We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was recommended by two delightful local shop-owners (one of whom actually made the reservation for us).”
Review of Le Miretti Gascon

Le Miretti Gascon
Ranked #17 of 216 Restaurants in Noumea
Cuisines: Seafood, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Was recommended by two delightful local shop-owners (one of whom actually made the reservation for us).”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having dined at Miretti last night, and having now read Tripadvisor's reviews; here is my opinion. Yes, the decor is probably a little dated, and the waitress was very definitely the matriarch of the establishment; but the standard of the food and service was excellent. There were obviously many locals dining there, which to me is a recommendation in itself. It is a family-run business, and as such, has a friendly and intimate feel that can not be experienced in a larger restaurant. We would definitely go there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    107
    39
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tewantin, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top restaurant”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Excellent food Just like being in Perigord an d the Dordogne again. Top marks for the Cassoulet and Duck dishes plus attentive service and very friendly local diners

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank edmag_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“oh_those_sauces”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner here. The sevice was excellent and the Lady who runs the place was one of life's most interesting people. The wait staff are very well trained and helpful to those without a good grasp of the french language. The food was glorious. The sauces were spectacular. Had some great wine too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wine_and_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Le Miretti gascon”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This restaurant was at the end of the street near our hotel. We were delighted to see it open on the Monday night of our stay. Delicious food, I had snails and my partner the french onion soup and he followed with confit duck. As good as eating in France.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A taste of France”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were very keen to go here, having read all of the reviews. Unfortunately for them - the smell in the street was dreadful on the night we went there (from the boucherie up the road?) and if we had not read so many reviews, we could have been put off. No smell in the restaurant and fabulous service.

Lovely food - I had coquille st jacques and a fabulous fillet steak. Bill for four entres, four mains and two bottles of wine 30000 francs. Smell outside pushed it down to VG.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank restartconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Miretti Gascon also viewed

Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to Le Miretti Gascon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing