoa. We were lucky to be alive as our Samoan Hotel was where there were fatality's.
We came here after spending 5 nights on mainland at Ramada (which was quite good)...I look back on this Resort now with a smile..it was one of those travel experiences we still talk about..so it was memorable..too often we want perfection..if that is what you do want....don't stay here!! on the other hand if snakes are your thing oh yeah even in the pool...under your beach chair..and being greeted by the man from Fantasy Island..who ends up being the cook,the waiter,the barman..(poor guy he was in a hot sweat) The Restaurant was BAD!! Japanese chef raw duck.. top $$$$$$$$$ my tip buy the baguettes at day time beach area and stock up the fridge..your going to need them!!..$30 a cocktail and very few tropical fish when snorkelling (unless they have since shipped some in) weekends all the French from main land come here in droves..no room to have that quiet little rendezvous'..the first night we heard ahahahahahahahah noise grunting...we did think it was Japanese honeymooners who are the islands main patrons ..turns out it's these weord birds that come to the island we were told the same month we did... $$$$$$ food $$$$$$$$$drinks having a huge laugh years later......priceless.... go on.... what's the fun in a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank suealknys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We went to Le Escapade (November 2011) purely for the overwater bungalows as it was part of our honeymoon trip - yes expensive, but wow - we loved the room. We asked for the bungalow furtherest away...so no one could see us on our balcony - and we couldn't see them.

So some hot tips:
Go to the supermarket in Noumea before you go - buy baguettes, jambon (ham), cheese, crackers and a few bottles of wine and or beers....this will save you heaps in bar prices. Yes they don't miss you.

The meals - well there is no real choice but to eat at their restauraunt, the buffets dinners were quite average - but during the day you can get bar snacks (burgers etc) from the pool bar. This is why you shoud take stuff for nibbles - but we were on honeymoon so we expected to pay.

The snorkelling is better if you dive off your bungalow and head away from the beach...and there are less of the sea snakes...yes there are some, but just avoid...all part of nature. Go out further and swim with bright corals and sea turtles instead!

Consider going to Isle of Pines instead - we loved it there...best snorkelling and beaches we've been too.

All in all - the rooms were fantastic, service was good, just pricey for everything on Le Escapade - but go there expecting that and you'll enjoy yourself more, dont be shocked.

Room Tip: Ask for the overwater bungalow furtherest away - ROOM 166
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouméa, null, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Ilot Maitre is beautiful and there are numerous beach activities on offer there. Unfortunately, because it is a small island, there are no amenities (eg. shops of any kind etc) nearby. The only real option for eating is at their buffet restaurant, and although they have a great selection of food with friendly staff, eating there for every meal can add up.

The standard of the garden rooms and the beachfront rooms are below par for a 4-star resort. The rooms are awkwardly designed as it is, the beds have no headboard and the gap between the pillow and the wall is about 30cm. The TV is around the corner facing a pair of wooden chairs making it impossible to watch from the bed, not that you would anyway because all of the channels are in french.

There was absolutely zero water pressure in the showers, it felt like an old man with prostate cancer was trying to pee on me. The toilet feels almost like you're in an outhouse, possibly due to the stucco walls, impossibly dim lighting and the strange sensation of wind passing through your ankles as you do your business. And good luck trying to get a good night's rest, the hundreds of birds that live on the island whine like babies all throughout the night, and once the early hours roll around the seagulls start. Taking an early morning stroll may not be the best idea either as the gulls can be quite aggressive, like Hitchcock aggressive. Taking an evening stroll may not be a good idea either as there are numerous petrels and dozens of burrows that are potential ankle-breakers, the crap lighting doesn't much help either.


The hotel's saving grace was it's accommodating and friendly staff. Each person working on the island (that I crossed paths with, anyway) did their job to perfection. There was even a woman who came by in the evening just to drop off some yummy little madeleines and wish me a great stay: total bribery... but it worked. The awkwardly-positioned bed was surprisingly comfortable and the poolside views were immaculate.

Overall, average.

Room Tip: If you are to come to this hotel, it would pay to go with the 'sur mer' option as this is we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Oakwood

Helpful?
6 Thank Ariane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Depsite the previous reviews, we wanted to try out the island for ourselves and we weren't disappointed. We arrived at midday, which the hotel staff were anticipating, so they had our garden bungalow already prepared for us, which was a nice welcome. After a delicious buffet lunch (which was expensive, c $100 NZ), but great selection of fresh produce and lots of French dishes we settled down on the loungers by the pool. There were some locals visting for the day, but they weren't allowed to use the pool. Evening buffet dinner, and breakfast buffet were equally great quality, and wide range of local and international dishes. All staff very friendly and helpful, anything we asked for was almost immeditately delivered. We stayed for 3 nights and was just enough to enjoy the tranquility and the beauty of the island before heading to the main island for some more lively activities. Would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lharrison75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This island is exactly as it appears in the pictures. Paradise. You can snorkel directly off the island and the gentleman in the activities shed is very helpful in pointing out the best snorkeling spots for the day and time. He speaks Japanese English and French. When the tide is out in the afternoon you can circle the island and view the extending sandbanks and wildlife. The bungalows are ordinary and tired - 3 star standard - I didn't see inside the untis over the water but I am sure they are spectacular. In any event you are not there for the accomodation but for the island. The service is a bit ordinary. The staff are nice enough but not very effective. For example when we arrived we weren't told that the activities hut was only open until 2pm. We could have missed out on a day's snorkelling if we hadn't asked ourselves. Robes were put in the room on the afternoon before we left. The cafe was not open when we were there which meant you are limited to having the buffet meals with a limited snack menu between 11 am and 2pm. As you catch the ferry out there, I would recommend you pick up some things at the market before leaving so you are not captive to the buffets (which are not bad, but are buffets...). It does not appear that there are no smoking rooms. One bungalow was a bit oppressive as a result.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank further40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noumea
3.1 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
3.0 mi away
Le Meridien Noumea
Le Meridien Noumea
#4 of 20 in Noumea
901 reviews
84.1 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Le Lagon Hotel
Le Lagon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Noumea
636 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Noumea
3.2 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#12 of 20 in Noumea
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Escapade Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Escapade Island Resort

Property: L'Escapade Island Resort
Address: Ilot Maitre, Noumea, Grand Terre 98847, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Noumea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Noumea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Noumea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Noumea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Escapade Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Archetype of the dream of the Pacific, l'îlot Maître floats like a mirage on the turquoise lagoon. At the heart of a unique marine reserve of 200 hectares, only 20 minutes from Noumea.This hotel offers travelers the luxuries of the quiet tropical location. It offers sumptuous bungalows, built in perfect harmony with their environment.A chapel on the island is available for your unforgettable event.The hotel is located on an islet, you have to take a shuttle to join it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your L'Escapade Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Escapade Island Hotel Noumea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing