We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice visit”

Amelia Earhart Birthplace Museum
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Atchison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Childhood home of Amelia Earhardt which is filled with much memorabilia.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“nice visit”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Really nice stop seeing were Amelia grew up with period furniture and items belonging to the Earharts nice gift shop also .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ttowntriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    39
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice side trip”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was beautifully restored home filled with lots of information on Amelia Earhart. She was a very interesting person. The twown is small, but worth the visit if traveling by.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mkltll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright City, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amelia Earhart Home”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We just so happened to find this place while doing a trip advisor search on our way back from st. joseph missouri to kansas city area, was only about 15 minutes out of our way to stop in Atchison,Kansas where the house still stands, It was a self-guided tour of the two story home,there's a gift shop in the back of the home and a pretty view of the river in front of the house that overlooks the beautiful bridge that was dedicated to her i believe.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laruetl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the West
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“I Can See Why Amelia Was Entranced with Views from High Places”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Amelia Earhart's birthplace has been lovingly restored to showcase both the time period when she visited or lived in this home. In addition, the society that supports it has provided so many photos, artifacts, and ephemera that bring this adventuresome woman to life. Amelia's bedroom looked over the Missouri River in such a way that it was easy to imagine how she learned to love see the world from high places. I loved the stained glass work in the formal dining room and upstairs--such craftsmanship. Well worth a stop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wildfloweroftheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Because the entrance fee was so minimal, my husband did not think this site would be any good. We were both pleasantly surprised. Although it is a self guided tour, we were the only people there at the time and the "keeper" of the house showed us around. She was very enjoyable and had many stories to relay to us...some about Amelia's sister and some about Amelia herself. I had planned about 1/2 hour but we ended up staying close to an hour because of the stories we were told. There is much to see in this small house which sits along the Missouri River on a beautiful site. Worth the small entrance fee.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becky25_retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia Earhart Birthplace Museum also viewed

 

Been to Amelia Earhart Birthplace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing