We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ONLY place to stay in Port Moresby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airways Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Airways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to stay in Port Moresby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

Port Moresby may be the saddest town in the world. I can say that because I've spent a week in both Mogadishu (Somalia) and Karthoum (Sudan). The Airways Hotel is an oasis of calm, secure from the "rascals" outisde thanks to an overwhelming force of security guards. The grounds are lovely, the staff (including even the guards with automatic weapons) is friendly, its three bars are beckoning, and the formal restaurant, Bacchus, may well be the best in PNG.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterportez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    143
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
11
54
40
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

This hotel is mainly frequented by company paid guests, miners in transit and executives. Most would not stay here if they had to pay. Occupancy is at 90+% also. Its hard to get a room here at times. Reception and hotel staff are all very well trained though sadly are paid a pitence compared to the rates being charged. These rates will only get worse due to the lack of hotel rooms and the massive influx of expat miners and business operators.
All doors throughout are accessed by your electronic room key for security
The standard rooms in the old wing compare with say 3 star standard type hotel rooms in Australia. Small with TV, ensuite, two queen beds, room safe and so on.
The new wings has even more expensive rooms clearly targeting more senior expat and PNG executives.
The pool is nice though very few guests use it, most are businessmen/woman. Its open 7am till 8pm and adjoins the bar. There are showers and change room for both genders.
A pool attendant supervises and hands out towels.
The restaurant has excellent food at fairly reasonable prices with a buffet bar.
Security is well managed and guests are very safe
Airport transfers would very well as they have a staff member on permanent standby at the airport with a sign. Its only 4 minutes to the hotel.
From all the rooms you return to the lobby and take the lift to the 3rd floor then walk up a steep walkway to the restaurant, bar and pool.
If you dont want to stay in yet another hotel why not try Loloata Island Resort which is only 1/2 hour in total from the airport. See my review on that. All inclusive, bus and boat transfers, food, room and a fantastic diving resort or a place to chill out. You would not even know you are in Port Moresby, a special and quiet place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights, loved the gym and the staff.
Nice clean rooms and although expensive value for money

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leapeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

There are times you experience the unexpected - First class service, well appointed rooms and staff that are friendly and seem to take pleasure in being able to serve you.

First class.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacWexfordIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

the place was good .. im with my colleagues at KK Kingston.... i miss the place and the people around... scarlet

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarlette_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

I was sent to this hotel for 1 night when Air Nuigini left me stranded in Port Moresby on my way to Buka Island. Accommodations in PNG can be hit or miss, but I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and safety (you are behind huge gates with guards). The room was comfortable and very clean. I was able to use my phone in the room to contact my family in Buka to let them know what had happened to me (luckily Buka had just gotten its first cell phone tower) and was able to check my email in their business center.

The restaurant was excellent as well.

When my sister and brother-in-law (who live in Mt Hagen) found out where I had stayed they were very impressed and said Airways Hotel is the nicest hotel in the country.

As much as I had enjoyed staying with a local family the night before in Port Moresby, Airways Hotel was just what I needed after a long, hot, frustrating day in which Air Niugini thwarted my plans at every turn!

  • Liked — The Restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Remote Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

Beautiful setting, very nicely decorated rooms, a great restaurant and friendly staff. Port Moresby is not the safest or most attractive city in the World and this Hotel makes you feels like you are not in the city at all which is a great thing. The one gripe I have is that wireless access comes at extortionate prices. Apart from that, the Airways should be your number once choice in Port Moresby.

  • Liked — Great Rooms
  • Disliked — Expensive Wireless Connection
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Dubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.4 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.8 mi away
Laguna Hotel
Laguna Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel

Property: Airways Hotel
Address: Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airways Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airways Hotel is nestled into the mountainside in its own botanical gardens with stunning views from crystal clear waters of Bootless Bay to the majestic mountains of the Owen Stanley Ranges. While its surroundings are remarkable, the hotel's international reputation has been built on equally unique interiors, not to mention first-class service and a passionate attention to detail. The hotel offers finely appointed rooms, exquisite decor and world-class facilities in an environment that is calm, secure and spacious. You will also find one of Port Moresby's most popular social hubs, a place for business meetings and networking, and weekend family relaxation. While princes are always welcome, you don't have to be a prince to stay at Airways. From the moment you enter its gates, you'll know you have arrived at a place apart: a unique and unrivalled hotel where your convenience and comfort is our priority. Airways. Always a pleasure ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Airways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing