We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe bet!”
Review of La Sorbetiere Vata

La Sorbetiere Vata
Ranked #5 of 8 Dessert in Noumea
Description: THE traditionnal and historical ice cream shop of the whole Noumea for the last 25 years. They also propose crepes and snacks. You can either take away and enjoy the beaches, or take some rest in the shady terrasse at the back.
Restaurant details
Description: THE traditionnal and historical ice cream shop of the whole Noumea for the last 25 years. They also propose crepes and snacks. You can either take away and enjoy the beaches, or take some rest in the shady terrasse at the back.
Reviewed March 2, 2019

Old sign but ice cream and sorbets are always very good and served in quantity. Prices are more reasonable than the competition.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank houdanolish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2019

This long established sorbetiere in Anse Vata across the road from Anse Vata Beach near the Nouvata hotel is a well loved local institution and with good reason.

The range of flavours is amazing including unusual flavours like Corossol (Soursop or Custard Apple), Lychee, Mojito, Mandarine and Banana.

The quality of the ice creams is exceptional and the servings are huge.

Every time we visit Noumea this is the first place I visit. On this occasion, we were in Noumea for close to 2 weeks and we visited almost every day.

When I think fondly of the ice cream at this place I always think of 2 flavours - Coconut and pistacchio. I have tried them at various other ice cream shops in numerous different countries but none have ever come close to the ones sold here. They are creamy, bursting with flavour and with an authentic taste.

Whilst we were there we tried various sorbets including Mandarine, Lychee, Corossol, Mojito, Passionfruit, Mango and various ice cream flavours including coconut, pistacchio, coffee, tiramisu, salted caramel, choco peanut, Vanilla with almonds and caramel, dark chocolate, blueberry yoghurt and others.

The servings are massive. Whipped cream and chocolate sauce are optional at no extra charge.

The ladies behind the counter were lovely and helpful.

You can cross the road and enjoy your ice creams on the beach or go to the back of the plaza where they have tables and chairs.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tropicgirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilloux01, Gérant at La Sorbetiere Vata, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Wouaouh Tropicgirl39 ! Thank you very much for such nice comments and recommandation :) This is such a good feeling with all the effortsthat we put in our ice cream and customer service.. This is not the easiest job, but so rewarding when we can please customers like you, and also all the kids eager to taste their favorite flavour.. We hope to see you soon again, and that we keep up the standards for you ;) Best regards and enjoy New Caledonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

I wanted to have crepes for the full French experience in Noumea. While waiting for lunch at the café next door I saw that this icecreamery did crepes. Sold! Went back the next day and got a classic crepe with ham and cheese, which at $8AUD was reasonably priced for New Caledonia. It was perfect, and it was lovely to eat at the picnic tables across the road with an iced coffee which was also perfect piled high with cream and icecream, Very happy. The waitress wasn't brilliant with English (why should she be?) but I was able to point at the menu and we got there. Wish that we had gone here for icecream too. Next time....

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Naomilovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilloux01, Gérant at La Sorbetiere Vata, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Hi Naomi, WHAT !! you haven't tried our ice creams ??!! that's a pity because they come as well with the best waffles in New Caledonia, and may be France !! haha.. Seriously, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, and we hope we can have you some time for our ice creams and sorbets.. and I will try to encourage our girls to unleash their perfetc English.. deeply hidden I reckon.. ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Amazing waffles! Absolutely loved them. Quite an extensive menu and the lady was helpful with translating some ingredients to English for us.
Only complaint is that we asked what time they opened and they said 10am. Turned up the next day at 10am only to find they didn’t open until 10.30.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank NJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilloux01, Gérant at La Sorbetiere Vata, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Hi NJH1 , Thanks very much for your comments. Sorry for the misunderstanding, the girls actually start at 10am to prepare the day, but only open to the clients at 10:30 !! Verry sorry for this. We will doubel check as well the correct display of of trading hours on site. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Wide choice of traditional ice creams and fruit sorbets. Very pleasant service. We always took advantage of the take away for convenience but nice clean seating is also available.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilloux01, Gérant at La Sorbetiere Vata, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thank you very much Alex, We are delighted that you appreciate our products and service, and hope to see you soon again. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sorbetiere Vata also viewed

Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to La Sorbetiere Vata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing