We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regular (disappointed) guest”
Review of Lamana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamana Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Pak Thong Chai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“A regular (disappointed) guest”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unfortunately my Company choose to use Lamana Hotel for all our stays. Having been in and out of PNG for the last year and probably having stayed at Lamana for half of that time, the initial novelty and quirkiness of the Hotel has worn extremely thin.

The prices are normal by PNG standards but way over priced for the quality of the Hotel, Staff, Restaurant and Accommodation.

The Service in the Restaurant is often poor, last week, after waiting 45 mins for my meal I overheard the waitress say to the Manager how long I had been waiting, his reponse (which I overheard), was "What do you want me to do" another night I waited over an hour for a pizza, because they had forgotten to put the order through and they regularly forget to bring you the drink you order. After a week in the Hotel the Menu becomes extremely repetitive and boring although if you enjoy Indian food, you might be happy for 2 weeks.

If you're a light sleeper or not a drinker, the accommodation is not recommended for a Friday and Saturday night. The music in the Gold Club starts around 10pm and goes on until around 4am in the morning. The open air design of the Club means the music can be heard from almost all the rooms, including the extremely expensive Executive ones.

I have to compliment the cleaning staff though, they do a good job of keeping the place looking nice, although being told on Sunday I had to leave my room and waiting on the landing so the lady could clean was a bit strange.....

The Gym is small but reasonably well equipped and if you can find a tennis partner, the Court there is pretty good and floodlight.

Would I recommend a stay here? For a week or so, yes. If you plan on spending a longer period of time or have regular visits here, try to find something else.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the Gold Club as possible if your stay covers a Friday or Saturda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dohabhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    64
    30
    15
    8
See reviews for
2
10
16
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Lamana hotel is very well appointed for this part of the world. The staff are well organised and cleaning staff are always willing to assist where possible. The location is within walking distance to amenities and shops. Best of all the hotel provides secure transport from and to the airport, which if this is your first visit to PNG you will find comforting. Overall i would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a safe and comfortable sleep for a couple of days stay

Room Tip: Select the deluxe rooms recently updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClintonLaurelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamanaGoldClub, Manager at Lamana Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lamana soon & wish you a prosperous 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for a week in early December for work, so glad someone else was paying as it is expensive - but there are few options in Port Moresby; I was picked up at the airport in a clean minivan with very professional driver and friendly, helpful staff. Concierge and reception staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful. An average restaurant with limited healthy breakfast options but the Indian dishes were good. The restaurant flows out into an open bar/dance floor area where the locals party on the weekends.
The hotel has an unusual layout -stairs are all covered but open, so different to the usual box hotel configuration. Nice gardens.
My room was adequate - clean, minimalist, at the back of the hotel so nice and quiet. Everything worked except the wireless, which was variable - the signal was adequate about 50% of the time. K150 bought me 5 days of access. A small but very modern and well equipped gym can be found behind the main hotel building next to a tennis court; no pool unfortunately.
Like pretty much everywhere in Port Moresby the hotel complex is set behind a high fence. Just outside the entrance is a dusty area where taxis await your custom, and about 10 minutes walk away is Moresby's newest modern-looking shopping centre.
The drop -off at the airport is all part of the deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the club area, at the back of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamanaGoldClub, Manager at Lamana Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your response. We do have a pool that is located near the units by the Spartan gym. Hopefully we can show you on your next visit.
Have a prosperous 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The food is excellent at the hotels restaurant, also reasonably priced compared to other places. The Indian buffet on Thurs night is particularly good and better priced than Holiday Inn. The rooms and grounds are clean, the rooms are however rather small, but they do at least have space to open your luggage, and a good sized bathroom. The shower head was faulty but they fixed it the next day. I would avoid the pool - its not a good colour. Staff are generally nice.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room away from the entrance / lobby area on the weekend as the club is rather loud al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is ideal for a transit stop for a Fly In Fly Out worker. The rooms are clean & functional & the restaurant is a lovely place to indulge after weeks of camp style food. The airport shuttle is very good. In saying that if there was a requirement to spend a couple of days in POM, Lamana would be a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

It really hurts when you dig deep in yr purse to shell out kind of money in which one could've stayed in Atlantis or burj al arab of dubai. But believe me this is the best option avlbl in town.
Good location, friendly people, and abv all a fantastic multi cuisine restaurent where a strict veggie like me too can get some indian stuff to devour. I think tuesdays is Indian food night.
Reception is very warm and its a real pleasure talking to them especially when you do tele booking.
Best part is you tend to get a free 30 mins internet time every day which enables you to stay connected. Otherwise UAE phones dont 'roam' in PNG

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrbilgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed there on a business trip in Aug 2012. Strategically placed close to most government offices and the Vision City Mall. Staff tries very hard to please. The rooms are clean and the satellite TV channels are great. I especially liked the big and firm pillows. The beds are firm too. So it looks like it has been upgraded. The gym is great although the swimming pool is really for a dip and not for laps. The restaurant has a good menu and meals are good. I did not have a good experience with the Internet service provider who insisted I used 100MB in 10 min. When asked for report on this, I did not get it by the time I checked out. The daily newspaper seems to be inconsistent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realfatfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.6 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
73 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#5 of 15 in Port Moresby
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
80 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamana Hotel

Property: Lamana Hotel
Address: 1 Famagusta Road, Port Moresby 495, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lamana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamana Hotel is a world of its own serving PNG for over 20 years and now with modern accommodation facilities, stylish conference rooms, Italian restaurant, Spices restaurant, Rio's Brazilian Steakhouse, Palazzo cafe, Lanes Ten Pin bowling. Located in the heart of Port Moresby CBD and just 5 minutes away from Jackson's International Airport; Lamana Hotel sets you close to the National Museum, Parliament House, Government offices and the University of PNG. They provide a free 24-hour shuttle bus for all its houseguests. They have 120 modern accommodation suites with individual controlled air conditioning, direct dial phones, free WiFi, in-room safes, refrigerator, cable TV, laundry service, room service & 24 hour security. The Lamana Hotel brings you a culinary worldly experience with 3 great restaurants - Spices restaurant open for breakfast, lunch & dinner, The Italian for authentic Italian cuisine and wines, open from lunch to dinner, Rio's Brazilian Steakhouse at The Temple open for dinner. With daily lunch specials, you are spoilt for choice to enjoy authentic flavors from around the world. Lamana Hotel also offers Conference and Meeting rooms ensuring an enjoyable and memorable conference. They offer packages designed to suit your organizations needs and your participants' expectations, with a choice of fully equipped conference rooms. After a workout in the Spartan Fitness center or a game on the outdoor tennis & futsal court, guests can enjoy a soothing massage at Lamana Spa and a fresh look at Trends Lamana Hair Salon. They also have an on site Dental Clinic and even a Travel agency. Lamana Hotel is famous for having the biggest and best nightlife in town with The Gold Club’s indoor bar and Gold Club open air Arena. You can try your luck on the poker machines, play a friendly match at the pool tables or try the more serious game of snooker at the Q Club Snooker room. There is live musical entertainment by the resident deejays and from Thursday to Saturday live bands at the Gold Club inside bar. The daily promotions in the evenings at the Gold Club ensure you can win cash, meal & drink vouchers or take part in a fun karaoke night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lamana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamana Port Moresby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing