We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really pleasant afternoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Moresby Nature Park

Port Moresby Nature Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Port Moresby Nature Park (formerly the National Capital Botanical Gardens) is PNG's leading recreational attraction combining botanical, zoological and cultural displays. The park is home to over 250+ native animals including bird of paradise, tree-kangaroos, cassowaries, wallabies, snakes, crocodiles, hornbills and multiple parrot species. The grounds also offer a lush change from the hustle and bustle of Port Moresby City with the only rainforest tract within the Capital City. Thousands of tropical plant species including palms, gingers and heliconias and native timber tree species are found within the grounds. Facilities include cafe, souvenir shop, flower shop and arguably PNG's best children's playground. The Nature Park can arrange transportation to/from hotels and airport to the Park and offer excellent guided tours of the Park (lasting 1.5Hrs). A popular location on weekends for weddings and private picnic functions utilising the Nature Park's three large picnic areas.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really pleasant afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was looking for a bit of peace and greenery and certainly found it here! Lovely grounds and some good flora and fauna displays.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank flipperPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POMNature, General Manager at Port Moresby Nature Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your afternoon at the Park.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    108
    20
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Transformation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We live in Port Moresby and visited the Gardens when we first arrived four years ago and were appalled. We felt unsafe and uncomfortable at the horrendous living conditions of the animals. I had the pleasure of revisiting just over a month ago (late June early July 2012) and can only say how astounded I was.

The current managers of the Port Moresby Nature Park have transformed the place. Most of the old and run down cages are being replaced, there is a brand new walkway through the casowary exhibit which culminates in a fabulous enclosed walk in gazebo which over looks a water feature that the casowaries love. You feel safe and secure as you walk around. There is bright new signage that points out various exhibits and areas.

The staff are happy and friendly. We had a great talk to Michelle and Brett about what was happening, the upgrades, the animals, what they have in store for the future. It all sounds incredible and to think they have achieved this amazing success in the two years they have been in Port Moresby is outstanding.

Only those that live in town can possibly know the uphill battles they must face trying to educate the general public as to the importance of this park and enhance this little piece of tranquility for the betterment of all.

Well done guys, we will be back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank LochNess22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

It seems that the new people managing it are bringing this park back to its former glory and making it a great place to go once again! I got to meet them when we were leaving and they were so passionate about the park and the animals and their dreams for the park, it was wonderful to see. Cant wait to see how it grows over the next few years.
The animal enclosures are great, clean and the animals are all healthy! There are these jumping birds which are amazing, and the tree kangaroos are gorgeous!
The new cassowary exhibit is AMAZING. You get to almost walk alongside them... it was a definite highlight for us.
It seems everytime we go back, they've upgraded something or built something new which is awesome. Plenty of places for lunches, and very safe. Definitely a place to visit! Thanks for a great day, we'll be back!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POMNature, General Manager at Port Moresby Nature Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am please you really enjoyed your experience and day at the Park. We are very proud of our latest attraction the 'Rainforest Retreat' so am glad that you found it your highlight. It's wonderful to see the cassowaries enjoying their new home just as much as we enjoy watching them. There's nothing quite like watching a 60kg bird taking a bird bath!

We are presently completing another board walk experience that will take guest through two tree-kangaroo facilities. We hope to have it completed within the next few months however we may be delayed as we recently discovered our Doria's tree kangaroo has a joey in the pouch. We do not wish to disturb her during this time as she is the first Doria's tree-kangaroo to give birth in captivity in more than 20 years! There are actually none of these animals on display anywhere in the world outside of PNG so she is very special to us.

Look forward to you next visiting and seeing the continued upgrade and changes and thank you once again for your wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port moresby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Low maintenance of National Nature Park”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Port Moresby Nature Park a.k.a Botanical Gardens, used to be splendid tourist spot in the country some 10 years ago. But only after revisiting the place now, ten years later, you'd see that nothing has changed. Its the same old plants and trees, the same old statues and even the same old animals!!! Those animal habitat area should be cleaned more often and also the animal should be feed more, as its a pity sight to see those hungry animals looking longingly at us tourists food. The footpaths and bridges should also be fixed, as they are in poor conditions where the timber gives away under your foot.
To conclude, the so called nature park of port moresby is in serious need of an upgrade if it wants to bring backs its former glory!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kupzzy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POMNature, General Manager at Port Moresby Nature Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
I'm sorry that you did not seem to enjoy your visit to Port Moresby Nature Park.
Unfortunately the Park suffered a long absence period of management for aproximately 8 years which led to its decline.
However, in 2010 the Provincial Government appointed a new management team with collectively over 35 years experience in the industry overseas. We and our staff have been working very hard to improve the facility and it has come along way during this short time.
Perhaps you may have notice our new "Rainforest Retreat" exhibit in our rainforest that is now home to our cassowaries? We are the only facility that we are aware of in the world that showcases all three species of Cassowary.
You mentioned you thought our animals seemed hungry. I can assure you that our animals have the highest standard of care. Our Curator comes with over 20 years experience working and consulting to international zoos within Australia, America, China and Taiwan. We are presently the only facility in all of PNG to manage a number of successful breeding programs, including tree kangaroo, dorcopsis wallaby, and goria pidgeon.
You mentioned about the poor state of our pathways and bridges. I am not sure of any rotting bridges as all our timber bridges were replaced within the last twelve months. I do agree that some of our footpaths need attention due to the previous years neglect. We are currently working on rectifying this but as we are on 14 acres it will take us some time to complete all the paths.
As you are a Port Moresby Resident, I hope you will come and visit us again soon to see the changes that are taking place. We have a number of new projects under way, including a tree-kangaroo breeding and conservation exhibit, new entry, new cafe and retail outlet. I would be more than happy to show you around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Animals and Bird life were amazing. The grounds were well set out and maintained.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank George1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POMNature, General Manager at Port Moresby Nature Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Our staff try hard to maintain the gardens so it is wonderful of you to have noted this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Moresby Nature Park also viewed

Port Moresby, Papua Region
Port Moresby, Papua Region
 
Port Moresby, Papua Region
Port Moresby, Papua Region
 

Been to Port Moresby Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing