We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebration dinner”
Review of Le Roof

Le Roof
Ranked #33 of 263 Restaurants in Noumea
Price range: $28 - $225
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

A perfect restaurant to celebrate
Absolutely delicious meal, fabulous setting, lovely service in a magical setting

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Jojo2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

The entire experience was disappointing from the minute we walked in to when we left.
When we walked in there were already a handful of people inside, from what we could see it looked cosy and comfortable so we were happy with our choice of restaurant.
The lady had asked us if we had a reservation, we did not, however, the restaurant was fairly empty so we didn’t anticipated an issue. We were sat outside, in the furthest possible seat as far from the other guests as possible. The outdoor blinds were pulled right down and the wind was howling through the splits. It was such an uncomfortable seating choice, so we asked someone else if we could move. They had no issue and basically pointed to any other 2 seater, inside.
We ordered a half bottle of wine (which was almost 65AUD) sparkling water, an entree and main each with a green salad (with dressing) to share.
Our entree’s arrived at our table all too quickly, both entrees were decent portion, however, we both were able to tell they were reheated. Same story for our main dishes, came to our table too quickly, tasted warm in temperature and clearly reheated. They forgot to bring the green salad out and when we asked for it, it was just green lettuce pieces and no dressing. This ‘salad’ alone was over 20AUD.

Our total bill came to close to 300AUD and when we were asked ‘how everything was’ we gave an honest reply and the confusion on the wait staff faces were again frustrating.

I wouldn’t go back and I wouldn’t recommend it. There are far nicer little restaurants just down the street to enjoy!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank saraaaaa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

This one is difficult because it was super expensive even for Noumea. Lovely spot sitting outside but the high rail and the fixed plastic below the rail makes it difficult to see into the water. Inside around the “moon pool” had better viewing but less breeze. Didn’t see any sharks or rays but the shark suckers (Echeneis naucrates) or poisson pilote as they are known here were amongst the largest I’ve ever seen ... 1 m or so and the four zooming around and piloting together were cool.

The food .. as we’d had a late lunch and the main menu didn’t grab me we decided to share appetisers. We started with the snails 3 ways and were delighted to learn there were three of each. Presentation was very nice with the puff pastry but the snails were well over cooked, small/shrunken and lost amongst the sauces. Also note worthy was that the waiter had no clue what the flavours were and when I asked in French if one was garlic butter he said yes ... was not. The prawn sticks were well done and fun but frankly pub food in Australia. We also had the spicy tomato salad with fried poached egg (think scotch egg) and foamed cheese. This was both unexpected and delightful. The salad was actually gazpacho but tasty, egg was great fun and crunchy yummy, and the foam was creative.

So good location, friendly and attentive if uninformed service (kitchen make sure waitstaff know what’s on the menu!), variable food and $$$$$

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank JJMayburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

The restaurant is at the end of a pier about 100m long . If your table is outside you can see large fish and a few small sharks below . Food and service were excellent , especially the sole meuniere . Not cheap but definitely worth a visit .

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BARRY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

Set in a pavilion over the water the location is delightful, lights at night attract the fish below you. The menu is comprehensive and quite expensive, as is the wine list. We enjoyed a celebratory dinner and were well looked after by the staff.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Roof also viewed

Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
 
Noumea, Grand Terre
 

Been to Le Roof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing