We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not needing business i guess”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pepper Mill & Company Restaurant
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“not needing business i guess”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have eaten here a few times. The food is ok ( your basic Cisco reheat) but it is the only restaurant in northwest Missouri ON a river with a riverview. They close at 8. We called and told then we had a party of 6 that would be there just before 8 and they said they would not seat us. We were driving 35 minutes from St Joe but that didnt matter. We went to Muellers down the blick instead. Still had our river view and they were glad to have us. Plus the food is just as good.
I have not had much luck with Peppermill and wont be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelersjmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“has possibilities”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

It was not busy we went in @ 4pm but service was sort of slow our potatoes were not hot had a small side salad with the chicken montery the food was ok and not high priced but was overall ok.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ttowntriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, but”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Excellent wait staff, atmosphere, and food unless you order the Chicken Fried Steak. If they can hand-bread the Chicken Fried Chicken, why are they shipping in frozen sub-par CFS? It does not seem to fit with the restaurant's appearance, to get the same kind of CFS from Denny's.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. joseph mo.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went to Atchison Kansas to see the new bridge and the river walk after we were done we decide to have lunch not far from where we parked was a place called The Pepper Mill so we went in,a nice ladie met us dressed in white shirt and black pants everyone was dressed that way,we looked at each other and thought do we have enought money for this,we was seated in a dining room with views of the river,our waitres brought us menus and we ordered tea and Chicken fried chicken with potatoes and green beans,before our food came she brought us crosontis with melted butter(warm and good)then our food arrived there was a large chicken breast golden brown,real mashed potatoes,green beans was very good. The only bad thing was we ordered ice tea,it did not have much ice and it wasen't very good and the price was$3.98 a glass,I should have just ordered water or a beer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hatsandhides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the West
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good View and View of the River”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We ate there twice during our trip to Atchison. Service was good and the food was plentiful and well prepared. This is one of those location, location, location places. You can watch the river roll by as you eat and imagine days gone by. It's by the river walk so you can follow dinner with a pleasant evening stroll.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wildfloweroftheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepper Mill & Company Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing