We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for long-term (or short-term) stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lagoon Breeze Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarawa Atoll
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for long-term (or short-term) stay”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I lived at Lagoon Breeze Lodge for six months and I had a great experience. I initially considered renting a home from a landlord given the long-term appointment I was filing, however after arriving and spending a few days at LBL I decided that it would be a good fit for the entire duration. I stayed in the full-two-storey-house and it was a great choice for me.

The owners and staff are friendly and helpful with all requests, keeping in mind that Kiribati is a Least-Developed-Country and some things just take awhile to resolve. I would definitely recommend and have done so already for travellers/visitors coming in to the country.

The location is great, because the village is a quiet one (save for the barking dogs at night sometimes). Although it is not near the hubs of Bairiki-Betio and it can take up to 45mins to get in to "town" if travelling by bus. It's a fantastic option if most work/activities will be undertaken in Bikinibeu or that end of the island.

One problem was the rats, which took some time to resolve and resurfaced as a problem later on. The owner/staff tried there best to help, but it's a persistent issue for many places.

Room Tip: Get the house! Or if not possible, the top floor of the other house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BB__Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
2
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We had a great stay here! Friendly staff and management. Well equiped kitchen, always cleaned by girls if guests leave in a mess.
Rooms cleaned regularly.
Aircon and fridge in rooms.
Small number of rooms, so only a few guests around, great dining area and patio area for relaxing on lounge suite or on swing seats.
Set back from the road, therefore very quiet.
Bed very comfortable.
Free internet wow! Great to be able to be in contact with home from your own room.
Excellent rain water tank for drinking.
Store across the road for basic needs.
Surrounded by large grounds, not close to neighbours.

Room Tip: We were in 3 different rooms as we hadnt booked here, all were adequate for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockdale, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

After I arrived in Tarawa on Thursday 18/08/11 at the Broniki International Airport from Nadi at approx 08:15am & after going through customs I was greeted by the transfer staff for the LAGOON BREEZE LODGE, after approx 15min's drive to the Lodge & on my arrival I felt that the place looked like the grounds needed a good tidy-up. The photos on the website must have been taken sometime ago & on first impressions on arrival it looked very neglected, a young lady appeared surprised when I turned up even with my confirmed website booking. I was shown to my room upstairs & quoted AUD $66.00 per night when booked, at first I felt the room looked VERY VERY BASIC & I had this gut feeling this place wasn't for me & when I went to look at the views from the window I could smell a very unpleasant odor [like something from a public toilet] and then decided that this was enough for me & took my personal belongings downstairs & informed the young lady I had decided not to stay, the young gentleman asked what was wrong [transfer driver] & I said that I'd prefer to look for alternative accommodation & he kindly gave me a lift to the nearest hotel............ disappointing & thank god I hadn't paid upfront!

Room Tip: Wesites don't always give a true picture of a place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Lagoon Breeze Lodge provides free internet service and breakfast. Bread, Milk and cereal are only provided for breakfast only not for lunch or dinner. If Guests bought their own food stuffs, they should take it to their room and put it in their own fridge.Guests are welcome to report to receptionist/ manager anything that may concern them while staying at Lagoon Breeze.

Electricity charges in Kiribati is quite excessive hence, toilet pump and water pump are usually turn off at night to avoid high consumption of electricity. Guests are encouraged to turn off their air-condition while leaving the room. Water is a scarce resource hence guests are kindly requested to turn off their taps and shower probably after usage.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We chose Lagoon Breeze as it was off the noisy road and quieter but it's a bit far from facilities like restaurants and the minibusses around the island are death on four wheels. The staff were friendly the place very clean, kitchenette spotless if spartan, breakfast ok but they did run out of bread, milk on regular basis. We bought our own powdered milk, tea bags,coffee and weetbix from shop and they were used up in the breakfast "provided" deal too. When we asked for more milk we were told it had all been drunk and was only for breakfast.. The "lagoon" is a bit grubby and a drain runs down the side of the Lodge which gets smelly. The flush toilets are turned off at night no prior warning given. There is no hot water even in the kitchen. The stove is gas but only a couple of plates work. For the price it is not value. For Kiribati it is still overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for the self contained cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geriontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I travel to Tarawa three to four times per year on business and return to Lagoon Breeze time and time again. It's located in the geographic center of Tarawa so almost equidistant to Bikenibeu or Bairiki. The rooms are clean, quiet and secure, the staff friendly and gentle; and towels and bed linen are changed on a regular basis. Yes, things can go wrong (this is Kiribati - far from anywhere! - electricity outages, spring tides, etc) but if requested, the management go out of their way to assist with anything from airport transfers; arranging for self-drive or driver-accompanied transport for meetings, shopping; free wi-fi connections in every room; purchasing sim and telephone-cards; and provide cooked and wholesome meals on request (give a few hours prior notice). There is also the option of doing your own cooking with a fridge in every room and a well-equipped, very clean shared kitchen. You can't go wrong by staying here and as a woman traveler, I feel secure here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Abarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Don't be drawn in by the name and the location by the sea. Yes, this guest house is located by a lagoon - but a dirty, fetid one that any visiter would want to stay clear of.

And yes there is likely to be a breeze too. But it will be a hot, humid breeze that does little to allay the suffocating heat in the air-con free guest rooms. And the faint aroma in the breeze.. that bears some connection with the "dirt" in the lagoon, and this is not a naturally occuring watste. More of a human one.

There was a kitchen in the guest house. But no food or drink bar bread and water. Want more than that and you have to shop and cook for yourself.

The place was so bad, a few hours after checking in I walked 15 km down the island to find an alternative rather than spend any more time there, let alone stay overnight.

The place is hardly fit to open its doors to guests, certainly at the prices charged. Stay clear.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baywandererLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarawa Atoll hotels
0.0 mi away
Tarawa Boutique Hotel
Tarawa Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarawa Atoll
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
The George Hotel Kiribati
The George Hotel Kiribati
#1 of 7 in Tarawa Atoll
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fema Lodge
Fema Lodge
#7 of 7 in Tarawa Atoll
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Breeze Lodge

Property: Lagoon Breeze Lodge
Address: Bikenibeu, Republic of Kiribati
Location: Republic of Kiribati > Gilbert Islands > Tarawa Atoll
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tarawa Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lagoon Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing