We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice in POM”
Review of Airways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice in POM”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very nice hotel, massive bedrooms with all the nice bits, good dining and a great gym also. Security is tight and that's a big thing in POM. Company paid and I was surprised when I learnt of the charges!

Room Tip: Be aware runway is VERY close by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waryonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SushilGordon, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hello Waryonetwo

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our facilities and service.

I am not sure as to why you were charged as you say. Please send me all the details and I will personally look at that and get back to you.My email is gm@airways.com.pg

We hope that we can see you again soon at the Airways Hotel.

With Best Regards!
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    150
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
11
60
43
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Airways Hotel is in a prime spot for travel to other destinations in PNG. The room was adequate and service was good. The Gym has pro equipment and overlooks the airport which has a unique view, all in all good bang for the buck.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Hello Paul W

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, our food and services.

Our rates are very comparable to other hotels in the city and in some caes lower in certain category. We are very clear in our published rates on our website and other booking channels.
Certainly value for money.

Thank you once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Airways Hotel on your next visit to POM.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for a short business trip, I must say, the management was very helpful and courteous, the staff were all eager to help, food was great and the gym is excellent! The view is great too...

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello Steve K

Thank you for your comments.

Happy to know that your business trip was succesful and your stay at Airways was a comfortable one. Next time you have to try and see the sunrise from the infinity pool at the Health Club. It is magical.

We hope to see you back again when you are back in POM.

With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Airways is a great hotel with high volume of staff so when you need something they so it with a smile. The hotel has a lot facilities, spectacular gym, pool area and a restaurant over looking the port moresby airport. I will recommend it for business getaways. Thumps up!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sadiq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello Sadiq A

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and service.

Our team members are naturally friendly and warm and like to ensure that our guests are well looked after.

We are different from other hotels as we are a bit speard out with lots of public spaces to sit and relax or do work. Many hot spots for free WIFI internet surfing.

I have to agree that our Gym is the best. Its also has a nice infinity pool, squash courts, Tennis court, sports Message rooms, steam and suana rooms and a big studio for Yoga etc. Its free for all our house guests.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon at the Airways Hotel.

With Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

After bailing out of the Lamana (sister company) because of a raw deal, this was a very pleasant surprise. And not rhat much more expensive. Thereis an old aeroplane on a pole that is an interesting feature added to the restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bimroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello Bimroy

Firstly my sincere apologies for the inconvinience as you mentioned.
I am pleased that you moved to Airways Hotel.
Thank you for your review. Some guests still think that we are expensive however it is far from the truth. Our Bacchus and Fountain rooms are very reasonably priced and are a good value for money when you compare. Yes I agree that our Dakota Suites are expensive as they are best of the best and when the guests book them they expect the best. We also have some nice packages on our website that add value to your bookings. Please have a look when booking next time.

The plane is Dakaota DC4 and soon it will be a Gallery with many artifects and pictures from that era. Something we are working on.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we will see you more often at The Airways Hotel.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The view from the restaurant and bar is brilliant overlooking the airport from an elevated position is both relaxing and interesting.

The foyer and Check in is impressive as are the prices but the armed security comes at a cost.

The Meals are great with a goodly variety but not that expensive for what is offered.

The meeting rooms have all the required technical support and a quiet, the internet is fast and reasonably priced.

The guest rooms are spacious well appointed but do have the occasional mosquito buzzing around, so its worth asking for a can of spray and treat the room of an everning

Room Tip: Get a room in the new wing and spray the room nightly for mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustang645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hello Mustang645

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you think so highly of our hotel and service.

Appreciate you pointing out the Mosquito in your room.

At Airways compound we do fogging on regular basis and pest control on daily basis to control mosquitos and other insects as we understand that we are in the tropics. We can not control what comes from outside as we are open from all sides. I would imagine it is pretty similar to Queensland Australia.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Airways Hotel on your next visit.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Airways Hotel is a great place to stay while in PNG. The rooms are quite nice and relatively spacious. There are amazing gym and spa facilities and a great lap pool for swimming in the morning. The restaurant by the pool has great views of the airport and surrounding area and a wonderful buffet on the weekend. After a few days in Port Moresby, you'll find that the majority of business is done in this hotel and everyone who is anyone comes through the hotel on a regular basis.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello Radu84

Thank you for taking the time to write comments on our services and facilities.
Our Spa has won "Best Hotel Spa" for 2013 and 2014. Very experienced and qualified physical therapists. A must stop over after a flight.

Vue restaurant has breakfast, lunch and dinner international buffet and also ala carte. Wednesday lunch Seafood Buffet, Saturdays is Indian buffet and Sunday is Bbq buffet. The Deli KC has many specials daily and Italian Anti Pasti Buffet on Thursdays.

Our hotel is sperad out with many public areas for guests to sit and relax and do business meetings. In addition to we alos have many borad rooms and function rooms for the guests to choose from. The 7 Cs, Deli KC, Vue bar, Bacchus bar and four lounges can be used for one to one meetings.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon at Airways Hotel on your next visit to PNG.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.4 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
73 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#5 of 15 in Port Moresby
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#9 of 15 in Port Moresby
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
199 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
166 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel

Property: Airways Hotel
Address: Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airways Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airways Hotel is nestled into the mountainside in its own botanical gardens with stunning views from crystal clear waters of Bootless Bay to the majestic mountains of the Owen Stanley Ranges. While its surroundings are remarkable, the hotel's international reputation has been built on equally unique interiors, not to mention first-class service and a passionate attention to detail. The hotel offers finely appointed rooms, exquisite decor and world-class facilities in an environment that is calm, secure and spacious. You will also find one of Port Moresby's most popular social hubs, a place for business meetings and networking, and weekend family relaxation. While princes are always welcome, you don't have to be a prince to stay at Airways. From the moment you enter its gates, you'll know you have arrived at a place apart: a unique and unrivalled hotel where your convenience and comfort is our priority. Airways. Always a pleasure ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Airways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing