We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury - the PNG way”
Review of Airways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Luxury - the PNG way”
Reviewed December 29, 2007

This hotel is of a rather high standard. I wouldn't go so far as calling it luxurious, but it has made a few decent attempts to provide quality and comfort to its residents. The location of the hotel is very close to the main international airport.

Once you get through the security gates, which are standard for most high end hotels in PNG, you will see a modern hotel with touches of traditional PNG motifs integrated in the decor. The premises are clean, no matter where you go in the hotel. The staff are all very friendly, every single one of them. I was most impressed with the service at the Bacchus Restaurant and the Havanaba cigar lounge.

The room itself was spacious. The decor of the room also shows use of PNG themes. Welcome fruits and bottles of water are available on arrival. The bathroom was a little small. Basic amenities are provided and are not restocked regularly. The bed was a proper double bed, rather than having two single beds pushed together. This made for a comfortable night's sleep everytime.

The hotel facilities had its positives and negatives. Firstly, the internet connection was up and down. They have wireless internet available, but at times, the connection would fail throughout the hotel. I was surprised when I tried to use the gym and found out that only people booked in rooms 68 and above could use the gym. Otherwise, a fee of 53 kina for the entire day was required. Not sure why they needed to charge extra for a gym and a first for me in any hotel with a gym. The gym was quite impressive though, as it was brand new and didn't have many people making use of it. The pool was also under-utilised, even though it was conveniently located next to a bar. I should warn you that the pool is quite close to the bar, with bar patrons able to watch your every move. So bear this in mind if you're self conscious and not keen on lots of people watching you swim.

The restaurants in the hotel are not too bad. The Poolside restaurant is perfect for breakfast. The view overlooks the mountains near Port Moresby, where you can witness the mist blanketing the valleys. You can also watch views of the runway with aircraft coming through periodically. The meals themselves are ok. The poached eggs are overcooked for my liking, so I would recommend ordering them fried, scrambled or maybe an omelette. Dinner at the Poolside Restaurant is not so great, where a menu offering little variation. Bacchus is the fine dining option within the hotel. The service is quite good, although I wouldn't say the meals were outstanding. It is certainly the better place to eat within the entire hotel. If you're interested in drinks, I would highly recommend the Havanaba cigar lounge. They have the finest scotches available.

Overall, with some disappointing aspects of the hotel, this is the highest standard you will find in Port Moresby. So I would highly recommend this as the place to stay.

  • Liked — The hard-working and professional staff
  • Disliked — Gym access not being available to all guests
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    146
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
12
57
40
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

This hotel is above the norm in PNG, the rooms are fairly nice depending on which ones you stay in. I was booked in the apartment style rooms in the second building but soon changed as it had a fair few creepy crawlies in it. The room i moved into the main building was a alot smaller, but overall more comfortable.
Both rooms had good air-con which is vital in PNG. Breakfast was below average but the evening meals were okay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very close to the airport (about 3mins drive) and operates a shuttle to and fro.

  • Liked — nice rooms
  • Disliked — Bugs and Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank -_-_dharms_g_-_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

Good old comfy, funky Airways is the perfect gateway to PNG. Some waitresses have facial tattoos, some restaurant managers have bright red betel nut grins, housekeeping staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating, and there is even an "IT concierge" in the business center. Rooms are basic 3 or 4 star and quite comfortable. The gym is extraordinary, the spa is lovely, and security is taken very seriously.

One caution: The pool, deli, several restaurants (including the buffet) and most shops are a steep climb from the rooms. The climb involves 2 staircases and a longish inclined walkway.

The food is very good for PNG, although service in the buffet restaurant is slow and service in the deli is glaciallly so.

  • Liked — Pool, restaurant, and lounge area -- great views!
  • Disliked — Shower screamed like a banshee -- but there was always hot water!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Talltrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts., England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

I have stayed at the Airways hotel on two occasions during all to short visits to PNG on business. Airways offers and maintains a high standard and my stays have always been comfortable and enjoyable. The "climb" to the restaurant is worth the exertion, both for the standard of the cuisine and the spectacular view across the airport to the hills beyond.

  • Liked — Maintained level of comfort.
  • Disliked — Not having enough time to really enjoy it.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duck Key, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza in POM on many occasions, but sometimes for expediency, need to lob closer to the airport. The Airways has a very welcoming atmosphere and staff that just want to help out where they can. Pick up from Jacksons' Airport is immediate, and you get whisked to the Hotel..check in is a breeze, and then you can start relaxing. Very professional service, and excellent meeting rooms/facilities handy. You are made to feel welcome here, and can relate to the staff on a first name basis, (which helps immensely) and get things organized. If you're staying for business of a fly through, it makes no difference, the service is strictly Polynesian, and very professional. Highly recommended, and always a delight to lob here.

  • Liked — Proximity to airport
  • Disliked — Nothing really...everything is spot on.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RickPorgera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINSTON SALEM, NC. USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

I have done business in POM, PNG over a period of several years and have stayed at the AIRWAYS HOTEL probably a total of 30-45 nights in this period. It is one of the most comfortable and hospitable small hotels I have ever been to. The facility is constantly being modernized and is world class today. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to make you comfortable.The food and bar area around the pool are a great way to unwind after a stressful day working. The Bacchus Restaurant is one of the best European style eateries I have ever seen. Great menu selection and impeccable service. The property has excellent security and is a welcome sanctuary in an area one would least expect it. The scenery, especially in the evening looking down at the airport and the sea, is spectacular.I will never forget the sound of a heavy rain shower on the tin roof of the Retaurant on the hill as I enjoyed a locally brewed beer. It does not get much better than that. If you stay here, prepare yourself for an extremely pleasant surprse and enjoy it!!

  • Liked — clean and safe
  • Disliked — neighborhood
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank roscoe127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2007

The hotel was clean, nice large rooms, beautifully kept grounds, very friendly and helpful staff. Stayed twice during our trip, and both times it exceeded my expectations. Great buffet meals as well as cook to order.......Nice pool, felt safe and comfortable at all times there.

  • Liked — Clean, pretty and great employees
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sbmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.4 mi away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#10 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#7 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.8 mi away
Laguna Hotel
Laguna Hotel
#12 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#11 of 15 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel

Property: Airways Hotel
Address: Jacksons Parade | Jacksons International Airport, Port Moresby P O Box no 1942, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airways Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airways Hotel is nestled into the mountainside in its own botanical gardens with stunning views from crystal clear waters of Bootless Bay to the majestic mountains of the Owen Stanley Ranges. While its surroundings are remarkable, the hotel's international reputation has been built on equally unique interiors, not to mention first-class service and a passionate attention to detail. The hotel offers finely appointed rooms, exquisite decor and world-class facilities in an environment that is calm, secure and spacious. You will also find one of Port Moresby's most popular social hubs, a place for business meetings and networking, and weekend family relaxation. While princes are always welcome, you don't have to be a prince to stay at Airways. From the moment you enter its gates, you'll know you have arrived at a place apart: a unique and unrivalled hotel where your convenience and comfort is our priority. Airways. Always a pleasure ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Airways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing