We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value hotel in POM”

Paddy's Hotel and Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Moresby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paddy's Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #5 of 10 Port Moresby B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best value hotel in POM”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have lived in Port Moresby (POM) for a few years and also travel there often. I am often asked about "what hotel is the best value for money". The answer is simple - "Paddy's Hotel".

Hotels in POM tend to come in two forms - Very Expensive or Very Cheap. The expensive ones are fine but cost always outweighs the value. The cheap ones are (well for most people) very bad. Paddy's is one of the very few hotels (and the best one) that is quite good without costing a small fortune.

So if you want luxury, stay at Airways; if you want convenience to town, stay at Crowne or Grand Papua (or Ela Beach Hotel); if you want fun, stay at Lamana, if you are there long-term, stay at the Holiday Inn; but if you want value, stay at Paddy's.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well the Prime Minister owns part of this hotel and obviously the attention to detail in this new hotel was an absolute priority. Right down to the quality soaps. No need to holler for an iron or tiptoe down the hall in your dressing gown for an iron, its in the room. Complimentary coffee and tea (no biscuits) but all in a nice and secure gated and secure complex.
Stucco walls and well furnished with large screen tv, they could do with some shrubbery on the balconies and in the foyer but overall one of the best I've stayed in here in Moresby. Note this is very good value also being a little cheaper then counterparts offering similar.

Room Tip: No pool, no lift or elevator so I chose the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Paddys is a very reasonable(for PNG hotel). It is clean and does its best for affordable hotel in Papua New Guinea.

I wanted to go to dinner outside the hotel one night so they sent their driver with me as I was traveling alone. He kept me company and made sure I was safe.

Steven in guest services was especially helpful with everything.

Only negative is the internet is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LostInAsiaSince2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After trekking Kokoda we were put up in this relatively new motel in the heart of Boroko. Not sure what to expect as the area outside was a little rough looking we were pleasantly surprised once inside. The staff were very helpful, but you could tell they were not used to a group of 23 turn up at once. Bags were taken to our rooms, large and spacious. The rooms were very quiet and when the blinds closed over the outside world was gone. They did a great deal to wash all our clothes, packs and boots ( taking them all night), and also taking out and about on the motel owned transport. We had a lovely dinner in a conference room, unfortunately this was off the 'nightclub' and we had to ask for the music to be turned down. Very peaceful sleep, great breakfast and coffee. There is work continuing at the motel, pity they were not putting in a pool! Good work for a new motel in an emerging area. Nice and close to airport, Poet Moresby CBD and Ella Beach.

Room Tip: Make sure the door locks correctly, our first room didn't, but we were relocated to another room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Attentive staff, clean rooms, comfortable bed and I felt safe behind the fence. It is in a rather dodgy area of POM but it is well run. Breakfast is fine and there is a bar and a nightclub onsite. The noise from the nightclub could not be heard in my room so no problem there. The bar and nightclub attracted mainly locals on the night I was there.

A cheaper alternative to the mega expensive hotels of a similar standard in better areas. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Secure parking at ground level and rooms above. No problems with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l1ves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOLD COAST
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Paddy’s Hotel is brand new, centrally located and a great alternative to the big name hotels in POM. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful, rooms are big and very clean, restaurant food is exceptional & they have the best coffee in town. Like everywhere in PNG, internet is expensive. There isn’t any street appeal or grandeur porte-cochere to Paddy’s Hotel, really doesn’t matter anyway! An ideal hotel for the businessman. I highly recommend Paddy’s Hotel, Andrew Fiebig.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ANDREW F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
0.0 mi away
Raintree Lodge
Raintree Lodge
#1 of 10 in Port Moresby
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
425 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laguna Hotel
Laguna Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#9 of 15 in Port Moresby
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy's Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Hotel and Apartments

Property: Paddy's Hotel and Apartments
Address: 111 Boroko NCD | PO Box 4516, Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Moresby
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing