We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change the Menu”
Review of Lamana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Change the Menu”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have been coming in and out of the Lamana for several years and just long for a Menu Change. I have never had the Indian food which may be very good but I actually tried the cheapest item on the Menu this time "Mousaka" and surprise 'surprise ...It was quite good. The buffet Breakfast is good with a wide choice.
The tariff is astronomically high when compared internationally but this is the norm for Port Moresby. Perhaps when the large resourse companies gear down it may drop back to something realistic.
The room was basic but adequate with a good coffee and tea bar with ample cold water in the Fridge. The Bar has many slot machines but is fairly civilized. I have never visited the nightclub but the noise that comes from there convinces me that patrons will have hearing problems from the high decibels which can be heard all over the premises.
On a high note the staff are excellent...Freindly and go the extra mile to help you out.

Room Tip: As far away from the disco as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    64
    30
    15
    8
See reviews for
2
10
16
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a terrific hotel. Just don't stay in room 19, always check the aircon is working well before you commit to the room. Room 19's aircon just makes a lot of noise and blows hot air.
Don't stay there on a weekend unless you want to party as the night club booms out till 0400.
The restaurant is great but expensive they have recently embarked upon the old increase the price and reduce the quantity ,which does help the old waste line somewhat.
The restaurant is great tho', the staff fabbo the manager Graham although a bit like a Faulty Towers character keeps the staff on their toes.
Despite this a good cheap Moresby hotel.

Room Tip: Mkae sure the aircon is working any room is noisy on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 329RobertM329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

For a start, Port Moresby is a pretty weird place. Nowhere much to go and not much to see ... and personal security is an issue outside of the hotel compound. But I guess it is where a lot of people may start off when they go to see other parts of Papua New Guinea and may be looking for accommodation at the beginning or end of the trip. Or of course you may be on business..

So if you find yourself in Port Moresby, the Lamana hotel is a fine place to stay while in the city. The accommodation itself is either perfectly good or very good. I'll explain. I was in a normal room at first, which was fine ... although no toothbrush provided! But because of problems with building work (which will soon be over, don't panic) I was upgraded to an executive room, which was fantastic!! Very very comfortable and good aircon. And a fantastic espresso machine :-)

The Lamana is very spread-out in its own compound and is a bit of a maze of a place ... but once you find your way around you will find a good restaurant with very good food and a bar and a nightclub and all manner of things to spend some time in. The staff in the bar and the porters are very friendly and helpful. The General Manager, Yiannis, is a gentleman.

One word of warning: if you have any mobility problems or difficulties with steps and stairs, make sure to tell them so when you book a room here. Some of the rooms are along long (but very pleasant) walkways and there are a lot of stairways.

Oh, and the wifi is very expensive!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thatsmymango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at the almanac although found everything in moresby expensive. All staff went out of their way.Restaurant and bar downstairs great. Would def stay again. Only negative is that moresby is def not for tourists.

Room Tip: Get room away from nightclub which runs Thursday to saturday
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cantona58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stay at Lamana whenever I'm in Port Moresby. It is a little gem of a hotel when compared to some other properties. The rooms are clean and comfortable and reasonably priced by PNG standards. The food is generally very good. Curry nights every Thursday are particularly good. The staff are friendly and attentive. On the weekends you can go to the Gold Club, which is always a fun night. Overall, Lamana is a great little hotel. I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The food is quite well priced, the indian buffett nights are especially good with high quality deserts. The staff are very friendly and the place has a overall nice atmosphere. Concierge are very helpful and friendly which is great to have. Sleep quality is pretty good. The place keeps a high degree of cleanliness. Defintely worth staying at Lamana.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at Lamana Hotel for this last week in February and found the place fantastic. Staff were extremely friendly and most helpful - service surprisingly great compared to what I would have expected and have received in Australia - always a friendly hello and staff quickly know you on a name basis. Gives an added homely atmosphere. Prices not out of sync to what I have experienced elsewhere in Port Moresby - that is the market I guess. It is close to Vision City (which have great movie theaters) and Waigani so its convenience cannot be under estimated especially with Moresby traffic. Rooms were clean and roomy and the complex gave you some fresh air breathing space - gym on site was perfect for a business hotel. Last night I enjoyed the Puri Puri chicken in Palazzo which I highly recommend; the breakfast buffet exactly what you want and need before busy days ahead. Curry menu for dinner and the Western Menu offered a great choice. In the challenges of a place like Papua New Guinea, this place is an oasis.

Room Tip: Ask if an upgrade is available especially if traveling on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.6 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
73 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
80 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamana Hotel

Property: Lamana Hotel
Address: 1 Famagusta Road, Port Moresby 495, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lamana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamana Hotel is a world of its own serving PNG for over 20 years and now with modern accommodation facilities, stylish conference rooms, Italian restaurant, Spices restaurant, Rio's Brazilian Steakhouse, Palazzo cafe, Lanes Ten Pin bowling. Located in the heart of Port Moresby CBD and just 5 minutes away from Jackson's International Airport; Lamana Hotel sets you close to the National Museum, Parliament House, Government offices and the University of PNG. They provide a free 24-hour shuttle bus for all its houseguests. They have 120 modern accommodation suites with individual controlled air conditioning, direct dial phones, free WiFi, in-room safes, refrigerator, cable TV, laundry service, room service & 24 hour security. The Lamana Hotel brings you a culinary worldly experience with 3 great restaurants - Spices restaurant open for breakfast, lunch & dinner, The Italian for authentic Italian cuisine and wines, open from lunch to dinner, Rio's Brazilian Steakhouse at The Temple open for dinner. With daily lunch specials, you are spoilt for choice to enjoy authentic flavors from around the world. Lamana Hotel also offers Conference and Meeting rooms ensuring an enjoyable and memorable conference. They offer packages designed to suit your organizations needs and your participants' expectations, with a choice of fully equipped conference rooms. After a workout in the Spartan Fitness center or a game on the outdoor tennis & futsal court, guests can enjoy a soothing massage at Lamana Spa and a fresh look at Trends Lamana Hair Salon. They also have an on site Dental Clinic and even a Travel agency. Lamana Hotel is famous for having the biggest and best nightlife in town with The Gold Club’s indoor bar and Gold Club open air Arena. You can try your luck on the poker machines, play a friendly match at the pool tables or try the more serious game of snooker at the Q Club Snooker room. There is live musical entertainment by the resident deejays and from Thursday to Saturday live bands at the Gold Club inside bar. The daily promotions in the evenings at the Gold Club ensure you can win cash, meal & drink vouchers or take part in a fun karaoke night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lamana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamana Port Moresby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing