We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poolside Restuarant - Lovely ambience but problem with contact number”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Airways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Poolside Restuarant - Lovely ambience but problem with contact number”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I live in Port Moresby and we enjoy eating at the poolside and deli resturant. However, whenever I go to book I get extremely frustrated because there is no easy way to look up the hotel contact number on the internet. Airways webpage only has email contact. Unfortunately local phone books always go missing. I did save the phone number but lost details when my phone was stolen (not at Airways!).

I wonder if guests wanting to stay from PNG or overseas experience frustration as well when they don't have easy access to a phone number so they can talk to someone direct. A direct link to your restuarnat contact numbers would be great.

Anyway, apart from that, we enjoy dining at Airways - clean, safe and good food.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Hello NC

Thank you for your comments and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and meals at the Poolside VUE restaurant. and took the time to write the feedback.

Thank you for pointing out the phone number. I will have our IT team look at it as a priority.

Please call me directly for your next booking or anything else. I am available on this number any time. 7281 3635.

I look forward to welcoming you back at the Airways.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    146
    33
    13
    8
See reviews for
11
55
40
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed at the end of a business trip to PNG and was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel after seeing the rest of Port Moresby, so it was a real treat to be welcomed to the hotel, advised of the champagne tasting and to enter my air conditioned luxurious room.

Who wouldn't be able to relax here? Gorgeous room, with great lounge suite I could chill out on and catch up on some work. The bathroom was also great and I relaxed in the bath whilst watching TV. Oh and the sleep I eventually had when I got back to the hotel was brilliant. How do they keep it so quiet right at the airport?

The staff in the restaurant on the roof were so helpful to find me a table to meet my friends to have a nightcap even though there was a confernce keeping them busy at the same time, and I just loved my stay. I wish we could take some of the staff home to treat our guests the same way I was treated. Such a fantastic, although brief stay, I am recomending everyone to stay.
I think the room was a Dakota King room.= abd U hope the next time I visit I can stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mars_nz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear BayviewHotel
Please accept my sincere apologies for not responding to your comments any earlier. To be honest, I think I missed it somehow.
Thank you for the wonderful write up for Airways Hotel. More importantly, I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us eventhough your schedule was hectic as you say.
Our four 24 Hour lounges are attended by our butlers and serve Champagne, Port, Sherry and Champagne along with breakfast, all day snacks and Martini Hour in the evenings.
We train our staff on an ongoing basis to ensure that our guests get looked after better during their stay with us. Matter of fact this is one of our core value.
Please send me an email and I promise we will upgrade you to our most luxurious Dakota Suite with no extra charge so you can relax more this time and really pamper yourself.

Thank you once again!

Best Regards
Sushil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times mainly because my employer chooses to put us there. My summary based on around 4-5 stays here over around 12 months or so:
a. Grossly overpriced
b. food is average on the best day and rubbish on the worst day. Menu rarely changes.
c. Internet charges are hilariously expensive
d. Last time they gave my room away despite a booking being made, took them forever to find me another room which was woeful
e. if you plan to do any laundry at this hotel be prepared for a shock when you see the cost. You could buy new clothes for what they charge for washing

I am a slow learner but I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the carpark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kosta100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Kosta 100

Thank you for your business over last 12 months and your feedback on your recent stay.
I offer my apologies for the inconvenience for the wait while we found another room for you. We have different room rates for our three different wings based on the level of inclusions like 24 hour butler service, complimentary ironing, shoe polishing, laundry,light breakfast with Champagne, light lunch, Martini hour from 5pm to 7 pm with hot & cold canapes and all day Coffee and Tea with fresh fruits, homemade cookies and Iced tea and access to our health club.
We have recently changed our menus in Bacchus Restaurant, Deli KC, Vue Restaurant ala carte and Buffet. Daily specials change daily for lunch and dinner.
Internet is expensive in PNG I agree.
We believe our prices for the laundry are reasonable.
All of our rooms have natural lights and most also have balconies. I must admit that only few rooms on the ground floor window do face the car park and the hedges and greenery is kept well to minimise the effect.
Once again my apologies for the inconvenience.
I would sincerely like you to return to the Airways to see the changes that we have made.
We look forward to seeing you at the Airways soon.

Very Best Regrads
Sushil Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hotel quoted 3 room rates for a 12 day stay, each rate 1/3 higher than previous rate. Overpriced and overrated facility. Rooms look good but impractical and uncomfortable. TV and seating too far apart. You have to pay for internet service by purchasing cards at business centre. BEWARE removal of cards by staff!!! A 50 usd Internat card was removed from room, and I was advised I had lost it/Mis-placed the card. Unfortunately (3) others also 'lost' their cards....hotel blamed customer, then would look into it....then would email resolution....NOTHING done. Cards removed from several rooms indicates problems. LOCK EVERTHING UP!!!!
Room was damp.
Disappointing is understatement, will NEVER return to that hotel again.

Room Tip: Watch for price gouging. Rooms to airfield better than to rockface and buildings at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Hello B W

Thank you for your feedback and my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the loss of your internet card.
We have three wings in the hotel, Bacchus, Fountain and Dakota Wing, all three have different rates based on different configrations and services available to those type of rooms. The rooms are professionally designed for comfort of our guests including the televisons. I am sorry to hear that it was not to your personal preference.
I am very disappointed that our team members didnot replace your card. I would like to mention that we advise and recommend that all guests lock their valuables in the safe that is provided in all rooms like most other hotels.
Internet is usually very expensive in PNG. Saying that we are working on couple of options to increase MBs per Kina spent.
PS: We still have an IPHONE 4 in our lost and found department that was left behind by one of the other 3 guests. It was turned in by our housekeeping staff while cleaning the room after check out.

I would very much like you to return to Airways Hotel when you are in Port Moresby and we will replace your card for the same value.

Once again thank you for your commnets and my sincere apologies.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

This was the last hotel on my trip in country. Was looking forward to a bit of luxury. Was I every disappointed, the service was crap in all areas. Dinner in the restaurant took 45 minutes to arrow and it was only a samon steak. They couldn't blame this on work load because the place was only a third full.

The security was so over the top as to be oppressive. This place makes you. feel like you are in a cage.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gollum4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Hello Gullum4242
Thank you for your feedback.
Please accept my sincere apologies. It is rather diappointing to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with on your last visit to Airways.
We feel that the security for all are guests is very important. and we would very much like like our guests to feel secure while staying with us and enjoy their stay.

Just to prove that we care strongly about our guests, we are pleased to offer your next stay fully complimentary when you return to PNG and to Airways!!
Once again my apologies and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Fitted out with bits of airplanes this place has a good atmosphere, drinks around the pool at dusk was a highlight as the hotel has a good view. Food including breakfast was good, beer cold, staff very friendly. Staying anywhere in PNG is very expensive but this place is worth a little extra. The only slight downside was that when a colleague arrived we switched to save money to a flat down the road but inside the hotel complex. Basic, creaky, dirty and poorly equipped. Big mistake, stay in the hotel!

If you are interested in the handicrafts being sold in the hotel and are brave enough to venture outside you'll save 95%. But it's your call/ life

Room Tip: Avoid the appartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBoyDKGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear UKBoyDKGirl

Thank you for your kind compliments and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Airways Hotel on your recent visit. Its always nice to hear positive feedback from our happy guests.

We make every effort to ensure that our guests have a memoriable stay with us. I have shared your comments with the team and they are pleased to know that their effort has been recognised.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Airways Hotel in the very near future.

With Very Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Hotels in Port Morebsy are very expensive but often very poor value for money. In the case of Airways, you really do get what you pay for. The room (or suite, to be more precise) was beautifully appointed (even with its own nespresso machine), the service (inlcuding 'butler') was attentive and the hotel wifi worked well (much better than the dongle I had purchased).
I was working a lot so used room-service quite a bit. Either way the food in the hotel was very good- I particularly like the Deli next to the pool (great coffee) and in fact that is where they make sandwiches ordered by room service.
I did find time for a few visits to the amazing 'gym' however.
If I had a quibble it was that it was hard to get transport in the evening. It's a pity the hotel don't assist with this as taxis can be unreliable, especially after hours.
Overall, a hassle-free way to experience Port Moresby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulyssesonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Hello Ulyssesonline

Thank you for your kind comments and I am very pleased to know that you had a memoriable stay with us. I am happy to know that you enjoyed our food and in particular our KC Deli Coffee. We use PNG's finest Coffee and our staff is trained periodically by professional Baristas to ensure good quality brew. PS: Try our 7C cafe's coffee too next time as we do it differently there.
I appreciate that you commented on our Health and Raquet Club, which has state of the art equipment and spectacular views while working out. The pool hangs half way in the space!!
We only use reputable Taxi company to ensure the safety of our guests and have no control over their time of arrival however our guests can use our hotel Mini Vans and VIP cars for Airport pick up and drop off and sometimes a drop off to the town.
Please give us an opportunity next time to arrange our hotel car for your city drop off with our compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Airways!

Best Regards
Sushil Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.4 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#9 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.8 mi away
Laguna Hotel
Laguna Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel

Property: Airways Hotel
Address: Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airways Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airways Hotel is nestled into the mountainside in its own botanical gardens with stunning views from crystal clear waters of Bootless Bay to the majestic mountains of the Owen Stanley Ranges. While its surroundings are remarkable, the hotel's international reputation has been built on equally unique interiors, not to mention first-class service and a passionate attention to detail. The hotel offers finely appointed rooms, exquisite decor and world-class facilities in an environment that is calm, secure and spacious. You will also find one of Port Moresby's most popular social hubs, a place for business meetings and networking, and weekend family relaxation. While princes are always welcome, you don't have to be a prince to stay at Airways. From the moment you enter its gates, you'll know you have arrived at a place apart: a unique and unrivalled hotel where your convenience and comfort is our priority. Airways. Always a pleasure ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing