We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Airways Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Lamana Hotel(Port Moresby)
$165
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Papua Hotel(Port Moresby)
$176
$168
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$148
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ela Beach Hotel(Port Moresby)
$135
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Hotel(Port Moresby)
$164
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paddy's Hotel and Apartments(Port Moresby)(Great Value!)
$117
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Shady Rest Hotel(Port Moresby)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveler rating
268
156
37
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
156
37
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbacchus restaurantdakota wingarmed guardsbutler servicean oasisbliss spaclose to the airportplace to staypapua new guineabusiness tripappointed roomsinternational airportgreat gymother hotelsfine diningair niuginiminutes from the airport
Filter
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 481 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Don't bother forking out your hard earned cash on this stupid hotel! When a hotel is this expensive you'd think that the service would be stellar... it was far from it. While staying there recently we had breakfast at the View Restaurant. There the female staff clustered in a corner and stared at our group. Constantly pointing and gossiping - some of them even went behind a potted plant just so they could stare at us. This made us completely uncomfortable. We complained to the concierge - however we could not finish our breakfast in that type of environment. So we HAD to pay the full price of a buffet breakfast and get out of there. You'd think that because it won so many international awards that it's staff would be more professional and to the standard of other international hotels!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SurfnSandEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Hello HotelierWellingtonNZ

Thank you for sharing your views.

We take great pride in serving our guests and have done so for the past 25 years in Port Moresby PNG. Some of our staff have been with us for many many years are very trusted and loyal. We receive many good comments about our friendly staff. We have guests from around the world and also from PNG. We have never heard a comment like this.
Its a shame that you felt this way. Our Brands Director also spoke with one of your guest regarding that on the same very day and apologised for the inconvinience.


Regards
SG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is nice but suffers from poor customer appreciation and is far to expensive.
My last check in put me in a room at 5AM with not internet, no minibar, no room service and not bathtub.
It is fancy but not very user friendly.

Room Tip: Choose the east expensive room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dunnekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hello dunnekk

Thank you for your views on your recent stay at Airways Hotel.
We have three tier of rooms. Bacchus Wing, Fountain Wing and Dakota Wing and they all different rates starting form very competative starting rate to more exclusive with 24 hour lounge service with complimentary beverages and food, FREE internet, butler service and much more.
For ALL our room catagories there is 24 hour room service, reception, concierge and security. Mini bars is not a standard in our hotel rooms and we do not advertise that however we are only too happy to serve food and beverages 24 hours through room service or set a special Mini bar on request. The Vue bar opens at 6.00am to 10.00am and our guests are welcome to have a drink there any time. Bacchus Bar remains open till very late hours of the morning often. Our amenities like the toileteries, bed linen, towels and fittings are of very high quality and grade. All rooms are with WiFi capabilities however the base rate rooms does not include free internet. I am sure that you are aware of the cost of the internet in PNG generally. I would also like to invite you to have a look at some booking website to compare our room rates with the other hotel choices in POM.
Yes you are right that some of our rooms do not have bath tubs however there are a number of room that do have bath tubs.
We leave the choice to our guests to decide which room category they like to book as each guest has a different preference.
Repeatedly our regular guests have told us that our hotel provides a top quality of service and facilities that we are proud of.

Thank you again for your comments.

Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has an airplane theme. From all the details in the rooms to the real plane hanging I'm the backyard. The rooms are spacious, clean and well accommodated. The service is excellent so is the security. I am yearning to go back to that place again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Hello IAG48

It is flattering to receive such good comments from a very senior world travelled contributor like yourself. Thank you for your comments.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are coming back. It takes commitment and care to keep the property in good shape and keep up the service. I must say our staff are always willing to please our guests and they do it from the heart.

Next time you must make some time to have a look at the hangging Dakota Plane from the inside. You can still see the runways from the cockpit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Airways Hotel soon.

Very Best Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here during a recent layover in Port Moresby and was pleasantly surprised. Have stayed in many first class Hotels all over the world and this is right up there!!. Is expensive of course but the service is fantastic as is the food and all the facilities all 4.5 - 5 star international standards. Pool area is great as is the bar and restaurant area which has great views over the Airport and ranges. Where the hotel really impressed me however was through the architecture and interior decor which was all exceptional quality. The recreation facilities are excellent; gym is well stocked and will satisfy any traveler, there is also a tennis court and child minding facility as well.
Enjoyed a massage at Bliss Spa which is top notch and comparable to any Spa facility i have used abroad.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay here while and would definitely return.

Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Have a drink at the Bacchus Bar in the Dakota wing of the property.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello Derek 1971

Thank you for recent visit at the Airways. I am happy to know that you had a chance to visit most of our facilities.
Generally guests who only book through on line do not know the extent of the beauty, services and the class of our hotel. We are not part of a chain hotel and sometimes the guests prefer to go with a chain hotel with what they are confortable with and I can understand that fully. The hotel has been here for the past 25 years and has grown from Bacchus Wing to Dakota Wing under the same owners. They invest back in the property to keep it fresh and also in staff trainning so our guests can enjoy the facilities and services. Thats is why we are the best Hotel in PNG, Leading hotel in Australasia and the World according to the Worl Travel Awards for 2012.

Thank you for your kind comment sand We look forward to welcoming you back to the Airways soon.

Happy New Year!

With Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

One night of passion and good times .... as long as you don't mind lights out at 9pm.

Fabulous decor and attention to detail. A great hotel in Port Moresby and world class. Yet, it is a shame that guests cannot enjoy a game of billiards or a drink after the restaurant closes. At least the beds are nice .... so we didn't mind the relatively un-adventurous end to our night of hijinks. We had an early start anyway, so it was great to get a good night's sleep.

Not recommended if you are looking for a nightcap or an a.m.-to-bed adventure. Otherwise, a beautiful hotel. Big thumbs up to decorating and interior design.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello Anita

Thank you for choosing Airways Hotel for your recent stay and your comments.
As you may have noticed the 4 Lounges in Dakota Wing and Fountain Wing are open 24 hours with Butlers in attendance. The Havanaba closes at 12 Mid night.

Yes you are right this is not a place for late night caps etc. Perhaps on your next visit I can recommned our sister hotel's night club which is the best in town and opens till very late.

Once again thank you and we look forward for your custom on your next visit to POM.

Happy New Year!

With Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews